![]() |
SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997 |
![]() |
#1201 |
Stowaway
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
|
![]()
Also.
If we started a new thread for S3D in SH5 Mods workshop? Would that help to define S3D/SH5 issues? Goblin is lacking in many areas that S3D excels at. Hexing is not an option for most (Due to learning curve) so I would like to push S3D as a better Tool for those modders. And as I'm working on the files and such for S3D, it would consolidate things as far as SH5 issues. Just a thought. |
![]() |
![]() |
#1202 | |
Stowaway
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
|
![]() Quote:
(I count myself in that group to an extent) By doing the _SH5 Name Space the problem is solved to a great degree. My goal is to create files that allow the SH5 modders to use S3D now. Until Skwasjer updates needed areas? It's also my goal to figure out how to work between Goblin and S3D when needed. So if we want a 10/1000 type controller, Goblin must be used to add said controller. If infact Goblin adds a type 10/1000 or is that a leftover thing? Goblin allows no choices in many areas so is sorely lacking! As a primary tool? I give it a c- |
|
![]() |
![]() |
#1203 | |
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]() Quote:
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1204 |
Stowaway
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
|
![]()
OK.
I kind of get it. ![]() It will just take me actually doing it to sink in. Thanks very much! ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1205 | |
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]() Quote:
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1206 |
Stowaway
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
|
![]()
That would be great!
As most of the SH5 Modders don't stray much? This is a needed area for them. And the SH4 Modders don't need to be bothered. (But they are the Masters so maybe they will peek in and offer advise) ![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1207 |
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]()
Here's an example:
[SHType] public class MinMax { /// <summary> /// Minimum value. /// </summary> public float Min; /// <summary> /// Maximum value. /// </summary> public float Max; } With the attribute [SHType] and 'class' for this type, it means S3D (and the game) will expect the 'Min' and 'Max' field names preceding the actual value (followed by nullchar). public struct MinMax { /// <summary> /// Minimum value. /// </summary> public float Min; /// <summary> /// Maximum value. /// </summary> public float Max; } Make it a struct, and remove the attribute, then the field names are not 'expected' and the size of the field is explicit by field type (float in this case). This struct is a mere total of 8 bytes, much less then the first 'class' (at 24 bytes).
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1208 |
Stowaway
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
|
![]()
OK.
You should make this (And much more) a part of the Documents on S3D. ![]() Since S3D is written in C#, would formulas (for lack of a better term) work in add-on files? Say something like declaring Mylong = Ulong, Ulong, Ulong (With the correct terminalogy of course) |
![]() |
![]() |
#1209 | ||
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]() Quote:
Quote:
PS: a shorter notation for nullables btw is to append a ? (question mark) after the type. 'Nullable<float>' is the same as 'float?'
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1210 |
Planesman
![]() Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 186
Downloads: 104
Uploads: 0
|
![]()
I've run into a peculiar problem while modifying engine RPM (both for surfaced and submerged propulsion). SH4 is not recognizing my changes (and yes, I've made certain the file I've modified is the one it should be using). Instead, it seems to have defaulted the RPM to some default setting, likely based on the stock RPMs for fleet boats...or something else entirely.
I've been tweaking the beta of Silverwolf's Interceptor to make it quieter. My first attempt proved successful. However, further tweaks have caused the issue I'm running into now. I've avoided setting either RPM value to absolute 0 in an attempt to avoid potential issues. Of course, upon encountering the problem mentioned above I tried many things to fix it, including setting both RPMs to 0. No dice. The problem remains. While it's not a huge issue for DDs and such to detect the Interceptor, since it can flat out outrun them, and shoot guided torps at them to boot, I would like to regain the ability to remain undetected. Does anyone have any thoughts as to why SH4 might be refusing to acknowledge the values I set? EDIT: Further experimentation has revealed that it's only ignoring the 'eng_rpm' value for the 'E_propulsion'. Setting the 'eng_rpm' on the regular 'Propulsion' seems to still work. Any idea if this is normal behavior?
__________________
Laptop: Alienware m15 (2019) | CPU: Core i7 9750H 2.6 GHz | RAM: 32 GB DDR4 2666 | dGPU: GeForce RTX 2060 6 GB | OS: Win 10 x64 Last edited by Travis Reed; 07-29-10 at 02:02 AM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1211 |
The Old Man
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 1,549
Downloads: 26
Uploads: 3
|
![]()
I think you have to ask someone with experience modifying sub characteristics. I've never done that myself
![]()
__________________
![]() SH5 mods: Speech Recognition for SH5 | Digital UI Clock Tutorials: [TEC] Import/export 3D models to/from game using S3D [TEC] How to work with the model viewer in S3D - VIDEO |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1212 |
Frogman
![]() Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jeresey Shore USA
Posts: 288
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
|
![]()
Normally I like to read an entire thread before asking a question, but 81 pages is a bit much for me.
![]()
__________________
MJ! ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2.0 AMD FX8350 8 Core 4.0 Ghz CPU GeForce GTX 560 Ti PCIx Video Card 8 GB Corsair Vengence RAM Rosewill 850W Power Supply |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1213 | |
Planesman
![]() Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Connecticut, USA
Posts: 180
Downloads: 100
Uploads: 0
|
![]() Quote:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=168297 I believe the help file is a text file you can edit. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1214 |
Navy Seal
![]() Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Mexico, USA
Posts: 9,023
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 2
|
![]()
Skwas, you know what would be a cool feature? A "sim" editor sort of like the "zon" editor mode. Open dat. Open sim. Click a button on model view, then you see sectioned spheres that show the turret objects' arcs of fire a a mesh sphere with sections missing where they cannot fire. Changing the min/max values would redraw the arcs of fire. Would make masking out guns far easier.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#1215 |
Grey Wolf
![]() Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: CG 96
Posts: 861
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
|
![]()
Is there just some problems with the ISP right now, currently I can't download the editor from any links on these pages or the dedicated thread page. Anyone have an alternate d/l location like filefront or wherever that I can get this from?
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|