SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2021, 07:12 AM   #1
KarlFranz1870
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Venetia
Posts: 10
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default GWX 3 crash

Hello everyone,
I'm new to this forum and I want to thank you already for reading this.

Last year I tried multiple times to play SH3 with GWX3 but it would crash a lot during savegame loading, and mid-game career, and loading single missions.
After some research I noticed that I needed the 4GB mod, but I also apparently need some game updates for it, and now I'm very disoriented on what to do, because there's a lot.
I have the Ubisoft version of the game, not the steam one.
If someone was so kind to actually tell me step by step what to do I will appreciate it.
Thanks in advance

Last edited by KarlFranz1870; 02-18-2021 at 07:14 AM. Reason: posted it without finishing
KarlFranz1870 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 08:10 AM   #2
stork100
Ensign
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 225
Downloads: 79
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello KarlFranz1870,

Welcome to Subsim, and here you will find many passionate and enthusiastic members with useful advice to get your game working the way you'd like it. I have some basic suggestions based on your initial comments:

1. Ensure you have your version of Silent Hunter 3 updated to version 1.4b. This is usually guaranteed straight from Ubisoft unless you have a DVD copy going back to 2005, which is easy to take care of also. If that's the case then please say.

2. Ensure that you have installed Silent Hunter 3 to another directory outside of Program Files (x86). This causes big problems with the game.

3. Been a while since I installed GWX but if you have to install it again I'd say follow the instructions and do a restart after installation.

4. The 4GB patch is extremely useful in providing better stability. Here's a simple one you can download and simply apply to the SH3.exe:

https://ntcore.com/?page_id=371

You may have to provide permissions such as unchecking read only in properties of SH3.exe.

5. As for crashes during loading saves, it's still kind of an unknown thing, and varies case to case. Depending on your operating system, a lot of users have found running compatibility settings and ticking 'run as administrator' on the SH3.exe to be very helpful. Common settings include using Windows XP Service Pack 2 if using Windows 7, or Windows 7 compatibility mode if using Windows 10.

Hope this helps some, and please ask more questions if needed to help in getting your game running properly. SH3 is awesome!
stork100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 08:31 AM   #3
KarlFranz1870
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Venetia
Posts: 10
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stork100 View Post
Hello KarlFranz1870,

Welcome to Subsim, and here you will find many passionate and enthusiastic members with useful advice to get your game working the way you'd like it. I have some basic suggestions based on your initial comments:

1. Ensure you have your version of Silent Hunter 3 updated to version 1.4b. This is usually guaranteed straight from Ubisoft unless you have a DVD copy going back to 2005, which is easy to take care of also. If that's the case then please say.

2. Ensure that you have installed Silent Hunter 3 to another directory outside of Program Files (x86). This causes big problems with the game.

3. Been a while since I installed GWX but if you have to install it again I'd say follow the instructions and do a restart after installation.

4. The 4GB patch is extremely useful in providing better stability. Here's a simple one you can download and simply apply to the SH3.exe:

https://ntcore.com/?page_id=371

You may have to provide permissions such as unchecking read only in properties of SH3.exe.

5. As for crashes during loading saves, it's still kind of an unknown thing, and varies case to case. Depending on your operating system, a lot of users have found running compatibility settings and ticking 'run as administrator' on the SH3.exe to be very helpful. Common settings include using Windows XP Service Pack 2 if using Windows 7, or Windows 7 compatibility mode if using Windows 10.

Hope this helps some, and please ask more questions if needed to help in getting your game running properly. SH3 is awesome!
Hi again,

as for the game version, I looked into the "readme" and it says version 1.4 so I guess it's fine.

The game is installed inside E:\Ubisoft Game Launcher\games\Silent Hunter 3
so outside of Programs(x86)

I will now install GWX and tell you if I have any problem ^^

KarlFranz1870 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 09:06 AM   #4
KarlFranz1870
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Venetia
Posts: 10
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stork100 View Post
Hello KarlFranz1870,

Welcome to Subsim, and here you will find many passionate and enthusiastic members with useful advice to get your game working the way you'd like it. I have some basic suggestions based on your initial comments:

1. Ensure you have your version of Silent Hunter 3 updated to version 1.4b. This is usually guaranteed straight from Ubisoft unless you have a DVD copy going back to 2005, which is easy to take care of also. If that's the case then please say.

2. Ensure that you have installed Silent Hunter 3 to another directory outside of Program Files (x86). This causes big problems with the game.

3. Been a while since I installed GWX but if you have to install it again I'd say follow the instructions and do a restart after installation.

4. The 4GB patch is extremely useful in providing better stability. Here's a simple one you can download and simply apply to the SH3.exe:

https://ntcore.com/?page_id=371

You may have to provide permissions such as unchecking read only in properties of SH3.exe.

5. As for crashes during loading saves, it's still kind of an unknown thing, and varies case to case. Depending on your operating system, a lot of users have found running compatibility settings and ticking 'run as administrator' on the SH3.exe to be very helpful. Common settings include using Windows XP Service Pack 2 if using Windows 7, or Windows 7 compatibility mode if using Windows 10.

Hope this helps some, and please ask more questions if needed to help in getting your game running properly. SH3 is awesome!
Now I also have installed the 4GB mod, zero problems so far, this evening I'm going to try a campaign and see if everything works alright,
oh and another thing I forgot to ask

I would like to play the mod in 1920x1080, I remember there was a mod for that but didn't work, could you perhaps help me on that? Thanks ^^
KarlFranz1870 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 09:51 AM   #5
John Pancoast
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 2,308
Downloads: 399
Uploads: 1


Default

These are also a huge help in avoiding this problem.
__________________
".....contrary to the accepted wisdom - and mythology - at no time did the German U-boat force ever come close to winning the "Battle of the Atlantic...."

- Clay Blair
John Pancoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 10:24 AM   #6
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 21,201
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default welcome aboard!

KarlFranz1870!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite; The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe"
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 11:01 AM   #7
KarlFranz1870
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Venetia
Posts: 10
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Pancoast View Post
These are also a huge help in avoiding this problem.
Hi, isn't this fix only for the original GWX and not GWX 3.0?
it says:

"ATTENTION: This mod is based on the original GWX RND file. For the SRC file I have used the one from the 'St Naz and Schluese V3' mod without additional units:"

Also, do I always have to activate another "traffic zone" when I enter a new area? for example I want traffic in the med--> I have to activate it, us coast --> activate another.
It's a bit clunky for me and it would ruin a bit of RP.
KarlFranz1870 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 11:03 AM   #8
KarlFranz1870
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Venetia
Posts: 10
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aktungbby View Post
KarlFranz1870!

Thanks!
KarlFranz1870 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 11:45 AM   #9
John Pancoast
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 2,308
Downloads: 399
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlFranz1870 View Post
Hi, isn't this fix only for the original GWX and not GWX 3.0?
it says:

"ATTENTION: This mod is based on the original GWX RND file. For the SRC file I have used the one from the 'St Naz and Schluese V3' mod without additional units:"

Also, do I always have to activate another "traffic zone" when I enter a new area? for example I want traffic in the med--> I have to activate it, us coast --> activate another.
It's a bit clunky for me and it would ruin a bit of RP.
It's based off of 3.0. By original, he means that one. In terms of other zones, simply activate the relevant file where you plan to go before starting the patrol/career.
If you mean something like having i.e., only the North Atlantic file enabled but mid-patrol you decide to go elsewhere I imagine you could go there but there would't be any traffic there of course.
__________________
".....contrary to the accepted wisdom - and mythology - at no time did the German U-boat force ever come close to winning the "Battle of the Atlantic...."

- Clay Blair
John Pancoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 11:54 AM   #10
KarlFranz1870
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Venetia
Posts: 10
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Pancoast View Post
It's based off of 3.0. By original, he means that one. In terms of other zones, simply activate the relevant file where you plan to go before starting the patrol/career.
If you mean something like having i.e., only the North Atlantic file enabled but mid-patrol you decide to go elsewhere I imagine you could go there but there would't be any traffic there of course.
Thanks for the quick response! now that I think about it, it's a good feature, I'm not interested in travelling to south america or south africa or Us coast anyway most games...

I figured out how to install it, thanks a lot!
KarlFranz1870 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 11:55 AM   #11
John Pancoast
Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Minnysoda
Posts: 2,308
Downloads: 399
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlFranz1870 View Post
Thanks for the quick response! now that I think about it, it's a good feature, I'm not interested in travelling to south america or south africa or Us coast anyway most games...

I figured out how to install it, thanks a lot!
I'm the same; only interested in the North Atlantic so why bother loading all the rest ?
__________________
".....contrary to the accepted wisdom - and mythology - at no time did the German U-boat force ever come close to winning the "Battle of the Atlantic...."

- Clay Blair
John Pancoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2021, 08:37 PM   #12
stork100
Ensign
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 225
Downloads: 79
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlFranz1870 View Post
I would like to play the mod in 1920x1080, I remember there was a mod for that but didn't work, could you perhaps help me on that? Thanks
Here are two currently popular and similar mods working well with GWX:

DGUI 1920x1080 for GWX and Stock SH3
https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...d.php?t=247186

ARB WideGui 1920x1080
https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...d.php?t=232178

Both require some attention to detail to get installed properly, but I believe the former now includes a fully patched file for greater simplicity for new users. Follow all installation notes and instructions carefully, and you should find most trouble shooting info covered in the relevant discussion threads. As always, feel free to ask for assistance.

stork100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 06:05 AM   #13
KarlFranz1870
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: Venetia
Posts: 10
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stork100 View Post
Here are two currently popular and similar mods working well with GWX:

DGUI 1920x1080 for GWX and Stock SH3
https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...d.php?t=247186

ARB WideGui 1920x1080
https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...d.php?t=232178

Both require some attention to detail to get installed properly, but I believe the former now includes a fully patched file for greater simplicity for new users. Follow all installation notes and instructions carefully, and you should find most trouble shooting info covered in the relevant discussion threads. As always, feel free to ask for assistance.

Thanks! I installed the first one and it works! I'm going to try multiple times if the game crashes but, yesterday I played two missions and it seems to be working just fine

Thank you for the help und Frohe Jagd ^^

Last edited by KarlFranz1870; 02-19-2021 at 06:06 AM. Reason: capital letter missing lol
KarlFranz1870 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 06:15 AM   #14
Fifi
Silent Hunter
 
Fifi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: France - South West
Posts: 4,742
Downloads: 425
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlFranz1870 View Post
Thanks! I installed the first one and it works! I'm going to try multiple times if the game crashes but, yesterday I played two missions and it seems to be working just fine

Thank you for the help und Frohe Jagd ^^
Yes, first one (DGUI) is the most stable 1920x1080 Gui for the ones who have unstable games.
Just because he is lighter than other ones, hence use less memory.
__________________
Fifi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2021, 12:50 PM   #15
FeatsOfStrength
Gunner
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 97
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarlFranz1870 View Post
Hello everyone,
I'm new to this forum and I want to thank you already for reading this.

Last year I tried multiple times to play SH3 with GWX3 but it would crash a lot during savegame loading, and mid-game career, and loading single missions.
After some research I noticed that I needed the 4GB mod, but I also apparently need some game updates for it, and now I'm very disoriented on what to do, because there's a lot.
I have the Ubisoft version of the game, not the steam one.
If someone was so kind to actually tell me step by step what to do I will appreciate it.
Thanks in advance
I had the problem of crashing savegames, 4gb patch didn't seem to make any difference, what fixed it for me was running SH3.exe in compatability mode for Windows XP (Service Pack 2), Windows Vista works too.

Run it in compatibility mode by right clicking on SH3.exe, go into properties and click the "compatibility" tab, here there is a drop box where you can select the version of windows to run it in compatability mode with.

I haven't had a loading save crash since.
FeatsOfStrength is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crash , crash career , gwx 3.0 , sh3

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.