SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2019, 05:59 AM   #1
glilley
Bosun
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mount Olive, NC
Posts: 65
Downloads: 84
Uploads: 0
Default Unexpected error (13:6)

Hmmm...Downloaded SH4 Gold ed back in 2013 from Gamerocket and have installed/run it on WinXP SP3 box and several months ago on my Win10 box without ever seeing this. Went to load same on my new Dell LT (Win10) with latest NVIDIA drivers and after putting in serial code, get the subject error. I run it as administrator and have tried changing compat to XP SP3 and Win 7 and changed DPI settings with no joy.



SH4 is running fine on my Win10 PC without any changes in the compatibility tab. Anyone run into this with a fix?

Last edited by glilley; 07-24-2019 at 06:50 AM. Reason: add info
glilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 07:43 AM   #2
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,157
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

You will probably have to contact Ubisoft tech support for your location. The Uboat Missions Addon purchase was apparently "limited" in its use. My original purchase of that download was from Ubisoft, and after ten or twelve (??) installations over the years, it quit "authorizing". When I contacted Ubisoft tech support, they gave me a new download, with a new license... Hopefully, that's all you've got there.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 08:00 AM   #3
glilley
Bosun
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mount Olive, NC
Posts: 65
Downloads: 84
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
You will probably have to contact Ubisoft tech support for your location. The Uboat Missions Addon purchase was apparently "limited" in its use. My original purchase of that download was from Ubisoft, and after ten or twelve (??) installations over the years, it quit "authorizing". When I contacted Ubisoft tech support, they gave me a new download, with a new license... Hopefully, that's all you've got there.
Well, bummer. I downloaded the game from Gamerocket so I doubt Ubisoft will help but will try. Its worked great through many installs. Almost enough to make an old guy go back to board games. Thanks!
glilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 01:31 PM   #4
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,157
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

They will probably help you out, no problem. It took them like three or four days to answer me, and at that, you do NOT get email notification, but rather have to log-in to your Ubisoft account - which if you don't have one, you'll have to create one to open a support ticket...
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2019, 09:13 PM   #5
glilley
Bosun
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mount Olive, NC
Posts: 65
Downloads: 84
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
They will probably help you out, no problem. It took them like three or four days to answer me, and at that, you do NOT get email notification, but rather have to log-in to your Ubisoft account - which if you don't have one, you'll have to create one to open a support ticket...
Of course, I might just purchase the Gold Ed thru Subsim store and go fresh. I definitely got my $20 worth the first time around.
glilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 06:42 PM   #6
cdrsubron7
Sink'em All
 
cdrsubron7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 2,354
Downloads: 291
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glilley View Post
Of course, I might just purchase the Gold Ed thru Subsim store and go fresh. I definitely got my $20 worth the first time around.

Just asking, do you have DX 9.0c installed? SH4 needs it in order to run correcty.
__________________



Head Deep and Keep'em Astern" - LtCDR Samuel D Dealy
SHIV Guide | Imperial Japanese Navy | US Submarines



cdrsubron7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 06:48 PM   #7
glilley
Bosun
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mount Olive, NC
Posts: 65
Downloads: 84
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdrsubron7 View Post
Just asking, do you have DX 9.0c installed? SH4 needs it in order to run correcty.
Oh yeah. Watched it install each time I wiped and reloaded the game.
glilley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2019, 06:56 PM   #8
cdrsubron7
Sink'em All
 
cdrsubron7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Posts: 2,354
Downloads: 291
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by glilley View Post
Oh yeah. Watched it install each time I wiped and reloaded the game.

Had to ask, I just finished upgrading my computer a few days ago and when I started SH4 for the first time it would not play. Forgot to installed DX 9.0c again.
__________________



Head Deep and Keep'em Astern" - LtCDR Samuel D Dealy
SHIV Guide | Imperial Japanese Navy | US Submarines



cdrsubron7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim