SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2019, 10:16 AM   #496
DjCQs
Nub
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default Deck gun ammo type

Hi,

I've just started to play and get into SH3 and noticed something peculiar to me. When switching from playing the straight vanilla SH3 to using the Ahnenerbe WideGui 1920 x 1080 mod, the deck gun graphical option to change ammo types disappears to only show HE ammo. Is this a design choice or can I still change ammo types? It does show that the sub is carrying the different types of ammo in the weapon management screen.

Thank for any help, and thanks for the mod work, it looks fantastic!
DjCQs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 10:19 AM   #497
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,855
Downloads: 299
Uploads: 1


Default

What screen resolution are you running your Windows desktop at, and what screen resolution are you running the game at? It almost sounds like your are getting cropping of the display image and that's taking out the left and right sides of your view...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2019, 10:22 AM   #498
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,486
Downloads: 1058
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome To The Subsim Community > DjCQs
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
SH3 – 4 - 5 Tutorials > Downloads > Other Useful Information > See Links in My Signature Below
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 12:14 PM   #499
K-61
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ontario
Posts: 786
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DjCQs View Post
Hi,

I've just started to play and get into SH3 and noticed something peculiar to me. When switching from playing the straight vanilla SH3 to using the Ahnenerbe WideGui 1920 x 1080 mod, the deck gun graphical option to change ammo types disappears to only show HE ammo. Is this a design choice or can I still change ammo types? It does show that the sub is carrying the different types of ammo in the weapon management screen.

Thank for any help, and thanks for the mod work, it looks fantastic!
I hope the OP still posts here so he sees my reply to this question. It has been years since I last played SH3 and I am in anticipation of installing it on a new machine when it arrives... and hoping to use this GUI when I do so.

However, I remember that the AP [armour piercing] rounds were removed by a number of mods for historical realism; the deck guns were only provided with HE rounds, so in the game the AP rounds were removed and their storage allowance was replaced with more HE rounds.

Hope this helps.
__________________
K-61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 01:47 PM   #500
DjCQs
Nub
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks K-61,

I was thinking it was disabled on purpose, good to have a bit of confirmation on that. The only thing that has me perplexed is that the ammo management screen still shows all the different types of ammo and the HE ammo is limited to the stacks assigned to it. Can't change to the other types or use the ammo. I wonder if there is a way to assign the ammo as HE while in HQ?
DjCQs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 02:09 PM   #501
FUBAR295
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Decks awash in the North Atlantic
Posts: 286
Downloads: 285
Uploads: 0
Default

DjCQs,

This was a answer on a Star Shell thread but you can use the info:

Can Star Shells be left out of the loadout?

Edit your stock SH3 file accordingly (GWX does this for you by default).


There are TWO sets of values you must change in /SilentHunterIII/data/Cfg/Basic.cfg/
Make these values anything you want; 250 and 3000 are the GWX defaults


Located after [Torpedo_Type10] and before [Color_0]

[SUBMARINE_AMMOLIMITS1] ;105mm
MaxAmmoPerSlot=250

[SUBMARINE_AMMOLIMITS2] ;88mm
MaxAmmoPerSlot=250

[SUBMARINE_AMMOLIMITS3] ;37mm
MaxAmmoPerSlot=3000

[SUBMARINE_AMMOLIMITS4] ;20mm
;MaxAmmoPerSlot=3000
MaxAmmoPerSlot=3000




Located further down, after [Conning_Type12] almost at the end of the file

[AMMO_TYPE0];10.5cm SK C/32
Idx=0
Year=1939
Month=1
;AP=40 <= these are the stock SH3 default values
;HE=160


;SS=20
AP=0 <= these are the default values in GWX
HE=250
SS=0
Renown=0

[AMMO_TYPE1];8.8cm SK C/35
Idx=1
Year=1939
Month=1
;AP=40 <= these are the stock SH3 default values
;HE=160
;SS=40
AP=0 <= these are the default values in GWX
HE=250
SS=0
Renown=0


[AMMO_TYPE2] thru [AMMO_TYPE10] are for the AA guns. Change values if you wish. GWX default is 3000.
__________________
Raptor


Hope this helps you out.

Good Hunting,
FUBAR295
__________________
Good judgment comes from experience. Unfortunately, the experience usually comes from bad judgment



FUBAR295 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 02:12 PM   #502
DjCQs
Nub
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Great info, thank you Fubar295
DjCQs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 03:49 PM   #503
FUBAR295
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Decks awash in the North Atlantic
Posts: 286
Downloads: 285
Uploads: 0
Default

__________________
Good judgment comes from experience. Unfortunately, the experience usually comes from bad judgment



FUBAR295 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 05:45 PM   #504
Fotzkopp
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default Shortcuts funktionieren nicht

Hallo, wie kann ich erhaltene Telegramme ansehen? Ein weiteres Problem ist, das ich die Shortcuts auf der linken Seite unter BDU nicht anklicken kann. Auch das Angriffssehrohr ist als einziger Shortcut anklickbar. Kann mir wer helfen?
Fotzkopp is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 08:11 PM   #505
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 16,671
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

Fotzkopp!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 04:00 AM   #506
Anvar1061
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 1,628
Downloads: 657
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fotzkopp View Post
Hallo, wie kann ich erhaltene Telegramme ansehen?
Press key "M"
Anvar1061 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 06:51 AM   #507
Fotzkopp
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default Abstürze

Erstmal Danke für die Telegramhilfe. Jetzt habe ich aber das Problem das Mein Spiel zwar läd aber immer abstürzt, wenn ich ins Uboot lade. Ich habe GWX 3.0 und Ahnenerbe installiert.
Fotzkopp is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 07:59 AM   #508
Fotzkopp
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 5
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Habe das Problem eingegrenzt. Wenn ich die Laufbahn in 1939 starte funktioniert alles soweit. Wenn ich die Karriere aber in 1940 (z.B. Kiel) starte stürzt er immer ab.
Fotzkopp is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2020, 03:30 PM   #509
Fubar2Niner
Silent Hunter
 
Fubar2Niner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London. UK
Posts: 4,372
Downloads: 260
Uploads: 0


Default

@Fotzkopp

English please shipmate
Fubar2Niner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 07:44 AM   #510
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 140,545
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 11


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fubar2Niner View Post
@Fotzkopp

English please shipmate
I narrowed down the problem. When I start my career in 1939 everything works so far. But when I start my career in 1940 (e.g. Kiel) it always crashes.
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim