SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2019, 09:28 AM   #1
NeonsStyle
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 195
Downloads: 140
Uploads: 0
Default Save File Failed/Can't Start

Hey,

I've been trying to start a new career. I tried it with FOTR, and also with
TMO 2.5 but both fail to save when in port. On top of that, when you get to
choose where you want to depart from, Docs or Outside, and click Start, nothing happens. No matter what, it won't launch into the submarine.

I'm not new to this, been playing this for years. Anyone know what's going on? The game just says Save Game Failed! There's plenty of space on the drive, 9gb free game disk, and 200gb on C: drive where it saves the game.

This is my mod list:

1_TriggerMaru_Overhaul_2-5
Aspect Ratio 16 to 9
Bigger Better Protractors
HI RES RED FIN BALAO
Enviromental 5.0 mod
WEBSTER's Better Air Patrols for v1.4 and v1.5
WEBSTER's Faster Time Compression Near Land for v1.4 and v1.5
WEBSTER's Transparent Orders Box for v1.4 or v1.5
Dark Recognitionmanual
__________________
NeonsStyle - YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/NeonsStyle...e_polymer=true

Hit me up in the Comments or Discussion on my channel or message me on:
NeonsStyle is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 03:14 PM   #2
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,165
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

Which version of SH4 do you have? What folder do you have the game installed in? If you have v1.4 of the game, TMO 2.5 is not compatible. You shouldn't need the "Aspect Ratio 16 to 9" in the newer versions of the game at all. If you have an LCD monitor, it has a "native" resolution, which Windows will show as "recommended". That is what you want to set Windows to. Once in the game (without that "Aspect Ratio 16 to 9" mod activated) and at the main menu, choose Options, then Graphic Settings, and in the drop-down box for the game's resolution, you should find a setting that will match the Windows "recommended" setting. That's what you want. Apply, then Back and Back and exit the game. Re-start the game, and you should have a full-screen SH4 without having to do any add-in mods for, ala SH3...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 03:38 AM   #3
NeonsStyle
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 195
Downloads: 140
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Which version of SH4 do you have? What folder do you have the game installed in? If you have v1.4 of the game, TMO 2.5 is not compatible. You shouldn't need the "Aspect Ratio 16 to 9" in the newer versions of the game at all. :
Hey propbeanie,

I have 1.5 version with the Uboat expansion from steam. Full screen was not my problem. My problem was the game fails to save game, and when you get the choice to spawn dockside or outside the harbour, it fails to start when you press Start
. I still can't play at all.

Removing the Aspect mod had no effect!
__________________
NeonsStyle - YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/NeonsStyle...e_polymer=true

Hit me up in the Comments or Discussion on my channel or message me on:

Last edited by NeonsStyle; 08-13-2019 at 04:08 AM.
NeonsStyle is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 06:37 AM   #4
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,165
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

Have you deleted the Save folder? By default, that would be "C:\Users \Username \Documents \SH4". The game actually pulls a lot of its data from that folder to run. After deleting the Save folder, can you run the game? Are you able to run a "Quick" or Single Mission? Did you install the DirectX v9.0c and Windows Media files when you installed the game?

If you can't get going after clearing the Save folder, then I would recommend de-activating all of your mods, and trying the Stock game by itself, and see if it will allow you to Save. If you get operational, add the mods back in one at a time and test again. If you're still no-go after de-activating the mods, then a re-install of the game, and trying stock would be in order = after you clear that Save folder again.

Now that I think about it, where are you when you're trying to Save the game? Are you in the office, or on the boat? Can you Save from a Single Mission?
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 09:22 AM   #5
NeonsStyle
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 195
Downloads: 140
Uploads: 0
Default

Solved. It was a mod causing the problem. Which one I'm not sure. However it's fixed now. Thanks
__________________
NeonsStyle - YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/NeonsStyle...e_polymer=true

Hit me up in the Comments or Discussion on my channel or message me on:
NeonsStyle is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 10:05 AM   #6
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,165
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

Glad you're going! Now, you have to make another post, or forever be known by that avatar for "Wild Night in Bangkok"... yeesh!
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 12:57 PM   #7
NeonsStyle
Planesman
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: South Australia
Posts: 195
Downloads: 140
Uploads: 0
Icon8

OMG who put that on me? When I posted this, it was a gruff old sailor. Jeez some ppl give you the ****s.
__________________
NeonsStyle - YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/NeonsStyle...e_polymer=true

Hit me up in the Comments or Discussion on my channel or message me on:
NeonsStyle is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 01:12 PM   #8
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,165
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

you're good now, as "planesman"... until the next transition comes in... If I'm remembering, it has something to do with Shanghai...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim