SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-14-2010, 09:40 PM   #1
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default [REL] Speech Recognition for SH5

Speech Recognition for SH5 – v1.4 - by skwas

Developed in 2010 by skwas, a game enthusiast and ubergeek )
http://sh4.skwas.net
_______________________________________________

DESCRIPTION

This mod enables speech recognition to SH5 allowing you to use a microphone to dictate your crew what to do… Happy sailing!

English vocabulary only! Suggestions, bugs, please post. Also note, English is not my native language so any corrections on spoken phrases/orders are welcome.


CREDITS
VERSION HISTORY




v1.4 – 29-03-2010
  • Renamed Page Voice Recognition.ini to Speech Recognition.ini
  • Renamed Page Voice Recognition.py to Speech Recognition.py
  • Moved XML-files to game data folder Data\Sound\Speech
  • Added XSLT-stylesheet so you can view all supported commands by opening SHSpeech_Commands.xml in a browser.
  • Lowered default confidence level to 0.87
  • Added Microphone-icon to test application
  • Added support for floating point values (max. one decimal), f.ex. 3.6 meters
  • Fixed: when ordering ‘set pistol to magnetic’ you’d get a confirmation, but the pistol setting did not actually change.
  • Added numerous commands. See ‘Supported Voice Commands’-shortcut for a complete overview.
  • Included source code
v1.1 – 1.3
  • Updated test application only.

v1.0
  • Initial release

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS
  • Windows Vista
  • Windows 7
  • English language pack must be installed!!!
See Windows Update to install a language pack. Alternatively, check these links:

http://windows7center.com/news/windo...indows-update/
http://keznews.com/6149_Download_Win...Download_Links
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/934377

And if you can't install a language, check out this important post by Ernesto78 (it worked for several guys!):

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...1&postcount=47

IMPORTANT: Any older platform may likely NOT work and cause CTD’s.


INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS

Install as any other mod using JSGME, and simply run the game.

NOTE: Likely NOT compatible with UI mods...!


SUPPORTED COMMANDS

Open the file Data\Sound\Speech\SHSpeech_Commands.xml in a browser, or view online:

http://sh4.skwas.net/redist/shspeech_commands.xml


HOW DOES IT WORK?

My mod is using a custom written DLL and some Python script-files. The entire speech recognition configuration can be controlled using two XML files, which contain the grammar for the accepted spoken words, and a commands file which controls the translation to a game command. Optionally you can capture any command and alter it’s behavior form the .py files I included.

See the readme for more details.


PERMISSIONS

Do not redistribute or reuse this mod without my permission.


SOURCE CODE

Source code is included in the Documentation\Source code folder. You will need Visual Studio 2008 (C#).


DOWNLOAD

http://sh4.skwas.net/download.aspx?i...d-47cce8e36be8

Miton's improved editions:
English: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=3085

German: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=3057


Have fun, and let me know!


Assistence needed to further improve the commands, and in the future for localization (once the mod has proven to be stable and functional enough)!

Last edited by skwasjer; 04-16-2011 at 06:02 PM. Reason: Updated to 1.4
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 09:46 PM   #2
rsvette12
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 263
Downloads: 131
Uploads: 0
Default

Looks great, so this would not work on xp ? thank you.

Rich
rsvette12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 09:47 PM   #3
Will-Rommel
Chief
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 319
Downloads: 73
Uploads: 0
Default

The Olympian strikes back.

Sad that i still run on XP.
__________________
-Fighting is a lifestyle-
Will-Rommel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 09:48 PM   #4
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

I have no idea, but I don't think so, not out of the box anyway. You will need SAPI 5.1 or 5.3 and .NET Framework 3.5 installed. Vista and Windows 7 have this out of the box. On top of that the SRGS specification (used for grammar dictionary) may not be supported on XP. Only one way to find out
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 12:34 AM   #5
krupp_88mm
Mate
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: away from ......
Posts: 51
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

damn you ubisoft i want to say "bow planes down 15, aft planes up 10" why why WHY capt simulation!???
krupp_88mm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 01:07 AM   #6
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 407
Uploads: 9
Default

boooo to no XP support.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.0 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids

System: AMD FX-8350 (8 core @ 4ghz), 8gb DDR3 1600, GeForce GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro x64
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 01:11 AM   #7
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 407
Uploads: 9
Default

I checked, my XP version has .NET 3.5 and the speech SDK 5.1 ( i use speech rec for Falcon).

what else do i need?

and how to make this work? you give hardly any instructions.

I installed it as a mod, went in game and said a few things and nothing happened.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.0 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids

System: AMD FX-8350 (8 core @ 4ghz), 8gb DDR3 1600, GeForce GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro x64
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 01:15 AM   #8
gutted
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New Orleans, LA.
Posts: 1,224
Downloads: 407
Uploads: 9
Default

Oh and when i run the SHSpeechEngineTest.exe it just crashes. Guess XP is out of the question then?

XP > W7 for gaming on my machine.
__________________

Solution Solver 2.0 - Visual Targeting Tools & Aids

System: AMD FX-8350 (8 core @ 4ghz), 8gb DDR3 1600, GeForce GTX 970, Windows 10 Pro x64
gutted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 02:37 AM   #9
Westbroek
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: LA
Posts: 253
Downloads: 115
Uploads: 0
Default

@gutted
Dunno if you were a fan of sh3/4speech, but I loved using it and always was fascinated with how easily customized it was. Maybe we XP users should band together and tweak the old .csv files to accomodate SH5. I'm sure the hotkeys could be done... The mouse controls would be trickier, I never fiddled with those.
it's a thought anyway. Anyone interested?
Westbroek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 04:01 AM   #10
panosrxo
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 188
Downloads: 115
Uploads: 0
Default

It actually works... Well some of the commands. Do we need to train our voice recognition first (through windows 7 control panel)?
I have windows 7.
panosrxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 04:13 AM   #11
Coldcall
Chief
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 325
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default

WOW! I've not tried it yet but this is exciting! Downloading now.

I really prefer the idea of voice commands as its more realistic than having an all in one push button UI. Just my opinion of course.

Thanks for this mod, will give you feedback once i've tried it out.
Coldcall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 05:15 AM   #12
BBWilly
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Downloads: 14
Uploads: 0
Default I use Dragon NaturallySpeaking

works perfect, even with german commands
BBWilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 06:29 AM   #13
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gutted
Oh and when i run the SHSpeechEngineTest.exe it just crashes. Guess XP is out of the question then?

XP > W7 for gaming on my machine.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westbroek View Post
@gutted
Dunno if you were a fan of sh3/4speech, but I loved using it and always was fascinated with how easily customized it was. Maybe we XP users should band together and tweak the old .csv files to accomodate SH5. I'm sure the hotkeys could be done... The mouse controls would be trickier, I never fiddled with those.
it's a thought anyway. Anyone interested?
My approach is alot better than those releases, due to the fact that I don't emulate mouse or keyboard. This approach actually let's you call game commands, and thus is UI independent (hint: UI mods may change position of dials/buttons etc). Emulators are dodgy and unreliable.

Guys, sigh, this is just the first release I quickly whipped up. Give me some days/weeks to finetune it and provide more info. I may make it compatible for XP too, but I don't have it so how could I know? That's what you guys are for... Just try it out instead of complaining about XP > W7, lol... seriously. Perhaps you can make it work, then great!



A few basic commands you can try:
- Ahead flank
- All stop

And if the test app crashes, then well, yea it won't work in game either...

Last edited by skwasjer; 03-15-2010 at 08:11 AM.
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 07:31 AM   #14
panosrxo
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Greece
Posts: 188
Downloads: 115
Uploads: 0
Default

Most of them work fine. I only have a problem with all stop. Also compute soluion to target doesnt work, but the command works well. It is a game thing.

hint: In order to see the phrases open the commands.xml
panosrxo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2010, 08:09 AM   #15
skwasjer
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,545
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 3
Default

There's some issues with some commands yea (ie. torpedo speed setting doesn't work, and some others)... I'll improve it in the next few days.

All stop works for me though, I'll see if I can tweak the confidence level (how confident the engine is of a match) of the speech engine a bit, perhaps make it customizable.

Training should not be necessary, because the engine is in the so-called 'Command' mode. This is a bit less reliable as Dictation mode, but doesn't require training as it looks for sound patterns in a different way.
skwasjer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim