SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-13, 01:07 PM   #106
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
Default Problem editing vegetation.GR2 meshes

I am currently trying to change tree sizes by scaling their meshes, rather than by reducing the size of their texture's visible part, as done by Echolot for his Smaller Trees Mod.
As long as texture sizes remain unchanged, this method would ensure better tree resolution with no increase of memory usage (Smaller Tree's transparent pixels are anyway loaded in memory).

Silent hunter trees are simple "billboard" meshes, composed by 8 vertices and 4 faces in 1 subset; basically 2 rectangles intersecting each other at 90 deg, roughly along their respective axes of symmetry:



SH5 trees are untypical objects. As far as I can understand, they have no material nor texture assigned in their GR2 files. Their textures, as well as vegetation.GR2's to be used for each ecoregion and each season, are found in a set of ini files in dat/Terrain/Textures_and_Vegetation.

On opening any of the vegetation.GR2 files, the program prompts us as follows:



On TDW's suggestion, during my past attempts I confirmed that I wanted the missing 'essential' strings to be added, and shortly after I received this message:



After saving, closing and reopening the same file, I selected a mesh and exported its Vertex data (no other Export checkbox selected).
Here's the content ot the generated obj file for Tree2 of 1.Small Vegetation and Temperate Alpina/vegetation.GR2:

Code:
# Exported by GR2Editor/Viewer v1.1.285.1
# Exported from GR2 file C:\Users\Gabriele\Desktop\Dynamic Environment SH5-V2.2\MODS\DynEnv v2.2 - 12.a Smaller Trees - 75%\data\Terrain\Textures_and_Vegetation\1.Small Vegetation and Temperate Alpina\vegetation.GR2
#
mtllib Tree2.mtl
o Tree2
# 1 subsets, 8 vertices, 4 faces
v -29,466270000 2,492133000 1,440153000
v -31,541330000 2,492133000 -1,151663000
v -31,541330000 0,053065750 -1,151663000
v -29,466270000 0,053065750 1,440153000
v -31,854800000 2,492132000 1,176825000
v -29,280560000 2,492132000 -0,884170500
v -29,280560000 0,053065750 -0,884170500
v -31,854800000 0,053065750 1,176825000
#
#
g Tree2_subset0
usemtl Tree2_subset0
# 12 vertices, 4 faces
f 8 7 5
f 7 6 5
f 4 3 1
f 3 2 1
...and this is the mtl file:

Code:
newmtl Tree2_subset0
Ns 0,000000000
Ka 0,588235300 0,588235300 0,588235300
Kd 0,588235300 0,588235300 0,588235300
Ks 0,900000000 0,900000000 0,900000000
Ke 0,000000000 0,000000000 0,000000000
map_Ka Tree2.Tga
map_Kd Tree2.Tga
map_Ks Tree2.Tga
In order to make sure that everything was okay, I imported back the exported mesh (again, only 'Vertex Data' checked), and I got confirmation that...



...and that...



Encouraged by these first results, I discarded the changes and I imported the obj file generated by GR2 editor into Wings 3D 1.4.1, where I made the following changes:
  • split one of the basal edges in two segments, thus generating a median vertex.
  • scaled down the object using the new vertex as pivotting point
  • removed the new vertex

I exported then the modified meshes. The new obj file looked like this:

Code:
# Exported from Wings 3D 1.4.1
mtllib Tree2scaled.mtl
o Tree2
#8 vertices, 4 faces
v -29.72565250 1.88236619 1.11617600
v -31.28194750 1.88236619 -0.82768600
v -31.28194750 5.3065750e-2 -0.82768600
v -29.72565250 5.3065750e-2 1.11617600
v -31.51705000 1.88236544 0.91868000
v -29.58637000 1.88236544 -0.62706663
v -29.58637000 5.3065750e-2 -0.62706663
v -31.51705000 5.3065750e-2 0.91868000
vn 0.78063262 0.0000000e+0 -0.62499017
vn 0.78063262 0.0000000e+0 -0.62499017
vn 0.78063262 0.0000000e+0 -0.62499017
vn 0.78063262 0.0000000e+0 -0.62499017
vn 0.62499150 0.0000000e+0 0.78063155
vn 0.62499150 0.0000000e+0 0.78063155
vn 0.62499150 0.0000000e+0 0.78063155
vn 0.62499150 0.0000000e+0 0.78063155
g Tree2_Tree2_subset0
usemtl Tree2_subset0
s 1
f 1//1 3//3 2//2
f 1//1 4//4 3//3
f 5//5 7//7 6//6
f 5//5 8//8 7//7
mtl file:

Code:
# Exported from Wings 3D 1.4.1
newmtl Tree2_subset0
Ns 100.0
d 1.0
illum 2
Kd 0.5882353 0.5882353 0.5882353
Ka 0.5882353 0.5882353 0.5882353
Ks 0.9 0.9 0.9
Ke 0.0 0.0 0.0
They don't resemple the original files

When I try to import vertex data of the modified object into the vegetation GR2 file, GR2 Editor becomes unresponsive.
I have also tried pasting the modified vertices coordinates into the obj file generated by GR2 Editor:

Code:
mtllib Tree2.mtl
o Tree2
# 1 subsets, 8 vertices, 4 faces
v -29.72565250 1.88236619 1.11617600
v -31.28194750 1.88236619 -0.82768600
v -31.28194750 5.3065750e-2 -0.82768600
v -29.72565250 5.3065750e-2 1.11617600
v -31.51705000 1.88236544 0.91868000
v -29.58637000 1.88236544 -0.62706663
v -29.58637000 5.3065750e-2 -0.62706663
v -31.51705000 5.3065750e-2 0.91868000
#
#
g Tree2_subset0
usemtl Tree2_subset0
# 12 vertices, 4 faces
f 8 7 5
f 7 6 5
f 4 3 1
f 3 2 1
This hybrid file is read correctly by Wings 3D, but again, when I try importing it into GR2 Editor, nothing happens

Any idea guys?
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-13, 02:41 PM   #107
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Code:
# Exported from Wings 3D 1.4.1
mtllib Tree2scaled.mtl
o Tree2
#8 vertices, 4 faces
v -29.72565250 1.88236619 1.11617600
v -31.28194750 1.88236619 -0.82768600
v -31.28194750 5.3065750e-2 -0.82768600
v -29.72565250 5.3065750e-2 1.11617600
v -31.51705000 1.88236544 0.91868000
v -29.58637000 1.88236544 -0.62706663
v -29.58637000 5.3065750e-2 -0.62706663
v -31.51705000 5.3065750e-2 0.91868000
vn 0.78063262 0.0000000e+0 -0.62499017
vn 0.78063262 0.0000000e+0 -0.62499017
vn 0.78063262 0.0000000e+0 -0.62499017
vn 0.78063262 0.0000000e+0 -0.62499017
vn 0.62499150 0.0000000e+0 0.78063155
vn 0.62499150 0.0000000e+0 0.78063155
vn 0.62499150 0.0000000e+0 0.78063155
vn 0.62499150 0.0000000e+0 0.78063155
g Tree2_Tree2_subset0
usemtl Tree2_subset0
s 1
f 1//1 3//3 2//2
f 1//1 4//4 3//3
f 5//5 7//7 6//6
f 5//5 8//8 7//7
mtl file:

Code:
# Exported from Wings 3D 1.4.1
newmtl Tree2_subset0
Ns 100.0
d 1.0
illum 2
Kd 0.5882353 0.5882353 0.5882353
Ka 0.5882353 0.5882353 0.5882353
Ks 0.9 0.9 0.9
Ke 0.0 0.0 0.0
They don't resemple the original files

Any idea guys?
The app will complain about those face definitions (f 1//1 3//3 2//2). How do you read that? I don't know and if I don't know the app doesn't know

EDIT:

nevermind. I know how to read that. It's vertice / texture coordinate / normal. I see the problem in the app now.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-13, 09:37 AM   #108
V13dweller
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 768
Downloads: 101
Uploads: 2
Default

I'm trying to create more bones for a ship, but when I create the node I get a Pointer is null error.

I am finding it very difficult to use this program, I am getting errors very, very frequently.

And mixed value errors when accessing all non ship files.

It is also hideously time consuming and annoying to use this program.

Goblin Editor is much easier to use but it has limitations such as creating bones.
V13dweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-13, 10:35 AM   #109
Targor Avelany
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,183
Downloads: 225
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V13dweller View Post
I'm trying to create more bones for a ship, but when I create the node I get a Pointer is null error.

I am finding it very difficult to use this program, I am getting errors very, very frequently.

And mixed value errors when accessing all non ship files.

It is also hideously time consuming and annoying to use this program.

Goblin Editor is much easier to use but it has limitations such as creating bones.
all I can say is - if it frustrates you so much: don't use it. Use HEX editors to edit GR2 Files. I'm also not sure why have you decided to spam a very useful and not particularly related to your problem thread: post in the GR2 Editor thread, where TDW will certanly see your complaint.
Targor Avelany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-13, 06:17 PM   #110
V13dweller
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 768
Downloads: 101
Uploads: 2
Default

I am unable to find any other programs to edit/add bones to ship.

And because this is a [TEC] I thought I could get some help on using this program better.
V13dweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-13, 06:30 AM   #111
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,451
Downloads: 166
Uploads: 28


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Targor Avelany View Post
all I can say is - if it frustrates you so much: don't use it. Use HEX editors to edit GR2 Files. I'm also not sure why have you decided to spam a very useful and not particularly related to your problem thread: post in the GR2 Editor thread, where TDW will certanly see your complaint.
Well said
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-13, 07:07 AM   #112
V13dweller
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 768
Downloads: 101
Uploads: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevally. View Post
Well said
This was not necessary.

Where can I find said hex editors?

And I only use the editor available because there are no alternatives (That I can find)
V13dweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-13, 07:20 AM   #113
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,451
Downloads: 166
Uploads: 28


Default

Quote:
It is also hideously time consuming and annoying to use this program.
this is the part that I though was not necessary
TDW has spent a lot of time working on that app and it is not finished yet.
Report bugs by all means but the above statment - really.....


Now I am spamming this post grrr.....
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-13, 09:04 AM   #114
Targor Avelany
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,183
Downloads: 225
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by V13dweller View Post
I am unable to find any other programs to edit/add bones to ship.

And because this is a [TEC] I thought I could get some help on using this program better.
I'm sorry, but I find your statements of the above sort insulting to the community of modders, who work very hard on every piece of improvement to this game.
gap has told you many times that if you would like to copy bones - use an older version of the GR2Editor - as long as the model has no animation (and sometimes even with animation) works just fine.

In regards to hex editors: by the way you say that you can't find any, only one thought comes to mind: you have not looked. Like, at all. There is one editor offered right here, on subsum, in a download section.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevally. View Post
Well said
Thank you.
Quote:
Originally Posted by V13dweller View Post
This was not necessary.

Where can I find said hex editors?

And I only use the editor available because there are no alternatives (That I can find)
I'm not sure if you are reading what you are writing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevally. View Post
this is the part that I though was not necessary
TDW has spent a lot of time working on that app and it is not finished yet.
Report bugs by all means but the above statment - really.....


Now I am spamming this post grrr.....
and lol at spamming
Targor Avelany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-13, 09:48 AM   #115
V13dweller
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 768
Downloads: 101
Uploads: 2
Default

I'm sorry I don't have much time to spare looking around for these things, that does not give you the right to jump to the conclusion of that I have not looked, because I have.

And please don't say that I have not read what I have wrote, because If I had not read it, I would have either been not conscious or not actively writing and I know this was not the case.

And it is not spam, if it is not numerous.

I made a single post before you said I was spamming.
If you need the dictionary meaning for spam, here you go "Send the same message indiscriminately to (large numbers of recipients) on the Internet"
V13dweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-13, 10:12 AM   #116
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
Default

V13, don't take it personal.
Targor and Trevally addressed to you as they did, because your comment sounded a bit rough:

Quote:
Originally Posted by V13dweller View Post
I'm trying to create more bones for a ship, but when I create the node I get a Pointer is null error.

I am finding it very difficult to use this program, I am getting errors very, very frequently.

And mixed value errors when accessing all non ship files.

It is also hideously time consuming and annoying to use this program.

Goblin Editor is much easier to use but it has limitations such as creating bones.
answering your questions:

- you cannot compare GR2 Editor and Goblin Editor: they are completely different programs. TDW could have coded a tool two times as good as Goblin in half a week. But dealing with 3D obects is a totally different matter. This is especially true talking about GR2 format, which being a "closed" format is not fully studied yet. That said, TDW's tool is experiemntal and some flaws are normal

- TDW's editor is unique. Provided that you will find any other GR2 Editor on the web (I doubt it), it won't be better than the one by TDW.

- There are many good hex editors on the web, and many of them are for free. This following wikipedia rticle compares the most popular of them:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_hex_editors

- Unless you know what you are doing, I would recommend you to edit your GR2 files with any hex editor anyway. Too complex.
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-13, 12:33 PM   #117
Targor Avelany
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,183
Downloads: 225
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
V13, don't take it personal.
Targor and Trevally addressed to you as they did, because your comment sounded a bit rough:



answering your questions:

- you cannot compare GR2 Editor and Goblin Editor: they are completely different programs. TDW could have coded a tool two times as good as Goblin in half a week. But dealing with 3D obects is a totally different matter. This is especially true talking about GR2 format, which being a "closed" format is not fully studied yet. That said, TDW's tool is experiemntal and some flaws are normal

- TDW's editor is unique. Provided that you will find any other GR2 Editor on the web (I doubt it), it won't be better than the one by TDW.

- There are many good hex editors on the web, and many of them are for free. This following wikipedia rticle compares the most popular of them:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_hex_editors

- Unless you know what you are doing, I would recommend you to edit your GR2 files with any hex editor anyway. Too complex.
Thank you, gap. You put it right as usual.

@V13: the problem that I have with your comments is simple - you demand a tool that will do what you want it to exactly how you want it to and prefferably in 1 click (and it seems by reading your mind too ). You "don't have time" to search, try, or figure things out.
Well, all of us have real life outside of this forum too: congratulations, you at least not a forum bot .

I'll give you an example of something and hope instead of getting upset, you think a little bit:
When I was cloning a uboat ai unit, it took me over a month to do so. Just to clone, no texture changes, no model imports - nothing except renaming. Little mistakes, wrong clicks, absolutely bogus out of nowhere errors and at least 5 different versions of GR2 editor and a hex editor - and every mistake or error causes you to start from scratch.
It is not "1-click-modding", accept it. As much as I would love to have a fully, 100% functional GR2 Editor - that is not the case at this time. TDW has done an amazing job with what he had for information to start with, there aren't many people out there who could have done anything even close to it, so it feels unfair when your comments bash his work (probably none of my business and he can speak for himself, but I'm a "loud Russian" and can't keep my tong in check).
Targor Avelany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-13, 05:13 PM   #118
divingbluefrog
Medic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 164
Downloads: 63
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Encouraged by these first results, I discarded the changes and I imported the obj file generated by GR2 editor into Wings 3D 1.4.1, where I made the following changes:
  • split one of the basal edges in two segments, thus generating a median vertex.
  • scaled down the object using the new vertex as pivotting point
  • removed the new vertex
I think it's here that you made a mistake, doing so, you modified the structure of the faces, when you delete it later, Wings generates a new face, but not with the same vertives order.
Try to put a dummy in the same place, and then scale down, acting like this you will keep the faces structure intact.
Hope it will do the trick...

Giant trees exasperate me since the very begining. I had to wait for s3d to solve the problem in 5 mn.
divingbluefrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-13, 06:17 PM   #119
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by divingbluefrog View Post
I think it's here that you made a mistake, doing so, you modified the structure of the faces, when you delete it later, Wings generates a new face, but not with the same vertives order.
Try to put a dummy in the same place, and then scale down, acting like this you will keep the faces structure intact.
Hope it will do the trick...

Giant trees exasperate me since the very begining. I had to wait for s3d to solve the problem in 5 mn.
Thank you for your suggestion divingbluefrog. At the end I discovered that using Wings 3d I could select the two basal segments of each tree, and use their intersection as pivot point for scaling down the meshes, without need to change object's geometry.

The problem is that there is a sort of minimum size for GR2 trees, below which the size of rendered trees doesn't change, no matter how small are their meshes. On the contrary, their size can be increased at wish. Result: the only way to reduce tree size in SH5 is by reducing their relative size within the 256 x 256 px frame of their texture, as done by echolot
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-13, 08:28 PM   #120
V13dweller
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 768
Downloads: 101
Uploads: 2
Default

I am sorry that I am getting frustrated.

I have been trying to workout and use this program for quite some time.

But placing and adding nodes usually create and error, and when even just opening airplanes I get a mixed values error, I get a similar error when opening the AI_Sensors.GR2 and the Guns and radars GR2.

Sorry for expressing how I feel.

(I have reported the errors to TDW already_
V13dweller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.