SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Old 05-05-10, 05:31 PM   #1
JohnWoo
Watch

Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
AAR U-52

After-Action-Report:

Leutnant z.S. Kurt Gies, captain of ‘U-52’ Type VIIB
U-flotilla Saltzwedel, Wilhelmshaven
Playing GWX and SH3 commander at 72% difficulty (I’m new to this game, so it's ok)

Patrol 1.

2 August 1939;
we left Wilhelmshaven for our first patrol in SH3. WW2 hadn't started yet, so I didn't expect a lot of action during our time at sea. We reached our patrol grid BF19 without any problems except some very rough weather which forced us to stay submerged for most of the trip (winds 15m/s).
On our way back to Wilhelmshaven, good weather and the gramophone eased the boredom of the trip.
13 August 1939;
we arrived safely in Wilhelmshaven.

Patrol 2.

28 August 1939;
U-52 and his crew leave for their second patrol. Our orders are to patrol grid BF19 once more, and the beginning of WW2 is just a few days away.
31 August and 1 September 1939;
the air is full with reports of the Germany-Poland aggression. Since Germany is now at war with Poland, Bdu orders that Polish vessels should be treated with hostility. Unfortunately, my course is not even near Polish waters.
3 September 1939;
War with Great-Britain! This is a great opportunity for U-52 to get his first kills and earn a place between the great U-boat aces. After the 24hour patrol, we set sail to AM 53, which I heard to be an excellent hunting ground.
And by God, it was! Upon arriving at AM 53, an alert sounded. ‘Ship spotted, Kaleun’. An Ore Carrier, the SS Coracero, going to great-Britain and crossing our path. We dive and position ourselves in a 90° angle and prepare 2 torpedos. Result: 8088 ton going to the bottom of the sea. U-52 claims its first victim!
3-4 september 1939;