SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2019, 01:17 PM   #106
Gerardius
Nub
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default The final solution for SH4 and Windows 10

Hi guys,

Although I signed up for Subsim about 12 years ago, I didn't participate much, partly because I didn't have much to contribute, partly because my poor english.

The fact is that after many years without using SH4, I decided to reinstall it and, although the installation went well, when I accessed the simulator I could only see the Ubisoft logo and the introduction, after which my screen became black. As my version was the original 1.0 on DVD, I bought the most current version, the Gold. After uninstalling the old one and reinstalling the new one (v 1.5) I still had the same problem.

I have read a lot here, in the Ubisoft forums, videos on Youtube that partly solve the problem but only allow you to use it in window mode at a resolution of 1024x768, which for me is unacceptable.

Ubisoft's support was nefarious, because after opening a ticket they only gave me some generic links on how to activate the compatibility mode we all know.

So I was about to throw in the towel and uninstall it when it occurred to me to test the compatibility mode and I found the solution.

This simply consists of activating the compatibility with XP ServicePack 2 and, the most important thing: activate the box "Disable full screen optimizations"... and I already have SH4 working at maximum resolution and with the maximum configuration of all effects and visual improvements.

Well, excuse me for this long post and I sincerely hope that it will help you to enjoy this wonderful simulator again.

And if someone already proposed this solution and I missed it, I apologize.

Greetings and good sea for all

Gerard
Gerardius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 02:36 PM   #107
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,882
Downloads: 1006
Uploads: 0


Default

A Warm Welcome Back To The Subsim Community > Gerardius
Subsim <> Make A Donation <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community
SH3 – 4 - 5 Tutorials > Downloads > Other Useful Information > See Links in My Signature Below

SH4 should not need a compatibility mode for Windows 10.
It is important that your gpu is setup correctly.
Changing The Nvidia GPU Settings > Essential Settings > Pictorial
Microsoft updating you drivers is the most likely cause of your problem.

Additional option if problem remains.
Post #15 How To Change DPI Scaling Having Changed The GPU Settings And You Still Have A Problem

Post #13 Large Adress Aware (LAA) Easy Install > Pictorial Essential application

How To Run The SH5.exe As Administrator > Pictorial
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 03:32 PM   #108
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 135,217
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 11


Default

Great first post Gerardius
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is online   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2019, 04:14 PM   #109
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,269
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

Gerardius!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 05:04 AM   #110
mikesn9
Ensign

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Sarasota Florida
Posts: 226
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 0
Default

Welcome aboard!
__________________


I spent the cold war under water.
mikesn9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2019, 08:51 AM   #111
Gerardius
Nub
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you all for your warm welcome. I only hope to have contributed to all those who had problems using SH4 in Windows 10 64 bits.

Regarding the compatibility mode with Windows XP Servicepack 2, THEBERBSTER is right that it is not necessary, I have tested it and it works perfectly.

But it is essential to check the box "Disable full screen optimizations".

As for the configuration of the nVidia graph, it is not necessary to make any modifications either by nVidia Inspector or by the nVidia Control Panel. The only thing I did was to add SH4.exe to the list of applications in the 3D configuration of the nvidia control panel because if not, in my laptop MSI used by default the integrated Intel graphics, and the performance was terrible.

Now the SH4 simulator has excellent performance. When I get home I'll let you know the exact fps.

Greetings and good sea for all
Gerardius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 05:54 AM   #112
GalaxianFive
Bosun
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norwich UK
Posts: 67
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 2
Default Error 13;6

I know all about the compatability modes and how to acess them, the problem is I try to run SH4 all I get is the screen asking for the serial No, I fill in the boxes then get error 13;6 and it shuts down. Michael.
GalaxianFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2019, 07:06 PM   #113
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,126
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

Where did you get your game? Do you have a serial number for it? Have you attempted to contact the seller? Ubisoft?
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 09:47 AM   #114
GalaxianFive
Bosun
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norwich UK
Posts: 67
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 2
Default Error 13;6

mine is an original game on disc, bought when the game was first released and the U-boat addon is also a pre steam download, both have serial Nos and both have the same result, I have opened a support ticket at Ubisoft support and am waiting for replie, Michael
GalaxianFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 10:07 AM   #115
hauangua
Grey Wolf
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 848
Downloads: 1282
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GalaxianFive View Post
mine is an original game on disc, bought when the game was first released and the U-boat addon is also a pre steam download, both have serial Nos and both have the same result, I have opened a support ticket at Ubisoft support and am waiting for replie, Michael
Is it the original DVD or is it a copied / mastered DVD?
Have you modified hardware PC (graphic card for example )

Error: 13:6
The 13:6 error indicates a problem with the DRM (Digital Rights Management) / unlocking process.

This error typically occurs when the computer is missing a driver which enables the unlock code to be verified. To resolve this, please go to the following site: http://www.tagesprotection.com/main.htm

Then click on "Drivers". You can update to the latest version; be sure to select 64bit or 32bit, according to your OS.

Afterwards, be sure that you are connected to the Internet, and please try unlocking the game again.
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup

Last edited by hauangua; 04-01-2019 at 10:25 AM.
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 06:41 PM   #116
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,126
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

Eh... I think he's got one of the old old versions, like v1.0 whatever it was, and the disk is required when the game runs, until he gets it up to v1.4... maybe. Have you tried that GalaxianFive? Run the game with the disk in the drive from where you originally installed the game on this computer? also, did you install DirectX v9.0c that came on the disk?
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 04:39 AM   #117
GalaxianFive
Bosun
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norwich UK
Posts: 67
Downloads: 143
Uploads: 2
Default Error 13;6

Thanks to all that tried to help, yes it was the Tages that needed updating for a 64bit machine, now works perfectly. Michael.
GalaxianFive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 12:10 AM   #118
Drakomis
Narwhaling the highways..
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Mableton, GA
Posts: 22
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

I have windows 10 Professional 64-bit and an AMD FX-8350, with an AMD RX 580 GPU, and it works perfect. Only issues I experience is too many mods (so far GTO and the Narwhal mod work great).
Drakomis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim