SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2020, 07:46 PM   #1
Bubblehead1980
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 4,804
Downloads: 443
Uploads: 21
Default Mark 16 wake

Trying to make the Mark 16 in TMO have no wake since understand is in real life torpedo was wakeless. Someone once made it wakeless visually but ships could still detect it (defeats purpose) and want to remedy this. Have tried but seems messed things up somehow, CTD or does not show up at all. Anyone?

While none were actually used in war, the torpedo was included in the sim, might as well use it. Believe for high cost of renown, the additional explosive power combined with long range and no wake would add to the late war play in the sim. Kind of a waste to use torpedo at long range in daytime or shooting through the screens since wake gives it away, targets change speed course etc. Especially against the convoys on China coast.
Bubblehead1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2020, 04:17 PM   #2
Gray Lensman
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 262
Downloads: 87
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubblehead1980 View Post
Trying to make the Mark 16 in TMO have no wake since understand is in real life torpedo was wakeless. Someone once made it wakeless visually but ships could still detect it (defeats purpose) and want to remedy this. Have tried but seems messed things up somehow, CTD or does not show up at all. Anyone?

While none were actually used in war, the torpedo was included in the sim, might as well use it. Believe for high cost of renown, the additional explosive power combined with long range and no wake would add to the late war play in the sim. Kind of a waste to use torpedo at long range in daytime or shooting through the screens since wake gives it away, targets change speed course etc. Especially against the convoys on China coast.

Are you confusing this with the Mk18 electric torpedo? The Mk16 was essentially a remake of the Mk14 using the same propellent, hydrogen peroxide. The Mk18 was a wakeless electric torpedo modeled after captured German electric torpedoes
__________________
.

Member since February 2007

Wargaming since 1971 (1st game Avalon Hill's Stalingrad)

Hobby/Gaming Computng since 1977 (TRS-80) (adhoc programming & game modding ever since)
Gray Lensman is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 06:20 PM   #3
Bubblehead1980
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 4,804
Downloads: 443
Uploads: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray Lensman View Post
Are you confusing this with the Mk18 electric torpedo? The Mk16 was essentially a remake of the Mk14 using the same propellent, hydrogen peroxide. The Mk18 was a wakeless electric torpedo modeled after captured German electric torpedoes


No, talking about Mark 16. Mark 14 was powered by a wet heater steam turbine, left a visible bubble wake. Mark 16, while a remake in many ways of the Mark 14 was powered by hydrogen peroxide, which have read in the past left little to no visible wake. In the game it has the same wake as Mark 14 and 23, making it really not worth the cost once available. Since in the sim there is no gray area, they see the wake or do not, would rather it not have one. Issue is when fixed it long ago, enemy ships still spotted the Mark 16 without a visible wake, but they still saw it. So tried some fixes, clones but did not work.
Bubblehead1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 08:27 PM   #4
ETR3(SS)
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Between test depth and periscope depth
Posts: 2,977
Downloads: 174
Uploads: 16


Default

Mk 16 definitely leaves a wake as it uses a combustion engine.
__________________


USS Kentucky SSBN 737 (G)
Comms Div 2003-2006
Qualified 19 November 03

Yes I was really on a submarine.
ETR3(SS) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 09:26 PM   #5
Bubblehead1980
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 4,804
Downloads: 443
Uploads: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETR3(SS) View Post
Mk 16 definitely leaves a wake as it uses a combustion engine.
Makes sense, but have read it left very little or no wake. Would that be inaccurate?
Bubblehead1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 10:02 PM   #6
KaleunMarco
The Old Man
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 1,479
Downloads: 307
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubblehead1980 View Post
Makes sense, but have read it left very little or no wake. Would that be inaccurate?
the only thing that i can think of to convert the Mk16 to act like it has no wake is to borrow the wake data from the Mk18. i believe that data is stored in the Torpedoes_US.dat file although i cannot find the parameter that controls the visible wake. my eyes are crossed at comparing the Mk16 to the Mk18.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 09:02 AM   #7
ETR3(SS)
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Between test depth and periscope depth
Posts: 2,977
Downloads: 174
Uploads: 16


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bubblehead1980 View Post
Makes sense, but have read it left very little or no wake. Would that be inaccurate?
I would say so, yes. Though I am interested if you run across that source again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaleunMarco View Post
the only thing that i can think of to convert the Mk16 to act like it has no wake is to borrow the wake data from the Mk18. i believe that data is stored in the Torpedoes_US.dat file although i cannot find the parameter that controls the visible wake. my eyes are crossed at comparing the Mk16 to the Mk18.
The entry in the dat file is linked to a ShipWake entry in the sim file. There are 6 US torpedoes and only 4 entries for a ShipWake, remove a ShipWake entry and you remove it for in game.
__________________


USS Kentucky SSBN 737 (G)
Comms Div 2003-2006
Qualified 19 November 03

Yes I was really on a submarine.
ETR3(SS) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 09:20 AM   #8
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 6,639
Downloads: 320
Uploads: 1


Default

NavWeaps Torpedoes of the United States of America - World War II
"The Westinghouse version of the captured German G7e. Had the advantage of being trackless..."
I thought the 18 was wakeless in TMO, as well as FotRSU?? I haven't been watching them very closely lately though... - I am not certain of the enemy Visual AI and their acuity for picking up the torps though, since they still "dodge" the wake-less... like superman, able to use their X-Ray vision, or maybe their super-hearing ability as soon as they are fired... ??
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 10:36 AM   #9
Gray Lensman
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 262
Downloads: 87
Uploads: 0
Default

Interesting read here: (original Mk16 could go much faster than 46 kts)



http://www.uss-irex.info/docs/doc-69.html
__________________
.

Member since February 2007

Wargaming since 1971 (1st game Avalon Hill's Stalingrad)

Hobby/Gaming Computng since 1977 (TRS-80) (adhoc programming & game modding ever since)
Gray Lensman is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 10:40 AM   #10
Gray Lensman
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 262
Downloads: 87
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETR3(SS) View Post
Mk 16 definitely leaves a wake as it uses a combustion engine.

The newer Mk48s use an internal combustion engine. Do they leave a wake?
__________________
.

Member since February 2007

Wargaming since 1971 (1st game Avalon Hill's Stalingrad)

Hobby/Gaming Computng since 1977 (TRS-80) (adhoc programming & game modding ever since)
Gray Lensman is online   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2020, 12:09 PM   #11
KaleunMarco
The Old Man
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 1,479
Downloads: 307
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray Lensman View Post
The newer Mk48s use an internal combustion engine. Do they leave a wake?
not my area of expertise but.....didn't we lose the scorpion because of a torpedo battery issue? i realize that the scorpion was not carrying the the "newer" -48 but the -48 has been around a long time.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 09:25 AM   #12
ETR3(SS)
Ocean Warrior
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Between test depth and periscope depth
Posts: 2,977
Downloads: 174
Uploads: 16


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gray Lensman View Post
The newer Mk48s use an internal combustion engine. Do they leave a wake?
Haven't seen one running on the surface but I would presume so. Not that it would matter if it left a wake or not as the launch transient and the torpedo itself would make enough noise to be picked up by sonar.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KaleunMarco View Post
not my area of expertise but.....didn't we lose the scorpion because of a torpedo battery issue? i realize that the scorpion was not carrying the the "newer" -48 but the -48 has been around a long time.
One of the many postulated reasons was the battery from a Mk 37 torpedo. I believe the leading credible reason was a hydrogen leak from the ships battery that ignited and caused an explosion.
__________________


USS Kentucky SSBN 737 (G)
Comms Div 2003-2006
Qualified 19 November 03

Yes I was really on a submarine.
ETR3(SS) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 05:36 PM   #13
KaleunMarco
The Old Man
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 1,479
Downloads: 307
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETR3(SS) View Post
The entry in the dat file is linked to a ShipWake entry in the sim file. There are 6 US torpedoes and only 4 entries for a ShipWake, remove a ShipWake entry and you remove it for in game.
thank you for this hint. i have been trying to figure out wakes for quite some time.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 05:47 PM   #14
KaleunMarco
The Old Man
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 1,479
Downloads: 307
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETR3(SS) View Post
The entry in the dat file is linked to a ShipWake entry in the sim file. There are 6 US torpedoes and only 4 entries for a ShipWake, remove a ShipWake entry and you remove it for in game.
let me ask you this, since you are adept enough to know about torpedo wakes.

i am playing We Dive at Dawn and would like to add the Mk27 to the only torpedo available which is the Mark 16. there is only one sub type available, the Triton class.
i've ensured that the Mk27 is available in the Triton.upc and i have added the torpedo into the Ammunition.upc.
the Torpedos_US files are the same as in Stock-SH4 so there was nothing to add/change there.
the Mk27 will display in the torpedo selection screen while we are in port so i can add it to the inventory.
however when i actually fire it, SH4 goes CTD.
clearly, i am missing at least one more item.
any help you provide will be appreciated.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.
Fortiter et stabilis et fidelis, semper


------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 32 GB Ram running Win10
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2020, 10:03 PM   #15
Bubblehead1980
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Florida USA
Posts: 4,804
Downloads: 443
Uploads: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ETR3(SS) View Post
I would say so, yes. Though I am interested if you run across that source again.

The entry in the dat file is linked to a ShipWake entry in the sim file. There are 6 US torpedoes and only 4 entries for a ShipWake, remove a ShipWake entry and you remove it for in game.
I am searching for it, it was over five years ago, had it bookmarked but lost that when old pc crashed. Could have sworn it was navweaps but checked it already.

Surely, the wake would not be as noticeable as say a Mark 14?
Bubblehead1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim