SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2018, 10:43 AM   #6586
Larrywb57
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 130
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 0
Default Contact Report: 13Dec1943 Somewhere in Celebes Sea

Ahoy FotRSU team,

I came across this while on patrol:

 


And this is her sister:

 


Here is a another look, stern side:

 


The next two are pictures of the location on the map:

 


And a closer look:

 


The boat, which is a Trout class, was out of the port of Midway in the Celebes Sea on it's way to the Sulua Sea. Near the islands of Sulu Archipelago traveling at a time compression of 500 when everything started to slow down and shuttered. Just like you are nearing your home port. The sonar station was checked with no sound contacts and the radar station had no contacts. Turned ninety degrees to port side and traveled until the time compression stopped slowing down and shuttering. Turn one hundred eighty degrees to go back in the other direction. The time compression slowing down and shuttering started again. Continued to past the point when it started, checking both sonar and radar stations for contacts. Upon nearing the Islands of Sulu Archipelago, when to the exterior camera and 'flew' ahead of the boat until the discovery of the causes of the shuttering and slowing down of time compression. The first two images above are screenshots of what was seen. At the beginning of the patrol, I had disable map contacts in the office using the radio. I closed in on targets until the radar made contact in order to pin point positions on the map. The first 'X' mark is the first ship(s) and the second 'X' mark is other ship(s), according to radar.

It would appear that the Japanese would messing around with something that they shouldn't have. It would appear to be their version of The Philadelphia Experiment gone wrong!

I have stopped and saved the mission.

Larry
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo CPU E6650 @ 2.33 GHz | 2 GB of memory |
Nvidia Geforce 8400GS graphic card | OS Windows 7 32 bit.
Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 4\MODS]

-100_FalloftheRisingSun_Ultimate
v0.71_PublicBeta_EN
-Bigger Better Protractors
Larrywb57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 11:56 AM   #6587
mark bonamer
XO
 
mark bonamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoarea
Posts: 402
Downloads: 249
Uploads: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larrywb57 View Post
It would appear that the Japanese would messing around with something that they shouldn't have. It would appear to be their version of The Philadelphia Experiment gone wrong!

I have stopped and saved the mission.

Larry
larry,
i have experienced the same phenomenon. After further review that situation is caused by two ships spawning at the same time and space. in my experience, it was three different ships moored in-port. i had a hellava time actually destroying all three.
good luck.

mb
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.


-------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 8 GB Ram running Win7
mark bonamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 01:50 PM   #6588
Larrywb57
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 130
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark bonamer View Post
larry,
i have experienced the same phenomenon. After further review that situation is caused by two ships spawning at the same time and space. in my experience, it was three different ships moored in-port. i had a hellava time actually destroying all three.
good luck.

mb
Yea, when I saw it the first time, I thought of the 'Philadelphia Experment.' My poor attempt of trying to make joke.

Larry
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo CPU E6650 @ 2.33 GHz | 2 GB of memory |
Nvidia Geforce 8400GS graphic card | OS Windows 7 32 bit.
Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 4\MODS]

-100_FalloftheRisingSun_Ultimate
v0.71_PublicBeta_EN
-Bigger Better Protractors
Larrywb57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 03:43 PM   #6589
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,888
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

Now that you have seen their grand expetiment, you will both, of course, have to be eliminated. We're sure you understand, circumstances being as they are. The pictures, being magnetic ink, will self-destruct in short order, taking with them, the memories of those who dared to click on you fancy 'Spoiler' buttons and look at your suppose-ed "evidence"...

We will have to look into this further. I take it that they were docked ships?


Edit: if all else is right with your game, this would be another case of the game over-running its apparent authority, granted in the Mission Editor, which shows that the two RGG set to spawn there are to do so once, and only once in the cycle, with one, and only one vessel. There are no other RGG hidden below these. The time period is the 43a layer, and there are no ships occupying that location prior to September 9th, 1943... I can see another experiment in my future...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna

Last edited by propbeanie; 09-18-2018 at 04:04 PM. Reason: :Hmmm:
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 08:34 PM   #6590
Larrywb57
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 130
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Now that you have seen their grand expetiment, you will both, of course, have to be eliminated. We're sure you understand, circumstances being as they are. The pictures, being magnetic ink, will self-destruct in short order, taking with them, the memories of those who dared to click on you fancy 'Spoiler' buttons and look at your suppose-ed "evidence"...

We will have to look into this further. I take it that they were docked ships?


Edit: if all else is right with your game, this would be another case of the game over-running its apparent authority, granted in the Mission Editor, which shows that the two RGG set to spawn there are to do so once, and only once in the cycle, with one, and only one vessel. There are no other RGG hidden below these. The time period is the 43a layer, and there are no ships occupying that location prior to September 9th, 1943... I can see another experiment in my future...
you understand, circumstances being as they are. The pictures, being magnetic ink, will self-destruct in short order, taking with them, the memories of those who dared to click on you fancy 'Spoiler' buttons and look at your suppose-ed "evidence"...

We will have to look into this further. I take it that they were docked ships?


I suddenly feel ill, not feeling as I did earlier today. And my sight is also burry... Oh it must be because the eye doctor dialated my eyes.

Both warships were sitting as if were at a dock. But as you see, there isn't a port anywhere close by.
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo CPU E6650 @ 2.33 GHz | 2 GB of memory |
Nvidia Geforce 8400GS graphic card | OS Windows 7 32 bit.
Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 4\MODS]

-100_FalloftheRisingSun_Ultimate
v0.71_PublicBeta_EN
-Bigger Better Protractors
Larrywb57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 08:31 AM   #6591
Cybermat47
Willing Webfooted Beast
 
Cybermat47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,141
Downloads: 202
Uploads: 13


Default

Quick question, where do I find convoys? So far I’ve had mid-1943 careers from Pearl Harbour, Midway, and Brisbane, and have only encountered two convoys. One was a pair of merchants with no escort south of Japan, and the other was two merchants and two destroyers off the south-west coast of Japan. Are there any convoys in the Rabaul area?
__________________
Historical TWoS Gameplay Guide: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...20#post2572620
My Mods
Silent Hunter 4
- Japanese Career: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4554
Silent Hunter 5
- Historical Torpedo Ranges and Speeds: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5399

- Shorter External Transfer Cooldown: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5400
Cybermat47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 02:50 PM   #6592
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,888
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

Here's the 42b Convoys and Merchant layers merged




The 43a layers would be very similar, with a "thinning" of the lines for 44a & 44b layers. It is very similar looking to the pattern displayed on the map available in the Control Room from the Shortwave Radio link above the Chief's station:





The screen resolution on my laptop (Widescreen) is not able to show the whole map, but it does move around with a click and drag of the mouse.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 03:05 PM   #6593
Bleiente
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dimension 404
Posts: 925
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 0


Default

The game makes one - myself included - really "gaga".
As if the idiots in ubisoft had louder traps aka "Indiana Jones" installed.

__________________
Ralles RealModPack V1.3 for SH4 V1.5


Secret Service (ESS)
Bleiente is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2018, 10:34 PM   #6594
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,888
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larrywb57 View Post
Ahoy FotRSU team,
==Contact Report: 13Dec1943 Somewhere in Celebes Sea==
I came across this while on patrol...
All I can find is the configuration dates might be an issue.

Your boat would have been about 25+ kilometers away when you did the external cam. Might be an issue, I dunno, though the terrain would be missing. September 1st (start of the layer) to December 13th, 1941 is about 104 days. TT1 is set to spawn-attempt every 900 hours at a 95% rate. That would be every 37.5 days, or 2.777 times in that time period = it is clear that there are four ships there. TT2 is set to spawn-attempt at the same 900 hours figure, but at a 90% rate. Again, assuming all attempts are successful, about 2.777 ships. Again, with this ship, it's easy to see that there are four of them... So lets say the game is supposed to maybe attempt to generate three of them. However, they are supposed to be limited to "1 Max Group Instance Created" (for the duration of the 43a layer), and each RGG is set to "1 Max Number Of Units In Random Group Instance". It does not make sense that there are multiples of each. One thing that is off in the configuration, is that the Yamato Class did not exist until 19411216, but they both have configuration dates (Units Version Date) in the Define Group Contents page of January of 1940. Maybe that contributes. Dunno. But this is the first layer with the vessels, so it's not any left-overs from earlier RGG...

So I edited the 43a_Jap_HarborTraffic.mis file for configuration dates of 19430601 for each of the BB, and made me a couple of SingleMissions to check for spawning issues. First up is October 1st, 1943:


Yamato in foreground, Musashi in the distance - one each


then on December 12, 1943:


Same two ships as above, and both still just one each.


It took 23 shots to get to this:


I lost count of the duds, but like seven or eight... and that is about all the deeper it will sink in those waters. My boat was at 54 foot depth, 12 foot below the keep. No other ships in the immediate area, but there is a patrol vessel out there somewhere, and ~airplanes~, hence going in as it was getting dark... We'll add the change to this next version, in case that was the trouble...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 10:34 AM   #6595
Larrywb57
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 130
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
All I can find is the configuration dates might be an issue.

Your boat would have been about 25+ kilometers away when you did the external cam. Might be an issue, I dunno, though the terrain would be missing. September 1st (start of the layer) to December 13th, 1941 is about 104 days. TT1 is set to spawn-attempt every 900 hours at a 95% rate. That would be every 37.5 days, or 2.777 times in that time period = it is clear that there are four ships there. TT2 is set to spawn-attempt at the same 900 hours figure, but at a 90% rate. Again, assuming all attempts are successful, about 2.777 ships. Again, with this ship, it's easy to see that there are four of them... So lets say the game is supposed to maybe attempt to generate three of them. However, they are supposed to be limited to "1 Max Group Instance Created" (for the duration of the 43a layer), and each RGG is set to "1 Max Number Of Units In Random Group Instance". It does not make sense that there are multiples of each. One thing that is off in the configuration, is that the Yamato Class did not exist until 19411216, but they both have configuration dates (Units Version Date) in the Define Group Contents page of January of 1940. Maybe that contributes. Dunno. But this is the first layer with the vessels, so it's not any left-overs from earlier RGG...

So I edited the 43a_Jap_HarborTraffic.mis file for configuration dates of 19430601 for each of the BB, and made me a couple of SingleMissions to check for spawning issues. First up is October 1st, 1943:
PB,

Sorry it's take so long to get back to you, RL issues getting in the way.

The next time I was in game, I started go to the warships to get better look at them. On the way, I came across a anti-submarine net. I my experience with nets there is also mines. Never would have seen them if it wasn't daylight and at radar depth. I back out to a safe distance and continued on the original course. On radar, I saw another blip. Using the external camera, I went to check it out. The screenshot below is what was seen.
 

Knowing that using the external cameras, I lose some features on the game the farther that you go away from the starting point. Hope this helps!

Larry
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo CPU E6650 @ 2.33 GHz | 2 GB of memory |
Nvidia Geforce 8400GS graphic card | OS Windows 7 32 bit.
Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 4\MODS]

-100_FalloftheRisingSun_Ultimate
v0.71_PublicBeta_EN
-Bigger Better Protractors
Larrywb57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 03:12 PM   #6596
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,888
Downloads: 232
Uploads: 0


Default

Are you looking north and east of the eastern-most BB, or are you west of them both? I probably already asked, but are you using a 'fresh' install of FotRSU, and had you emptied the Save folder prior to activating FotRSU? In this particular area, there are very few ships, neither moving (one PC), nor docked (four total, 2 BB, 1 tanker, 1 freighter), and none of them are very close together. Look at the pix I did above, and those 2 are the closest together. The tanker is a bit further to the North, the freighter is quite a bit to the West, and the Patrol Craft circles the island area, out towards the deep water. I'll have to look on my regular computer again (nowhere near it right now) to find the nets & minefields. You really do have to watch for those in several areas, like Truk, which is mostly surrounded by them. The later in the war, the more there are...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 06:32 AM   #6597
Cybermat47
Willing Webfooted Beast
 
Cybermat47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,141
Downloads: 202
Uploads: 13


Default

God damn, just had one of the best half hours of subsimming in my life

On my first patrol in USS Balao, June 1943, I came across a Rabaul-Truk convoy. It was comprised of six ships - two heavy tankers, one light tanker, one light freighter, one hospital ship, and one Myōkō class heavy cruiser.

On the first attack, the CA was hit by three torpedoes and one of the heavy tankers was hit by two. Both sank immediately.

While getting into position for a second attack, the light freighter sank somehow. Mine? Collision? Allied aircraft?

On the second attack, the remaining heavy tanker was hit with three torpedoes, the light tanker with one. Both sank immediately. I withdrew, leaving the hospital ship unmolested.
__________________
Historical TWoS Gameplay Guide: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...20#post2572620
My Mods
Silent Hunter 4
- Japanese Career: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4554
Silent Hunter 5
- Historical Torpedo Ranges and Speeds: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5399

- Shorter External Transfer Cooldown: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5400
Cybermat47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 07:08 AM   #6598
Larrywb57
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 130
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Are you looking north and east of the eastern-most BB, or are you west of them both? In this particular area, there are very few ships, neither moving (one PC), nor docked (four total, 2 BB, 1 tanker, 1 freighter), and none of them are very close together. Look at the pix I did above, and those 2 are the closest together. The tanker is a bit further to the North, the freighter is quite a bit to the West, and the Patrol Craft circles the island area, out towards the deep water. I'll have to look on my regular computer again (nowhere near it right now) to find the nets & minefields. You really do have to watch for those in several areas, like Truk, which is mostly surrounded by them. The later in the war, the more there are...
I was travelling in a western direction when the clock started stopped and starting at a time compression of 512, just like when you get close to your home port when using time compression. My first turn was to the port side, southern direction of ninety degrees. Continue until the shuttering of the clock almost stopped. I realized this was the wrong direction, I turn one hundred eighty degrees to go in an northern direction. I continue until radar picked up two contacts. Stop the boat to plot contacts on the navigation map. This mission I decided add a check mark the no map contacts update to the gameplay settings in the office before leaving on this patrol. When to the radar station, focus on the first target using the PPI radar scope, which showed the bearing to be at zero degrees. Then I when to the A-scope to read the distance off, which looked to be 24,500 yards or 12.09 nautical miles. Plotted the bearing and range on the navigation map and placed an 'X' mark. Back to the PPI scope to move the beam to second contact which was six degrees. To the A-scope to read the range, which looked to be 23,600 yards or 11.6 nautical miles. Back to the navigation map to draw the line and place another 'X' mark. It was still daylight outside so, I decided to have a look at what was causing the clock to shutter at time compression. Using the external camera, I came off the bow as straight as possible to go have a look see. Came upon the first warship and move in to take a screenshot or two. Moved off the target's stern to find the second contact. Came upon it also and move in to take a screenshot or two. After the taking the screenshots, I decided to save the game at that point to send a contact report. Later I came back to load the save game to continue to close in on the radar contacts. Forced down to radar depth by planes, I continue until spotting the net in shallow waters. Never saw any mines but, I lost boats in the past trying to find the entrance. Back away a good distance and continue on original heading until the next radar contact. Stopped the boat and plotted the contact on the map. After seeing the ships on external camera, took screenshots and saved the game.
Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
I probably already asked, but are you using a 'fresh' install of FotRSU, and had you emptied the Save folder prior to activating FotRSU?
Yes Sir, when I read the post by CapnScurvy, 'Tips for Stable Game Play', I thought that his advice was important that I copy & pasted to a notebook file to save on my computer so I could find it when I needed to. When the latest version, 0.71 came out, I deleted everything, SH4 & the current save folder. Followed the advice of those that are wiser than me on installing SH4, letting JSGME create it's new save folder, going to the tasks in JSGME and doing a snapshot of the game before adding any mods to the mod folder. And a lot of rebooting the computer in between. Added only the 0.71 version of the FotRS_Ultimate into the mod folder until I found out that the mod 'Bigger Better Protractors' was safe to add. No other mods or attempts to change anything in FotRSU's files.
__________________
Intel Core 2 duo CPU E6650 @ 2.33 GHz | 2 GB of memory |
Nvidia Geforce 8400GS graphic card | OS Windows 7 32 bit.
Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 4\MODS]

-100_FalloftheRisingSun_Ultimate
v0.71_PublicBeta_EN
-Bigger Better Protractors

Last edited by Larrywb57; 09-24-2018 at 03:00 PM.
Larrywb57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 10:12 AM   #6599
Cybermat47
Willing Webfooted Beast
 
Cybermat47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 5,141
Downloads: 202
Uploads: 13


Default

A video of my merchant and Myōkō massacre:

__________________
Historical TWoS Gameplay Guide: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...20#post2572620
My Mods
Silent Hunter 4
- Japanese Career: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4554
Silent Hunter 5
- Historical Torpedo Ranges and Speeds: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5399

- Shorter External Transfer Cooldown: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5400
Cybermat47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 03:38 PM   #6600
MADLOU
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 61
Downloads: 1099
Uploads: 0
Default No Sonar

I installed the game and mod started a new patrol in Dec 1941 in a Gar. The sonar man does not detect any ships even when I was attacking three of them and I can not work the sonar array at all. I totally uninstalled and reinstalled the game and mod and got the same result.

Any help on this? Thanks
MADLOU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim