SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-12-2020, 09:21 PM   #2191
KaleunMarco
Sea Lord
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 1,686
Downloads: 322
Uploads: 12


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan View Post

I am a smart enough old bear, to understand that it could very well be that there is NO definitive answer to this puzzle... but.. if such is the case, then I will be satisfied that it was looked at... & shall then adjust My interaction in game, to just avoid any attempts at attacking the problem ship or ships...

M. M.
and so.....PB says you are the victim of Mod Soup!
well, i guess we've all had that disease at one time or another.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2020, 09:44 PM   #2192
Tucker
Seaman
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 31
Downloads: 44
Uploads: 0
Default S-Class Boat Refit Bug

Hey yall, I just encountered a bug in my current playthrough.

It is February 16th, '43, just finished my 7th patrol in my S Boat out of Brisbane and when I came back into port my boat was refitted with the 20mm platform. This is good and all, but I ended up loosing my deck gun because of it, and this is a problem.

My deck gun was a 4 inch 50 calibers, but after the refit I ended up with the 3 inch gun and it has caused my deck gun crew spaces to disappear. It would be ok if I didn't use my deck gun, but it comes in handy so I kind of need it.

Is there a way to fix this? Or do I just need to accept it and wait till I can get a brand new fleet boat.

My mod list is as follows:

100_FotRSU v1.24
101 Patch v1.2-v1.26
650 LotsaDudz
901 Strategic Map Symbols
Fleetboat Interior Officers Quarters FOTRSU v1.1
Fl_OQ FOTRSU v1.2 compatibility

And thanks for the feedback/help yall!
Tucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2020, 11:29 PM   #2193
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 6,863
Downloads: 334
Uploads: 1


Default

Do you have a Save from coming into port just prior to the upgrade? Investigating your report, it is found that the gun name has a typo in it. If you have an S-18 boat, it happens going from the 4" to the 3" gun. If you have an S-42 boat, the same happens later when going from the 3" gun to the 5" gun - if you happen to still be in an S-Boat at that time. The 4" to 3" change should happen after August of 1942 though, not in February of 1943. How long has it been since you docked? If you have a Save prior to docking, let us know, and we'll try to get you squared away.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2020, 10:53 AM   #2194
Tucker
Seaman
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 31
Downloads: 44
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Do you have a Save from coming into port just prior to the upgrade? Investigating your report, it is found that the gun name has a typo in it. If you have an S-18 boat, it happens going from the 4" to the 3" gun. If you have an S-42 boat, the same happens later when going from the 3" gun to the 5" gun - if you happen to still be in an S-Boat at that time. The 4" to 3" change should happen after August of 1942 though, not in February of 1943. How long has it been since you docked? If you have a Save prior to docking, let us know, and we'll try to get you squared away.

Thanks for the quick response! And yes I have a save at the end of my patrol, prior to coming into port, and then the autosave when I left for my patrol.

Also I think I got the refit so late because in my past two patrols, ending in September and November, I was offered a new command, and then offered a flotilla command. Both of them I turned down. Waiting on Gato or Balao class. They keep offering me Salmons instead .

So to fix this do I need to load the autosave from the start of the patrol and swap out my 4in for 3in gun, so when I get the refit I dont loose my gun slots?

Thanks.
Tucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2020, 05:39 PM   #2195
J0313
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 752
Downloads: 1363
Uploads: 0
Default

When is the next version coming out?
J0313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2020, 05:40 PM   #2196
J0313
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 752
Downloads: 1363
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm waiting for the final no bull version. Then I'll start playing.
J0313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2020, 08:34 PM   #2197
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 6,863
Downloads: 334
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tucker View Post
Thanks for the quick response! And yes I have a save at the end of my patrol, prior to coming into port, and then the autosave when I left for my patrol.

Also I think I got the refit so late because in my past two patrols, ending in September and November, I was offered a new command, and then offered a flotilla command. Both of them I turned down. Waiting on Gato or Balao class. They keep offering me Salmons instead .

So to fix this do I need to load the autosave from the start of the patrol and swap out my 4in for 3in gun, so when I get the refit I dont loose my gun slots?

Thanks.
Well, I have replicated the issue, and I have attempted what I thought would be an easy text-based "fix" for you, that would put the problem out of its misery, but the game refuses to cooperate with me in that manner. Apparently once set, it is in stone. So what you can attempt to do is load that previous Save and get your gun crews back into the repair team slots, then dock and end patrol. Accept the gun. Save the game and exit. Note the time. Then use the technique in

Post 2027 - Possible Deck Gun Fix For Failed Balao Boat Upgrade:

But modify it for your boat and gun. You are messing with the Save file, so back-up that folder by copying and pasting it somewhere else for the "just-in-case" scenario. The S-18 (and 42) only have a bow gun, which since there isn't a stern torpedo room, the deck gun ends up in Compartment 6, instead of 7 & 8, so adjust accordingly. The gun should be listed as "3inch .50cal CannonSClass" though, while the fleet boats use the "3inch .50cal Cannon". I have not proven conclusively yet, as to whether the listing of the AcceptedTypes is the problem, or the typo in the 4" gun on the S-18 boat. I don't think I'm going to worry too much about it, since it is addressed for the next version, as are all of the guns. Most were correct, but the incorrect ones caused issues (S18, Balao & Tench) when upgrading. I don't think we have completely "fixed" the Stock and other mods' issue with losing crews and guns though, just improved the reliability some...


Quote:
Originally Posted by J0313 View Post
I'm waiting for the final no bull version. Then I'll start playing.
I don't know as there will ever be a "final no bull" version. We strive for perfection, but are far from it, being human. At this point, besides trying to troubleshoot, which is very important for future improvements & fixes, we do try to add some "bling" each time, as well as do some internal "tweaks" for game efficiency and uniformity, since FotRSU is huge. I just completed an S-18 patrol, checking and maybe fixing what Tucker just found. A video of an encounter in the next version will be going up on YouTube as I sleep tonight, and hopefully, if all goes well, it will be online by the morning, Eastern time. Most likely a three-parter due to YouTube not liking me anymore... but it will be of what we have for the next release, not that you'll notice much it being an S-18 featured, but the Part 2 of the video is the ASW response I got (no added mods), which for January 1943 "looks" about right... maybe. We'll need opinions on the vidz also... Several smaller escorts stay out of the way of the "real" ASW DD that I didn't even realize were nearby at the time of the attack, though I did suspect there were other ships lurking.

We were going to release the next version 2 weeks ago, and found more issues when fixing other things (top-secret kinda stuff), and then mazzi (thank you very much again) found us the problem with the guns not upgrading properly. All of the boats have been run through for those again, which will of course, ruin several add-in mods, including (but not limited to) vickers03's Officer's Country mod. This is why we didn't want to do add-in mods before certain aspects of the mod were "complete", but just when you think something is close to complete, someone finds some leftover skeletons in the closet, and a can of worms that has spoiled in the hot sun, so I would say we are at least 2 weeks away from a release, but this is a modder talking, ~and~ we will be closing on our houses and moving in the next two weeks, so if we hit Christmas, we'll be doing good...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2020, 10:10 PM   #2198
Michael Wood
Torpedoman
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 118
Downloads: 298
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
We were going to release the next version 2 weeks ago...

Hope hydrophone issue resolved, soon.
Michael Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2020, 10:50 PM   #2199
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 6,863
Downloads: 334
Uploads: 1


Default

Which one, Michael Wood? The one where the sonar lines show while you're on the surface, or the one where some of the installations don't function "reliably"? We were working on a future add-in mod for those that don't want sonar working when surfaced, but once again, need to get closer to a "finalized" sub files set once again.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2020, 02:02 PM   #2200
Macgregor the Hammer
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 263
Downloads: 413
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J0313 View Post
I'm waiting for the final no bull version. Then I'll start playing.
If you're waiting for a 'no bull' version, you're going to have a long wait! If you compare FotRSU to the original SH4, it's night and day.

The FotRSU team puts a considerable amount of energy into a great sim and takes great strides to keep perfecting and improving it On their own time!

IMHO

MacGregor

Addendum: I took J0313's comment out of context. Mea Culpa!

Last edited by Macgregor the Hammer; 11-14-2020 at 11:32 PM.
Macgregor the Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2020, 03:03 PM   #2201
Michael Wood
Torpedoman
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 118
Downloads: 298
Uploads: 0
Default The one where hydrophones work on the suraface!

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Which one, Michael Wood? The one where the sonar lines show while you're on the surface, or the one where some of the installations don't function "reliably"? We were working on a future add-in mod for those that don't want sonar working when surfaced, but once again, need to get closer to a "finalized" sub files set once again.

Good to know requested correction is still somewhere on list. Thanks.
Michael Wood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2020, 06:05 PM   #2202
Front Runner
Sonar Guy
 
Front Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The FREE State of FLORIDA
Posts: 386
Downloads: 192
Uploads: 0
Default Truth!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macgregor the Hammer View Post
If you're waiting for a 'no bull' version, you're going to have a long wait! If you compare FotRSU to the original SH4, it's night and day.

The FotRSU team puts a considerable amount of energy into a great sim and takes great strides to keep perfecting and improving it On their own time!

IMHO

MacGregor
TRUTH!

__________________
"It is well war is so terrible, lest we should grow too fond of it" - C.S.A. General Robert E. Lee
"Only the dead have seen the end of war" - Plato

Gone but not forgotten, RIP Dave "LeoVampire".
Front Runner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 04:32 PM   #2203
Jeffg
Exec
 
Jeffg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ponte vedra beach,fl
Posts: 215
Downloads: 1058
Uploads: 0
Default

I have one quick question hopefully somebody can answer, I had an SSd drivenfailure and had to replace It. I had to wipe off everything on the 1 TB drive and now when I reinstall SH4 and FOTRUS with the latest patch and the officer’s quarters mod 1000_Fleetboat_Interior-Officers_Quarters_FOTRSU_v1.1_EN and compatibility patch nothing shows up. When you Go from the control room through the hatch it’s the same old U-boat compartment. My question is what am I doing wrong and what can I do to fix it as I want the officers quarters back?
Specs,
AMD Ryzen 5 2600 6 core processor
32 gig ram
Nvida GeForce RTX 2060
Windows 10 64 bit
Thank you,
Jeffg
__________________
Jeff Gerbert
Jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 05:05 PM   #2204
KaleunMarco
Sea Lord
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 1,686
Downloads: 322
Uploads: 12


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeffg View Post
I have one quick question hopefully somebody can answer, I had an SSd drivenfailure and had to replace It. I had to wipe off everything on the 1 TB drive and now when I reinstall SH4 and FOTRUS with the latest patch and the officer’s quarters mod 1000_Fleetboat_Interior-Officers_Quarters_FOTRSU_v1.1_EN and compatibility patch nothing shows up. When you Go from the control room through the hatch it’s the same old U-boat compartment. My question is what am I doing wrong and what can I do to fix it as I want the officers quarters back?
Specs,
AMD Ryzen 5 2600 6 core processor
32 gig ram
Nvida GeForce RTX 2060
Windows 10 64 bit
Thank you,
Jeffg
Jeffg,

please send the JSGME mod list: Task-Export-To Clipboard then paste that into your post here.

thanks!

km
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is online   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2020, 05:54 PM   #2205
Jeffg
Exec
 
Jeffg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ponte vedra beach,fl
Posts: 215
Downloads: 1058
Uploads: 0
Default

Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\Silent Hunter Wolves of the Pacific\MODS]

100_FalloftheRisingSun_UltimateEdition_v1.24_EN
FI_OQ_FOTRSU_v1.2_EN
101_Patch_v1.2To_v1.26p


JeffG
__________________
Jeff Gerbert
Jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.