SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-04-14, 10:08 PM   #1
jscharpf
Frogman
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
Posts: 295
Downloads: 294
Uploads: 0
Default If I ignore the tonnage bar and the orders will there be other ships out there?

Since many seem to have issues with the tonnage bar, what if I just ignore the orders and sail out to the western Atlantic. Why should I care if the tonnage bar doesn't fill up? Will I be penalized for not patrolling ONLY on the east side of England?
In SH3 I could ignore the orders to go to a certain grid and still find plenty of ships elsewhere.
I'm still trying to understand why I should worry about "advancing" to the next phase.
What am I missing?

Jeff
jscharpf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-14, 10:56 PM   #2
pinner2010
Planesman
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: uk.
Posts: 181
Downloads: 2368
Uploads: 0
Default Tonnage Bar issue

I am having the same problem and understand your frustration.
I have come to the point after two years that this SH5 is unplayable and was in the process of trying out SH3 or SH4. No doubt they also will be riddled with problems, "CTD to the left, CTD to the right, into the sea of death sailed the 600".

Good luck (if there's any about)
__________________

The objective of every dedicated Captain must be to anticipate problems and move swiftly to eradicate them.
However, it's somewhat difficult to remember that your initial objective was to drain the swamp, when you are up to your ass in alligators!.
pinner2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-14, 05:48 AM   #3
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi js

It is best to work within the missions if you can.

Not everyone is having tonnage bar problems only some of us.

I do not select any missions.

The black icon on the Navigation map shows you your patrol area.

That is all you need to know.

I can thoroughly recommend the following.

This is what SH5 should have been like.

SH3 + GWX3.0 + SH3 Commander + cfg files.

Just make sure you get a Starforce SH3 version

Silver bottom with a White top not all Silver.

If you check out the Grey Wolves Manual and the SH3 Commander manual you will see just how good a game SH3 is.

If you have a decent graphics card then that will make a difference.

SH3 graphics is still very good but obviously not to SH5 quality.

I play SH3 SH4 and SH5 all of them regularly swithching between them in an evening unless I am submerged with SH5 then I will stick with it until I can do a surface save.

Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-14, 05:48 AM   #4
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi Graham

Still with SH5 or have you tried SH3/SH4 yet?

Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-14, 08:16 AM   #5
test_m4a1
Helmsman
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Poland, Wroclaw
Posts: 109
Downloads: 199
Uploads: 0
Default

I think he wanted to know "What if i wouldnt not care about tonnage objectvis"

Actually im intrested into this question too. I was going to ask Yo guys about "Free hunting" mode, i mean not following objectivs of the game, just sailing and sinking if You know what i mean my friend
test_m4a1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-14, 01:58 PM   #6
pinner2010
Planesman
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: uk.
Posts: 181
Downloads: 2368
Uploads: 0
Default Tonnage Bar

Hi Peter.
I already have SH4 installed which i have occasionally played in it,s vanilla version (no mods).

Reference SH3, I purchased from Amazon a copy a couple of months ago and is different version to the one you mentioned.

My version is Silent Hunter 111, PC dvd-rom. Ubisoft.0814161. Full instruction booklet included. front cover in full colour. As yet to be installed.

With reference to the Tonnage bar issue, I remember playing on SH5; Distant Waters, wherein there are 3 missions; 2 completed with no tonnage bar problems whereas, the third mission (centered around Cape Town; in 2 parts) the tonnage bar problem arose, showing no progress whatsoever in the bar.
__________________

The objective of every dedicated Captain must be to anticipate problems and move swiftly to eradicate them.
However, it's somewhat difficult to remember that your initial objective was to drain the swamp, when you are up to your ass in alligators!.
pinner2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-14, 02:42 PM   #7
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi Graham

Before you install your SH3 check out my Tutorial post #150

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=211804

Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-14, 02:46 PM   #8
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default

Regarding the tonnage bar problem.

I put up new information on my tutorials thread regarding work around ideas by Comvas and Mikaelanderlund that are worth looking at.

See tutorial Post #162 on Page 11

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=211804


Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-14, 04:17 PM   #9
pinner2010
Planesman
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: uk.
Posts: 181
Downloads: 2368
Uploads: 0
Default

Will do.
It no doubt will be a mammoth task as everything appears to be if associated with Ubisoft. Most games instructions usually read; place disc in drawer, follow on screen requests, enjoy.
Not re-build the installation!
__________________

The objective of every dedicated Captain must be to anticipate problems and move swiftly to eradicate them.
However, it's somewhat difficult to remember that your initial objective was to drain the swamp, when you are up to your ass in alligators!.
pinner2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-14, 05:39 AM   #10
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,451
Downloads: 166
Uploads: 28


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jscharpf View Post
Since many seem to have issues with the tonnage bar, what if I just ignore the orders and sail out to the western Atlantic. Why should I care if the tonnage bar doesn't fill up? Will I be penalized for not patrolling ONLY on the east side of England?
In SH3 I could ignore the orders to go to a certain grid and still find plenty of ships elsewhere.
I'm still trying to understand why I should worry about "advancing" to the next phase.
What am I missing?

Jeff
With OHII you can ignore the orders and sail wherever you like and you will find ships.
By not following orders and thus failing your missions - the game will still advance through the campaigns.

The Indian ocean is the onlt one that will not have shipping unless you go there during the correct campaign.

So yes - you can play a free style career
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-14, 07:20 PM   #11
jscharpf
Frogman
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Menomonee Falls, WI
Posts: 295
Downloads: 294
Uploads: 0
Default

THANK YOU TREVALLY!!!

That is the first time anyone has answered my question directly!

I have the WOS mod which includes OH so I think I'm good to go!



I will finally feel good about going out and playing in "free" mode.

Jeff
jscharpf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.