SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > Submarine Scale Models: Subs, Naval, Tanks, Planes, Trains, Space & Other
Forget password? Reset here

Old 03-17-13, 10:33 PM   #1
Red October1984
Airplane Nerd

Downloads: 115
Uploads: 0

I want to get started with modeling...

Any helpful hints or advice is welcome.

I'm thinking I want to start with an Airplane and then move on to ships/subs.

I like the R/C stuff that nikimcbee is doing too. Problem is....I have no experience ( or money )

I'm open to suggestions, recommendations, guidance, etc. This looks like some cool stuff.... A bit of a step up from the legos of my childhood.

( I think I want my first one to either be a Bf-109 or an A-10 Warthog )
Old 03-17-13, 11:01 PM   #2
Sailor Steve
Eternal Patrol

Downloads: 745
Uploads: 249

I could give so much advice all at once you'd feel overwhelmed. Probably so could more than a few others. So I'll start simple.

1. What do you want to do? Throw some plastic together and slap some paint on it? Try to make a work of art? Somewhere in between?

My first recommendation would be to go online and see what's there. There are several popular scales, and you can make some pretty small models with just a few parts, or you can build a big plane with more than 100 parts just for the engine. Of course you want to start easy. I'm just telling you what the possibilities are. There are books available that give you good instructions on what to do and how to do it.