![]() |
SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997 |
![]() |
#106 |
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]()
By (popular) demand, I have planned undo/redo support for the next release. I've already got it working for about 80-90% of the editor. Additionally, you'll be able to copy the undo log to the clipboard, for logging purposes. Obviously, after you close a file the undo/redo history is lost. Changes made can not be undone by S3D using the exported log, so backups of the original file are still recommended. That, or you manually have to undo using the log. Some things can't be undone this way though (deleted chunks, replaced images, etc), hence the backups.
An example log (of materials.dat), with dummy changes: - chunk 9: int_halo.tga/Opacity, oldValue = 35, newValue = 40 - chunk 35: Properties/ParticleGenerator/GlobalScaleFar/DensityScale, oldValue = 0.1, newValue = 0.2
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#107 |
Sea Lord
![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: A Swede in Frankfurt am Main
Posts: 1,897
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
|
![]()
Brilliant Skwas
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#108 |
Silent Hunter
![]() Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 4,171
Downloads: 141
Uploads: 10
|
![]()
@skwasjer Would it be feasible to add a function that makes changes to files based on the saved change log? If so, perhaps that would solve the problems involved in consolidating several mods that mod different parts of the same file (scene.dat for instance). I can see it functioning much like a file patcher that only changes one part of a file that may or may not have been modded in other areas. The only problem I see would be in the case where one mod changes the structure of the file (i.e. removes a chunk or changes a chunk size).
Just a thought (I have them every once in a while and, in very rare cases, they are good one :rotfl: ) Keep up the great work on this wonderful tool ![]() ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#109 |
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]()
Technically that is possible using my parser. The limitations are not so much deleted chunks, or the size, because the parser reads and writes the entire file and can change/insert/delete data anywhere.
The problem however is indeed still with the structure: not every chunk has an id, so there is no guarantee (neither by offset, or chunk index) that a change is applied to the chunk you want. So when a file is modified with additional inserted chunks before the one you want to patch, and if it doesn't have an id, you have a problem. Both the index and offset will now point to an incorrect chunk, so this won't do... I'll give it some more thought in the future. For now, this is the best I can do.
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#110 |
Silent Hunter
![]() Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Peach State
Posts: 4,171
Downloads: 141
Uploads: 10
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Just being able to see what changes were made is a vast improvement over having to physically write down every change made in order for another person to duplicate the changes. In my case, if I were attempting something like Leo's Living Breathing Ocean, no one would ever be able to decipher the changes I noted nor would I remember to document all of them:rotfl: But, with your change logs, it will all be laid out in a standardized manner. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#111 |
Pacific Aces Dev Team
![]() |
![]()
If I open the scene.dat from SHIII I get the EnvData properties but if I open the scene.dat from SHIV, the tree for EnvData is empty but the values are there because I changed them via MTweaker for my Env-Mod.
__________________
-- Vapor-ware is always easier to sell because there's no limit what it can do! |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#112 | |
Ace of the deep .
|
![]() Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#113 |
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]()
Please note: there is a confirmed bug in S3D regarding writing files that contain ObjectParticles. This is being investigated and a fix will be included in the next release and posted here asap. Again, this is why S3D is alpha.
PS: this bug is not related to the last post of Seeadler. I still need info from him to investigate this...
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#114 |
Ace of the deep .
|
![]()
What Seeadler means is if you go to open your scene dat that has been altered via a mod from say Living breathing ocean , then opening from Silent hunter 4 wolves of the pacific / Data / Scene .dat . When you look at Env data / properties nothing comes up on the right hand side . It works thru the Mods folder as i have explained though .
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#115 |
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]()
I don't have jsgme and mods installed atm, so I can't check what you mean. I only understand it partially. I'll check it later...
You must be my president ![]() ![]()
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#116 |
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]()
Another new cool upcoming feature is the ability to define a list of choices for properties. This is a snippet from the config file:
![]() I've taken the enumeration from the SHControllers.act in this example. This has to be done for all properties that are based on enumerations, so it will still be tedious work for me. But once this is in place, you won't have to guess for a value or look it up in documentation, or even in an .act... Cool? Please note I've made the values more readable. In the .act file definitions are less friendly (C-developers style), ie.: DIAL_DEPTH, DIAL_SPEED. Spaces are not allowed though, so don't ask why the underscore is not replaced with a space. ;p This is how it looks in S3D: (notice Dial/Display is also showing a 'friendly' value, using same method) ![]()
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#117 |
Canadian Wolf
|
![]()
Wow
![]() RDP |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#118 |
Weps
![]() Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Repubblica di San Marino (Italy)
Posts: 362
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
|
![]()
Hi,
Let's hope, one day, to have a manual for 3Ditor... ![]() ... |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#119 | |
Admiral
![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Russia ®
Posts: 2,492
Downloads: 122
Uploads: 1
|
![]() Quote:
![]() DispVal and RealVal not correct ... it's not X and Y ... You have Display = Circular ...
__________________
Alex ® ![]() Moses said: "Don't create yourself an idol"... |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#120 | ||
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]() Quote:
b) The .act says the property has an enum Circular, Linear. What's wrong with it then? Quote:
![]()
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|