SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-03-2021, 12:29 PM   #13786
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 153,809
Downloads: 61
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirrvs View Post
I believe it just means that it's not a good idea to enable the addon and then load a savegame at sea in the middle of a mission because that can cause glitches. Better to wait until your savegame is in port, then enable the addon, then set sail. No need to disable it each session.
Rgr that
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2021, 03:44 PM   #13787
SixthFall
Seaman
 
SixthFall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 37
Downloads: 122
Uploads: 0
Icon14

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirrvs View Post
Thanks, I found an option to put the name and type of ship on the periscope (as in my screenshot below), but specifically, I was wondering if there's a way to automatically bring up the targeted ship in the recognition book, in case I want more info on the ship? I tried clicking on the name, but it didn't do anything.
Sorry for the late reply, but it's here: go to the SOAN tab, enable the option that says "automatically enable charts and open SOAN to identified unit" then once you lock the target, open the weapons officer tab on the officer bar in game, click the button to identify the target and it will open up the recognition manual to the correct page for ya.
SixthFall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2021, 10:17 PM   #13788
Macgregor the Hammer
Chief
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 325
Downloads: 465
Uploads: 1
Default

Does 2.2.24 still use thermal layers? I've gone to ~150m and yet to find one. I've been in the Baltic, which is unlikely, North Sea, Norway Sea and the Atlantic and without any luck.

Insights?
__________________
"It's impossible to make anything fool proof....Fools are too ingenious!"
Macgregor the Hammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2021, 11:52 PM   #13789
Sirrvs
Seaman
 
Sirrvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 38
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SixthFall View Post
Sorry for the late reply, but it's here: go to the SOAN tab, enable the option that says "automatically enable charts and open SOAN to identified unit" then once you lock the target, open the weapons officer tab on the officer bar in game, click the button to identify the target and it will open up the recognition manual to the correct page for ya.
No worries, thanks, it works great now!
Sirrvs is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 04:53 AM   #13790
Belmondo
Torpedoman
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 120
Downloads: 722
Uploads: 0
Default

Excuse me is there a more readable and larger compass?
__________________
Leutnant z.S. kimanu-96
Belmondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 05:33 AM   #13791
GrenSo
Loader
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Germany
Posts: 88
Downloads: 191
Uploads: 2


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belmondo View Post
Excuse me is there a more readable and larger compass?

What do you mean exactly?
__________________
My system for sub diving
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 3800X, CPU-Kühler: be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4, Board: MSI MEG X570 Unify, RAM: 4x 8GB Patriot Viper 4 Blackout (DDR4-3200 CL16-18-18-36), GraKa: XFX Radeon RX 5600 XT Thicc III Ultra, Tower: be quiet! Dark Base Pro 900 Rev. 2, PSU: be quiet! Straight Power 11 (750W)
GrenSo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 08:05 AM   #13792
Belmondo
Torpedoman
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 120
Downloads: 722
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrenSo View Post
What do you mean exactly?
I mean the larger compass dial.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bez tytułu.jpg (90.0 KB, 31 views)
__________________
Leutnant z.S. kimanu-96

Last edited by Belmondo; 04-16-2021 at 07:24 AM.
Belmondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2021, 08:25 AM   #13793
Sirrvs
Seaman
 
Sirrvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 38
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SixthFall View Post
Sorry for the late reply, but it's here: go to the SOAN tab, enable the option that says "automatically enable charts and open SOAN to identified unit" then once you lock the target, open the weapons officer tab on the officer bar in game, click the button to identify the target and it will open up the recognition manual to the correct page for ya.
Thanks again for this! But just wondering, is it normal that for some ships the auto-identification and the recognition manual don't work? For example, I was playing last night and my officer identified a troop transport with no problem, and it brought up the manual automatically. But then a Granville freighter came along and when I clicked "Identify target", nothing happened. No name, no recognition manual. I had to identify it the manual way (turning auto-TDC off). I think I read somewhere this might have something to do with "cloned" ships but wasn't sure what that meant.
Sirrvs is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2021, 04:20 AM   #13794
vdr1981
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 6,059
Downloads: 571
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirrvs View Post
Thanks again for this! But just wondering, is it normal that for some ships the auto-identification and the recognition manual don't work? For example, I was playing last night and my officer identified a troop transport with no problem, and it brought up the manual automatically. But then a Granville freighter came along and when I clicked "Identify target", nothing happened. No name, no recognition manual. I had to identify it the manual way (turning auto-TDC off). I think I read somewhere this might have something to do with "cloned" ships but wasn't sure what that meant.
Yes, it's normal since in some cases multiple cloned units have only one common rec.manual entry...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2021, 08:25 AM   #13795
Wolfynator
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 1
Downloads: 16
Uploads: 0
Support Need help with tutorial

Hi, I just installed this mod and going through the tutorial scripts, but I'm stuck at the "manual tdc 90 deg" one. It asks me to press space to track the target and a yellow marker appears on the map, but after 10mins in-game-time the yellow marker is still at the exact same spot.

Am I supposed to update the position somehow? The yellow marker doesn't even have the correct bearing as reported by XO.

Edit: After messing around, I think I got it figured out. Yellow marker was not the target but a map fix of my current location, and I have to manually calculate the location of the target on the map.

Last edited by Wolfynator; 04-18-2021 at 08:42 PM.
Wolfynator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2021, 03:48 PM   #13796
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 20,985
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default welcome aboard!

Wolfynator!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite; The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe"
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2021, 04:25 PM   #13797
Reuds
Nub
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 2
Downloads: 15
Uploads: 0
Default

Ahoi everyone,
I ran into a problem. I lost my CD so I bought a Uplay key, installed Sh5, it worked just fine, but after installing TWOS, when I try to open the game with Uplay Connect, it prepares the launch, and then I a get a window saying: "Game startup failed. Please check Uplay installation. If I try to start the game through the exe, Uplay wants me to give in an activation key? But if I enter my Key it says it is already used, I mean, of course, I used it to activate it into my Libary. Had anyone else related Problems and knows how to solve it?

EDIT: Don´t be a Reuds, read the Instructions.
Reuds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2021, 11:55 PM   #13798
Lugermann
Seaman
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Danzig (Deutsches Reich)
Posts: 39
Downloads: 105
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belmondo View Post
Excuse me is there a more readable and larger compass?
No mods, only changing two parameters in TWoS OFEV:


SH3 style:



The compass maximize only when I move the cursor over the compass.

[

SH5 Enhanced style:



Repeat: no mods, only changing parameters in OFEV.
__________________
Freiwillig zur Kriegsmarine

Last edited by Lugermann; 04-20-2021 at 12:08 AM.
Lugermann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2021, 08:40 AM   #13799
Sirrvs
Seaman
 
Sirrvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 38
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lugermann View Post
No mods, only changing two parameters in TWoS OFEV:
Actually, while your dials are the same size as the default ones, they do look different. I quite like them. Are they part of a mod?
Sirrvs is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.