SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-17, 03:49 PM   #1
totheorder
Mate
 
totheorder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Treasure Island, fl
Posts: 52
Downloads: 115
Uploads: 5


Default AI Ship Freeze

Good Day fellas,

I'm currently working on releasing some single player missions for SH5. I am having an issue during testing which reveals many of the AI enemy ships to suddenly stop engines and sit still. I have assigned enough waypoints, even lopped waypoints with the same result. I am trying to run a process of elimination to isolate the cause. I do remember this happened a few times within the campaign over the years during gameplay. I am using the latest IRAI mod. One thing I can say is that this seems to be occurring more frequently in shallow waters, but in plenty of depth for the User controlled sub to roam. Any ideas?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
MY WORK >>>
RUSTED GLORY SH5
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4928
RUSTED GLORY SH5 (lights only & no rusted exteriors)
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5311
STAINED BEAUTY SH5
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5152
RAISED REVENGE SH5
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5314
totheorder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-17, 04:27 AM   #2
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,078
Downloads: 581
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by totheorder View Post
Good Day fellas,

I'm currently working on releasing some single player missions for SH5. I am having an issue during testing which reveals many of the AI enemy ships to suddenly stop engines and sit still. I have assigned enough waypoints, even lopped waypoints with the same result. I am trying to run a process of elimination to isolate the cause. I do remember this happened a few times within the campaign over the years during gameplay. I am using the latest IRAI mod. One thing I can say is that this seems to be occurring more frequently in shallow waters, but in plenty of depth for the User controlled sub to roam. Any ideas?
Note that AI can not operate when it is very close to the ground, if it's frontal projected path is intersected with coast line at any moment, the AI will simply get stuck . This is especially true when AI uses his own random scripts for navigation in shallow waters near shore (trying to chase down something, evading ect ). For mission without these issues you'll have to set your theater at least 20 km from the nearest coast line...

Last edited by vdr1981; 01-21-17 at 12:15 PM.
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-17, 12:43 PM   #3
totheorder
Mate
 
totheorder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Treasure Island, fl
Posts: 52
Downloads: 115
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vdr1981 View Post
Note that AI can not operate when it is very close to the ground, if it's frontal projected path is intersected with coast line at any moment, the AI will simply get stuck . This is especially true when AI uses his own random scripts for navigation in shallow waters near shore (trying to chase down something, evading ect ). For mission without these issues you'll have to set your theater at least 20 km from the nearest coast line...
That makes a lot of sense seeing how I was trying to create a mission called Return to Scapa Flow. The ships in the middle of Scapa were steaming fine where as the others closer to the shore were stuck. I suppose I'll abandon this mission and recreate a similar combat scenario else where. Thanks
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
MY WORK >>>
RUSTED GLORY SH5
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=4928
RUSTED GLORY SH5 (lights only & no rusted exteriors)
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5311
STAINED BEAUTY SH5
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5152
RAISED REVENGE SH5
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5314
totheorder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.