SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter III
Forget password? Reset here

Get ready for a whole new level of realism!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-16, 10:01 PM   #1
GT182
Ocean Warrior
 
GT182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Castle of Delaware
Posts: 3,231
Downloads: 658
Uploads: 0
Default Low FPS- Try This

I have a free program call Game Booster that shuts down unnecessary processes running in the background. These processes can take away the need resources for your games to run properly. When you are done gaming shut it down and those processes will restart.

I used it with XP and am using it with 8.1. As said it is Freeware and does help.

http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/deta...e_booster.html
__________________
Gary

No Borders, No Language, No Culture =s No Country

I'm a Deplorable, and proud of it.
GT182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-16, 11:34 PM   #2
Fahnenbohn
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: France
Posts: 1,072
Downloads: 155
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GT182 View Post
I have a free program call Game Booster that shuts down unnecessary processes running in the background. These processes can take away the need resources for your games to run properly. When you are done gaming shut it down and those processes will restart.

I used it with XP and am using it with 8.1. As said it is Freeware and does help.
How many extra fps do you get with this ?
Fahnenbohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-16, 02:29 PM   #3
GT182
Ocean Warrior
 
GT182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Castle of Delaware
Posts: 3,231
Downloads: 658
Uploads: 0
Default

To be honest I've never checked. But it doesn't hiccup like it did before. Every so often it was like SH3 and 5 would catch for a second and then start running again with out Game Booster. When running with it on they ran smoother with no problems.

It works great for games and simulations that are resource hogs by shutting down background programs. It dedicates most all of the CPU power to the game. Made my flight sims run a lot better too.
__________________
Gary

No Borders, No Language, No Culture =s No Country

I'm a Deplorable, and proud of it.
GT182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-16, 05:55 PM   #4
pedalboat
A-ganger
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Cape Ortegal - Spain
Posts: 74
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

Why buy a new CPU and/or a new graphics card if we simply install this little software that will be running in the background...
pedalboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-16, 09:28 PM   #5
GT182
Ocean Warrior
 
GT182's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Castle of Delaware
Posts: 3,231
Downloads: 658
Uploads: 0
Default

When you quit playing your game or simulation, then just shut Game Booster down and everything comes back to normal. It is a handy piece of software.

As Pedalboat says, no need to buy a new CPU or GFX card. Unless they're old and on the low side for performance. SH3 and SH5 will run fine tho with a t least an 8800 GFX card with a minimum of 1GB of DDR memory and DX9.
__________________
Gary

No Borders, No Language, No Culture =s No Country

I'm a Deplorable, and proud of it.
GT182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-16, 01:35 PM   #6
CaptBones
The Old Man
 
CaptBones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Rockton, IL
Posts: 274
Downloads: 206
Uploads: 0


Icon14 I'll vouch for Game Booster...

I've used it for several years and it seems to be effective. I use it with my Sub sims, Flight sims and Railroad sims. My system is a 4-1/2 year old Alienware Area 51, i7 960, 12GGB RAM, Dual 1GB GTX 460, 1TB SATA 3Gb/s 32MB Cache HDD (RAID 1), Dell U3011 2560x1600 native res. (running SH3 at 2048x1536).

SH3/GWX, with a number of large MODs (e.g., GWX Wilhelmshafen, St Naz Schluese, MFM 3.2, many graphics improvements, etc.) and h.sie's Patch was rather "jerky", especially in harbors. The same applies to my installation of LSH3 2015. Plus, I could not even get SH4 or SH5 to start and run until I installed and used Game Booster.

I checked with Naval Academy and a couple of Single Missions in SH3; w/Game Booster I'm getting about 10-12fps better...under the exact same conditions (scenario, scenery, weather, other units nearby, etc.). The biggest improvement I've enjoyed though, is that it stops those irritating, nuisance "update" checkers from running and interfering (even minimizing my game to the Task Bar), while I'm in the middle of something important...like escaping from the escorts after putting a few torpedoes into their convoy.
CaptBones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-16, 06:46 AM   #7
Geoff-A
Seaman
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Tuggerah, Australia
Posts: 37
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default

Not good for all systems, so be wary. It actually reduced the FPS on mine to an unplayable level. Yes, I followed all instructions, did everything it said to do but mine is a very old system.
Great for some, but please be careful
__________________
[/IMG]
Geoff-A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-16, 08:39 PM   #8
Doolar
Expert Shipsinker
 
Doolar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Baltimore,Md./ CA45
Posts: 744
Downloads: 360
Uploads: 0
Default

Yea, I've used this program (game booster 3) for several years too. I always get a, like 42% boost or so it says. I use it but there are times when I've fired up the old sub and forget to run it. I really didn't notice a performance drop. I still use it though, can't hurt.
Doolar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-16, 04:39 AM   #9
depthtok33l
Sparky
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 156
Downloads: 61
Uploads: 0
Default

Game Booster mainly just frees up RAM and kills tasks that you don't need while gaming.
depthtok33l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-16, 12:39 PM   #10
flag4
Watch Officer
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: as far away as possible
Posts: 1,625
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 0
Default

...there is a better one, though i forget its name. it has a fighter jet on the front coming through a cloud. its a little tricky to set up but when its running its superb. i ran it on my old XP and managed to shut down nearly 100 background programmes which made such a difference back then, it was a relief. damned if i can remember it though...ive even had a little search on-line but cant find it. sorry. maybe someone here can remember it - i think someone here recommended it to me..?

ive found it; AlacrityPC

AlacrityPC is based on an old boosting tool called FSAutoStart which was made especially to improve Microsoft Flight Simulator performance. It’s now designed to help you get the most out of your computer when running anything resource intensive by shutting down unnecessary services and processes beforehand. AlacrityPC works with profiles and you can either use one of the defaults or create your own to turn off exactly what processes and services you want. Drag the profile icon to the desktop so you can launch it automatically.
Read More: https://www.raymond.cc/blog/safely-c...osed-programs/

its not had an update since 2008 so i dont know if it will work on later OS systems but it was a very good tool indeed. you need spend a little time setting it up but its the results if it works.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
' We are here on Earth to fart around.
Don't let anybody tell you any different.'
Kurt Vonnegut

Last edited by flag4; 01-15-16 at 12:53 PM.
flag4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-17, 11:19 AM   #11
Niume
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 1,626
Downloads: 497
Uploads: 2


Default

I another good one is Jetboost its very light only uses like 10mb of ram compared to Razer Cortex which uses 100mb of ram
__________________


GLORY TO UKRAINE!


[ENG] SH 4 KSD II Ace Edition
Niume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-17, 12:40 PM   #12
lederhosen
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Trier, Germany
Posts: 171
Downloads: 405
Uploads: 0
Default

For myself I never found these sort of things brought much.
In the end, whenI moved up to an intel CPU and relative good GPU, that helped most.
__________________
lederhosen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.