SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Get ready for a whole new level of realism!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-20, 04:17 PM   #1
rich9000
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 6
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Icon1 SH5 - The Wolves of Steel/Bugs?

Hey all!


Just had a few quick questions regarding the amazing SH5 mod The Wolves of Steel.


#1 - After completing the first mission of sinking any Polish warships, aka the Polish flagged Wickes-class destroyer as well the minelayer ORP Gryf 1936 class I couldn't find the next mission marker after docking at Kiel and resupplying the boat.


#2 - At distances of ca 5km+ some ships look like they are all ready halfway under water for some odd reason.


This is the only real bug like problems that I have encountered. Would be great to hear what you experienced old sea dogs think about this! Thanks in advance.
rich9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-20, 07:46 PM   #2
Texas Red
Fastest Gun Around
 
Texas Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Agua Fira, New Mexico
Posts: 2,315
Downloads: 501
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich9000 View Post
Hey all!


Just had a few quick questions regarding the amazing SH5 mod The Wolves of Steel.


#1 - After completing the first mission of sinking any Polish warships, aka the Polish flagged Wickes-class destroyer as well the minelayer ORP Gryf 1936 class I couldn't find the next mission marker after docking at Kiel and resupplying the boat.


#2 - At distances of ca 5km+ some ships look like they are all ready halfway under water for some odd reason.


This is the only real bug like problems that I have encountered. Would be great to hear what you experienced old sea dogs think about this! Thanks in advance.
For number one, you should sink the destroyers and recieve an order to head to Kiel for new orders. When you dock in Kiel, you shouldn't see any missions available on the Mission Selecting Map (depending on the date you dock at Kiel) and when you depart Kiel for your second patrol, you should see two missions available. Forgive me if I misunderstood your question, It didn't make much sense, I tried my best.

For number two, its not a bug. Its just how the boats appear on the horizon. The closer you get, the larger the boat appears.
__________________
There are no secrets to success. It is the result of preparation, hard work, and learning from failure.
— Colin Powell
Texas Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-20, 02:47 AM   #3
rich9000
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 6
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the beast View Post
For number one, you should sink the destroyers and recieve an order to head to Kiel for new orders. When you dock in Kiel, you shouldn't see any missions available on the Mission Selecting Map (depending on the date you dock at Kiel) and when you depart Kiel for your second patrol, you should see two missions available. Forgive me if I misunderstood your question, It didn't make much sense, I tried my best.

For number two, its not a bug. Its just how the boats appear on the horizon. The closer you get, the larger the boat appears.

Sorry If I was a bit unclear, but yes I did mean that after docking at Kiel on way back from my first patrol a new mission marker did not appear on the Mission Selecting Map. The date is Sep 2, 1939.



The first thought I had regarding my second question was in fact that it had to have been the effect of the horizon and earths curvature that made the ships look like that at distance. Just always assumed the distance had to be greater for it to show like that.


Thanks again Beast!
rich9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-20, 02:47 AM   #4
kapuhy
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Poland
Posts: 825
Downloads: 72
Uploads: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich9000 View Post
#2 - At distances of ca 5km+ some ships look like they are all ready halfway under water for some odd reason.
Like this?



I noticed the same bug outside of the game, so it's certainly not caused by TWoS.
kapuhy is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-20, 05:12 AM   #5
rich9000
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 6
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kapuhy View Post
Like this?



I noticed the same bug outside of the game, so it's certainly not caused by TWoS.

Haha. Exactly like that. Thanks for the pic, I must have thought the earth was flat or something!
rich9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-20, 08:31 AM   #6
Texas Red
Fastest Gun Around
 
Texas Red's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Agua Fira, New Mexico
Posts: 2,315
Downloads: 501
Uploads: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich9000 View Post
Sorry If I was a bit unclear, but yes I did mean that after docking at Kiel on way back from my first patrol a new mission marker did not appear on the Mission Selecting Map. The date is Sep 2, 1939.



The first thought I had regarding my second question was in fact that it had to have been the effect of the horizon and earths curvature that made the ships look like that at distance. Just always assumed the distance had to be greater for it to show like that.


Thanks again Beast!
The new missions appear on Sep. 4, 1939, I believe. So make your way to the North Sea and the new missions should appear in two days.

And You're welcome!
__________________
There are no secrets to success. It is the result of preparation, hard work, and learning from failure.
— Colin Powell
Texas Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-20, 02:43 AM   #7
Luciferret
Nub
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 4
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default Im going tp revive this thread for the horizon thingy.

Hello all.

Im back for the second time for this series, now with SH5. Ive been training few weeks now by reading through web sites and looking youtube tutorials on every aspect of this game and finally its paying off. Far more than it was back in the days with SH3.

So, as im progressing the details of running my sub, smaller things start to catch my eyes. One of them is why ships seems to "sink" in the water BEFORE horizon. Shouldnt i be looking blue sky behind the three ships, not grey sea?

Heres a screenshot what i mean.

Luciferret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-20, 04:02 PM   #8
Salvadoreno
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 887
Downloads: 119
Uploads: 0
Default

Everything works great for me. Only thing i notice is the planes do not drop their bombs. Could have sworn i read this somewhere before but not sure. I've been on and off SH series for so long.
__________________
Salvadoreno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-20, 07:26 PM   #9
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 24,902
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome back!

Luciferret!
__________________

"Only two things are infinite; The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe"
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-20, 10:02 PM   #10
Kapitan
Sub Test Pilot
 
Kapitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK + Canada
Posts: 7,033
Downloads: 60
Uploads: 7


Default

I do have a issue with SH5 namely that sometimes when i load the game back up i switch speeds and the submarine goes to 0 and never moves again

i have had this happen several times i have tried surfacing and submerging same problem i can call down flank and nothing.
__________________
DONT FORGET if you like a post to nominate it by using the blue diamond



Find out about Museum Ships here: https://www.museumships.us/

Flickr for all my pictures: https://www.flickr.com/photos/131313936@N03/

Navy general board articles: https://www.navygeneralboard.com/author/aegis/
Kapitan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-20, 06:18 PM   #11
Sickents
Watch
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: australia
Posts: 21
Downloads: 40
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapitan View Post
I do have an issue with SH5 namely that sometimes when I load the game back up I switch speeds and the submarine goes to 0 and never moves again

I have had this happen several times I have tried surfacing and submerging the same problem I can call down flank and nothing.
I have the same issue at times, about 0 to 2 mins after loading a save game, I have an idea that it is caused by TC, still testing, but the fix is simple, exit to menu and reload the save.

I have never had it happen after 2 mins of loading into the game
Sickents is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-21, 05:04 AM   #12
Damnman
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luciferret View Post
Hello all.

Im back for the second time for this series, now with SH5. Ive been training few weeks now by reading through web sites and looking youtube tutorials on every aspect of this game and finally its paying off. Far more than it was back in the days with SH3.

So, as im progressing the details of running my sub, smaller things start to catch my eyes. One of them is why ships seems to "sink" in the water BEFORE horizon. Shouldnt i be looking blue sky behind the three ships, not grey sea?

Heres a screenshot what i mean.

Hello. Did you solve this problem with half-sinked ships on the horizon?

Last edited by Damnman; 04-25-21 at 07:45 AM.
Damnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-21, 02:55 PM   #13
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 24,902
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default welcome aboard!

Damnman!
__________________

"Only two things are infinite; The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe"
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-22, 12:57 PM   #14
U-190
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Russian Federation Nizhny Novgorod
Posts: 706
Downloads: 2326
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rich9000 View Post
Hey all!


Just had a few quick questions regarding the amazing SH5 mod The Wolves of Steel.


#1 - After completing the first mission of sinking any Polish warships, aka the Polish flagged Wickes-class destroyer as well the minelayer ORP Gryf 1936 class I couldn't find the next mission marker after docking at Kiel and resupplying the boat.


#2 - At distances of ca 5km+ some ships look like they are all ready halfway under water for some odd reason.


This is the only real bug like problems that I have encountered. Would be great to hear what you experienced old sea dogs think about this! Thanks in advance.
Firstly, our planet has the shape of a ball, and secondly, take into account the height and movement of waves.
__________________
[IMG]https://www.hostpic.org/images/2207250011540108.jpg[/IMG]
U-190 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-22, 12:59 PM   #15
U-190
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Russian Federation Nizhny Novgorod
Posts: 706
Downloads: 2326
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kapuhy View Post
Like this?



I noticed the same bug outside of the game, so it's certainly not caused by TWoS.
Good photo, kapuhy!
__________________
[IMG]https://www.hostpic.org/images/2207250011540108.jpg[/IMG]
U-190 is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bugs, silent hunter 5, wolves of steel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.