SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2018, 03:53 PM   #46
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,881
Downloads: 1006
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi ETR
I do not use STEAM so I have no experience as to how it needs to be installed.
Apart from Post #7 which you are referring to which I have amended accordingly there is also Post #3 by propbeanie
Peter
THEBERBSTER is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2018, 10:21 PM   #47
chopped50ford
Weps
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 367
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
Icon8 Frustrating - Not getting torpedo hits

Is there a familiar 'bug' in this package of mods? or could it be the 'normal' setting I'm using. I am using this 'complete' mod per the directions.

I have been trying to torpedo ships (see picture below), and ALL of my torpedoes pass under the ships or pass through the ships w/out detonation.

I have had torpedoes go right through the middle of the hulls from straight on bow to stern and port to starboard.

I have tried both modes of contact detonation.

I have set their depths from 5' down to 11' depending on draft of ship.

I have had 3 battles/scenarios w/ no luck getting hits when there were obvious hits each time.

I approach using Dick O'Kanes method of attack each time w/ perfection.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Both ships I got 'hits' ...

__________________
TM2(SS)
USS Asheville - Plankowner, Shellback, "Order of the Ditch"

http://ths-i.com/

Last edited by chopped50ford; 12-20-2018 at 08:26 AM.
chopped50ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2018, 10:46 PM   #48
hauangua
Grey Wolf
 
hauangua's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Verona, Italy
Posts: 848
Downloads: 1282
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chopped50ford View Post
Is there a familiar 'bug' in this package of mods? or could it be the 'normal' setting I'm using. I am using this 'complete' mod per the directions.

I have been trying to torpedo ships (see picture below), and ALL of my torpedoes pass under the ships or pass through the ships w/out detonation.

I have had torpedoes go right through the middle of the hulls from straight on bow to stern and port to starboard.

I have tried both modes of contact detonation.

I have set their depths from 5' down to 11' depending on draft of ship.

I have had 3 battles/scenarios w/ no luck getting hits when there were obvious hits each time.

I approach using Dick O'Kanes method of attack each time w/ perfection.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Both ships I got 'hits' ...

Your mod list?
__________________
Parked under the balcony with my U-27 waiting Juliet finish makeup
hauangua is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 03:45 AM   #49
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,881
Downloads: 1006
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi h
Not something I have had a problem with as such but I can understand the circumstances as to why it maybe happening.
The Americans had major problems with their torpedoes which took a while to sort out.
This will be replicated in your game to some extent but not to every torpedo.

Firing torpedoes at a destroyer the draft needs to be set very shallow otherwise they will past under the hull.
Having said all that your problem from what you are experiencing would seem to be more like a game one?

Questions.

Do you still get the same problem when you do the torpedo tutorial?
Are you using manual or auto targeting?
Is your game based on a "Career?
What path have you used to install your game?
Are you using L.A.A?
Does it make a difference if you un-tick "Dud Torpedoes" from the game player settings?

Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[D:\Games\SH4 My Mega Mod\MODS]
1 Game Fixes Only Mod v1.1
2 MaxOptics IV for GFO 1.1
3 Real Environment mod install
4 GFO Patch for Real Env
5 Webster's No Crew Fatigue
6 Bigger Better Protractors
7 Extra Allied naval bases for Stock SH4 + UBM v3.0
8 Webster's Upgraded Deck Gun v1
9 Webster's New sonar view for v1.5
10 Eye Patch for Stock
11 Pacific Sound Mod
12 Stop The Shouting
13 sobers compass mod_version color
14 3000 Yard Bearing Tool (1920x)
15 Magnified Hud Dials for v1.5_Large
16 Webster's Eliminate Floating Plankton
17 Remove grain effect


Having played my mega mod, GFO, FOTRSU, I have not come across the problem you are having.

Peter


THEBERBSTER is online   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 09:13 AM   #50
chopped50ford
Weps
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bentonville, AR
Posts: 367
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
Icon14 Q&A....

@theberbster

Thank you for the fast response.

Quote:
The Americans had major problems with their torpedoes which took a while to sort out.
This will be replicated in your game to some extent but not to every torpedo.
I have considered this knowing the history of issues we were having, but Im hitting a big zero on hits on 5 ships in a row; each torpedo passing through. With the depth I have set them at, they should be bouncing off the hulls; if this was the case, I would have nodded my head in defeat to torpedo duds

Quote:
Firing torpedoes at a destroyer the draft needs to be set very shallow otherwise they will past under the hull.
Having said all that your problem from what you are experiencing would seem to be more like a game one?
This could be the case, I have been checking draft specifics for each ship I have been encountering. If the draft was at 11.5', I set them shallow at 5'


To answer some of your questions:

Questions.
Do you still get the same problem when you do the torpedo tutorial? - I will try this to see if there is a change.

Are you using manual or auto targeting? - I am using Auto Targeting

Is your game based on a "Career? - Yes - Im currently in 'Career Mode'

What path have you used to install your game? C:/Games/Steam/SH4...I pulled the game out of Windows (X64) folder per directions I saw in your recommendations

Are you using L.A.A? - I am not since I am not seeing any performance issues

Does it make a difference if you un-tick "Dud Torpedoes" from the game player settings? - I will try this....Im going to try the tutorial, and restart adding manual targeting, etc, etc.
__________________
TM2(SS)
USS Asheville - Plankowner, Shellback, "Order of the Ditch"

http://ths-i.com/
chopped50ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2018, 09:36 AM   #51
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 5,126
Downloads: 277
Uploads: 1


Default

chopped50ford, go ahead and include your mod list for Peter THEBERBSTER to look at, especially if you are using one of the Torpedo mods. Use JSGME, click on its blue "Tasks..." link in the middle of the window, then "Export activated mods list to..." the clipboard, then paste that into your next post. As always though, Large Address Aware (LAA) is recommended whether you have symptoms or not.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 10:21 AM   #52
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 877
Downloads: 276
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER View Post
Last updated 2nd May 2018
Large Adress Aware (LAA) Easy Install

LAA can be installed anywhere as it uses a browser that you point to find your SH4.exe.

Click on the icon and you will see this screen.



Click on the browse button and look for your SH4.exe application icon.

Common example would be C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 4
Click on it.
You will see it show in the path.
The path will now show as in the picture example.

In Step 2 just tick the box.

Click on Save and you are done and will not need to do this again.

Optional.
Repeat the same for the JSGME apllication.

Courtesy acknowledgement to Webster for use of his picture.

is there a 64-bit LAA? the only copy i can find in the Downloads section is 32-bit. i am trying to help a beginner running Win10.
thanks.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 8 GB Ram running Win7
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 05:51 PM   #53
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,881
Downloads: 1006
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi KM
L.A.A. will be only 32 bit regardless of your system.
All Silent Hunter versions are 32 bit which is why they always want to default to the Programs files (86) directory which is 32 bit where as the Program Files directory is where you will find your 64 bit programs.

If you play more than one version of Silent Hunter 4 then by using the SH4 Gramophone Randomiser application and a batch file shortcut to your your desktop or taskbar will mix your music and start the SH4 game you choose to play.
Peter
THEBERBSTER is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2019, 07:31 PM   #54
KaleunMarco
Grey Wolf
 
KaleunMarco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 877
Downloads: 276
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER View Post
Hi KM
L.A.A. will be only 32 bit regardless of your system.
All Silent Hunter versions are 32 bit which is why they always want to default to the Programs files (86) directory which is 32 bit where as the Program Files directory is where you will find your 64 bit programs.

If you play more than one version of Silent Hunter 4 then by using the SH4 Gramophone Randomiser application and a batch file shortcut to your your desktop or taskbar will mix your music and start the SH4 game you choose to play.
Peter
thanks for the explanation.
__________________
there are only two things in the world: submarines and targets.

------------------------------------------------------------
Silent Hunter 4 1.5 Gold Edition on CDROM
LAA enabled
Dell XPS with 8 GB Ram running Win7
KaleunMarco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 08:17 PM   #55
erahmig
Watch
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Downloads: 56
Uploads: 0
Default Mismatch between screenshots in the 2nd post and the actual downloaded mod

Hi,

I just downloaded this megamod from the SH4 downloads section using this link: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=5298.

But, the dates/times and contents of what I downloaded are different than what's shown in the 2nd post of this thread.

This is what I see in the .zip file I downloaded:
.

The dates and times on the folders and on the Word document are all older than what's shown in the screenshot of the 2nd post of this thread.

Does that mean I downloaded the wrong thing? Please advise - I' confused

** EDIT **
Well, apparently I can't read dates correctly. It looks like the dates in the download are *newer* than what's pictured in the 2nd post of this thread. Sooo, that's embarrasing. Sorry for the confusion
** EDIT **

Eric

P.S. I know how much work it must have been, and still is, to have made this megamod and then to support it. Thank you very much for all your effort!

Last edited by erahmig; 05-07-2019 at 09:36 PM.
erahmig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 04:15 PM   #56
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 8,881
Downloads: 1006
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi e
Corrected

Thanks for posting the info.

Peter
THEBERBSTER is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim