SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific > SH4 ATO Mods
Forget password? Reset here

Get ready for a whole new level of realism!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-22, 09:26 PM   #301
Mork_417
Lieutenant Commander
 
Mork_417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: DB-15
Posts: 812
Downloads: 219
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JerseySeven View Post
Trying out the latest 1.4.2 version! So far so good. Fantastic work!!

Only one puzzle: How to change quickly select nationality shown in recogition manual? So far, I'm just constantly opening, closing, and re-opening.
Use the arrows mate.
__________________
Heading to AM49.(U-553)
Mork_417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-22, 02:59 PM   #302
Kapitän
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,392
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mork_417 View Post
Use the arrows mate.

Or lock on ship with "L" and "Shift + I" for quick ship ID ...
__________________
KSDII-Ace/GWX 3.0 Gold/CCoM 10.0 + h.sie-patch; Windows 7 (64-bit); NVIDIA GeForce GTX650 (310.90)
Kapitän is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-22, 09:35 PM   #303
JerseySeven
Random#
 
JerseySeven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: TX
Posts: 73
Downloads: 142
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks to all, and apologies for another dumb question.
I'm to patrol within 100 mi (km?) of a marked location. For how long? Until I get an objective completed notice? Would be nice to know.
JerseySeven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-22, 03:17 AM   #304
Kapitän
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,392
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JerseySeven View Post
Thanks to all, and apologies for another dumb question.
I'm to patrol within 100 mi (km?) of a marked location. For how long? Until I get an objective completed notice? Would be nice to know.

In my view, a very valid question. I also have only experienced 1 or 2 times, that I actually received recognition for achieving a patrol objective.
__________________
KSDII-Ace/GWX 3.0 Gold/CCoM 10.0 + h.sie-patch; Windows 7 (64-bit); NVIDIA GeForce GTX650 (310.90)
Kapitän is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-22, 05:35 AM   #305
rainbowjose
Seaman
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 34
Downloads: 39
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Or lock on ship with "L" and "Shift + I" for quick ship ID ...
It seems to me not very correct to leave such cheats enabled by default.
rainbowjose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-22, 01:18 PM   #306
Kapitän
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,392
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainbowjose View Post
It seems to me not very correct to leave such cheats enabled by default.

Or, one simulates that the I.W.O is checking the Ship Recognition Manual for the Commander ;-)
__________________
KSDII-Ace/GWX 3.0 Gold/CCoM 10.0 + h.sie-patch; Windows 7 (64-bit); NVIDIA GeForce GTX650 (310.90)
Kapitän is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-22, 11:01 AM   #307
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 8,960
Downloads: 421
Uploads: 1


Default

Kapitän, from over in the Dark Waters thread, you posted:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapitän View Post
Again, very helpful - thanks! Yes, the game crashes at certain convoys and after about 1h or so of D/C attack.

Let me check one-by-one:

- If I undestand correctly, if I set the FPS to let's say 60, it won't go higher than that but would go lower depending on game status, correct?

- My PC config is: i7-3770 CPU @ 3.40GHz, 8GB RAM. I have the game installed on Drive :/C ... :/D has a bit less than 50% space left and :/C about 2/3 (just got an upgrade) ... so, I not sure that's the issue...

- I applied LAA but simply starting the program and selecting the sh4.exe and running the program, and getting the message that the activation was successful. If there is more to that than meets the eye, I certainly would be interested finding out about it ...

- So far, the game will not load certain large convoys and crash, and as said, after being submerged for about 1h of D/C attacks (I'm wondering if having the External View or Event Camera activiated could have somthing to do with that) ...

Comments welcome ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapitän View Post
Okay, clear on the first two points.

On LAA, I checked the Attributes on the sh4.exe, and the "Read-Only" Box is unchecked.

I do not have any other mods outside of what is provided with the game installed, in the order given here:
- Real patch 1.4 full
- Patch 1.4.2
- KSDII_New_interface1.4.1 Salvo type label for IX
- Convoy radio reports ON
- English objectives names
- No radio antenna poles
- Increased underwater clarity

During one convoy attack that the game managed to load after the 3rd or 4th attempt, I did notice that there were a couple of cargo ships in there, that from a distance were appearing bright neon green and when getting closer, had some kind of green camouflage color. Not sure if that is merely a graphic card issue or perhaps a "bad" ship installed in the game ...
I just set-up a KSDII Aces on my machine, and have taken it for a couple of spins, but nothing too "deep" yet (sorry for the pun). I have not encountered any large convoys yet, but thus far, everything seems to be functioning, though I am not starting from France just yet. If I manage to find a large convoy, I'll let you know what happens on my machine.

You made the statement "... the game will not load certain large convoys and crash, and as said, after being submerged for about 1h of D/C attacks..." Had you taken any damage in those depth charge attacks? Is there a "shake" mod in KSDII Aces? In other words, when a DC detonates nearby, the boat's camera "shakes"? Is there a "clang" sound mod when a DC hits your boat and hasn't detonated?
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-22, 07:29 AM   #308
Kapitän
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,392
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Kapitän, from over in the Dark Waters thread, you posted:


I just set-up a KSDII Aces on my machine, and have taken it for a couple of spins, but nothing too "deep" yet (sorry for the pun). I have not encountered any large convoys yet, but thus far, everything seems to be functioning, though I am not starting from France just yet. If I manage to find a large convoy, I'll let you know what happens on my machine.

You made the statement "... the game will not load certain large convoys and crash, and as said, after being submerged for about 1h of D/C attacks..." Had you taken any damage in those depth charge attacks? Is there a "shake" mod in KSDII Aces? In other words, when a DC detonates nearby, the boat's camera "shakes"? Is there a "clang" sound mod when a DC hits your boat and hasn't detonated?
Damage to boat: Seems to vary, sometimes I do, sometimes I don't ... I somehow think, it has to do with for how long one is under D/C attack and not so much, whether the boat is damaged or not ... but that's my mere assumption ...

Shake-Mods: Yes, the boat does shake, if the D/Cs explode nearby ... not sure what kind of Mods do this though ...

Clang-Sound: That I have not yet experienced or perhaps it did happen, but I simply haven't noticed it.
__________________
KSDII-Ace/GWX 3.0 Gold/CCoM 10.0 + h.sie-patch; Windows 7 (64-bit); NVIDIA GeForce GTX650 (310.90)
Kapitän is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-22, 09:19 AM   #309
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 8,960
Downloads: 421
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapitän View Post
Damage to boat: Seems to vary, sometimes I do, sometimes I don't ... I somehow think, it has to do with for how long one is under D/C attack and not so much, whether the boat is damaged or not ... but that's my mere assumption ...

Shake-Mods: Yes, the boat does shake, if the D/Cs explode nearby ... not sure what kind of Mods do this though ...

Clang-Sound: That I have not yet experienced or perhaps it did happen, but I simply haven't noticed it.
OK, thanks. Depending upon what the "shake" is based upon, some of those mods caused trouble years ago. There really isn't an easy way to pin-down what causes the issues, but I'll be sure and get attacked and see what happens.

When your game CTDs with the large convoys, does that occur when you get several sonar contacts? or generally only when the convoy gets within visual range? or somewhere in between? Do you notice if there are airplanes nearby when you CTD?
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-22, 09:35 AM   #310
Kapitän
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,392
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
OK, thanks. Depending upon what the "shake" is based upon, some of those mods caused trouble years ago. There really isn't an easy way to pin-down what causes the issues, but I'll be sure and get attacked and see what happens.

When your game CTDs with the large convoys, does that occur when you get several sonar contacts? or generally only when the convoy gets within visual range? or somewhere in between? Do you notice if there are airplanes nearby when you CTD?
Okay, let's see on the D/C topic.

The Large convoy CTD actually happens when I approach the convoy and I am about 25km away, at which point I notice that the game stops, I guess in order to load the convoy. Depending on the size of the convoy (that's my guess) it either continues or crashes .

The same thing happens when I come across a task force of about 5-6 ships: The game stops for a second or two and than continues.

I know this behaviour also from Sh3. It always let's me know, that there must be a convoy close by,.even without me be able to see it, yet.

Regarding A/C, same thing: Sometimes, yes, sometimes no.
__________________
KSDII-Ace/GWX 3.0 Gold/CCoM 10.0 + h.sie-patch; Windows 7 (64-bit); NVIDIA GeForce GTX650 (310.90)
Kapitän is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-22, 02:34 PM   #311
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 8,960
Downloads: 421
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapitän View Post
Okay, let's see on the D/C topic.

The Large convoy CTD actually happens when I approach the convoy and I am about 25km away, at which point I notice that the game stops, I guess in order to load the convoy. Depending on the size of the convoy (that's my guess) it either continues or crashes .
That would near the 3D render range...

The same thing happens when I come across a task force of about 5-6 ships: The game stops for a second or two and than continues.
One common denominator between Task Forces and Convoys is, of course, destroyers...

I know this behaviour also from Sh3. It always let's me know, that there must be a convoy close by,.even without me be able to see it, yet.

Regarding A/C, same thing: Sometimes, yes, sometimes no.
The more aircraft, I am guessing, the worse it is?
I have gathered all of the included mods' data and run some checks on my set-up, and while there are some issues, I do not see anything obviously incorrect in what Niume has done. It might either come down to the details, or maybe when you CTD sometimes, there might be a 2nd or 3rd group not too far away, but close enough to influence the game's bandwidth capabilities. Also, the "stutter" when encountering groups is a "feature" (NOT!!) of the SH series... the game apparently takes too long to "draw" each 3D asset, and their rendering "overlaps", resulting in the game impacting Windows and the game's TC, which is evidenced by that "stutter" you see, which does indeed warn the player of a nearby grouping. Why airplanes take so much more bandwidth, I don't know, but they do. If you look at airplanes, they're basically ships that fly, while the player subs are similarly ships, that can (usually) control their sinking and surfacing. There is only the one player sub, but the airplanes have been known to swarm... lol
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-22, 02:52 PM   #312
Kapitän
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,392
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
I have gathered all of the included mods' data and run some checks on my set-up, and while there are some issues, I do not see anything obviously incorrect in what Niume has done. It might either come down to the details, or maybe when you CTD sometimes, there might be a 2nd or 3rd group not too far away, but close enough to influence the game's bandwidth capabilities. Also, the "stutter" when encountering groups is a "feature" (NOT!!) of the SH series... the game apparently takes too long to "draw" each 3D asset, and their rendering "overlaps", resulting in the game impacting Windows and the game's TC, which is evidenced by that "stutter" you see, which does indeed warn the player of a nearby grouping. Why airplanes take so much more bandwidth, I don't know, but they do. If you look at airplanes, they're basically ships that fly, while the player subs are similarly ships, that can (usually) control their sinking and surfacing. There is only the one player sub, but the airplanes have been known to swarm... lol
I'm not completley sure about the A/C, i.e., I haven't paid attention if or how many A/C there have been around the convoy.

In one case, there was indeed another convoy in the area and I assume that's why it took 4 attempts to finally load it.

Another convoy - was not indicated as a Large Convo - just wouldn't load, no matter what I tried. This one however, was close to the Brazilian coast.

About destroyers: Do I understand correctly, that the more destroyers, the more strain it puts on the game? If yes, that would increase as the war goes on, yes?
__________________
KSDII-Ace/GWX 3.0 Gold/CCoM 10.0 + h.sie-patch; Windows 7 (64-bit); NVIDIA GeForce GTX650 (310.90)
Kapitän is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-22, 12:06 AM   #313
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 8,960
Downloads: 421
Uploads: 1


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kapitän View Post
... About destroyers: Do I understand correctly, that the more destroyers, the more strain it puts on the game? If yes, that would increase as the war goes on, yes?
No. I was just saying that if a ship was going to cause trouble, the DD would be the first subjects to look into, since you have issue with both convoys and task forces, and DD are found in both groupings. I'm not saying that any are bad, only that they accompany both groupings. I apparently have not found a large enough grouping yet myself.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-22, 03:30 PM   #314
Kapitän
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Posts: 1,392
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
No. I was just saying that if a ship was going to cause trouble, the DD would be the first subjects to look into, since you have issue with both convoys and task forces, and DD are found in both groupings. I'm not saying that any are bad, only that they accompany both groupings. I apparently have not found a large enough grouping yet myself.
So, just came across a convoy: 14 May 43, Qu.1229DH (between Azores and Madeira), course 31°, speed 6kn, about 30 ships and about 8 escorts - so, nice size - but kind of scattered due to the high winds and sea.

As usual, about 25km from the convoy, the game froze or "stuttered" for a few seconds to load the convoy - seemed pretty long, and I almost thought the game would crash - but then it continued and seems to be okay for now.

Keep you posted ...
__________________
KSDII-Ace/GWX 3.0 Gold/CCoM 10.0 + h.sie-patch; Windows 7 (64-bit); NVIDIA GeForce GTX650 (310.90)
Kapitän is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-22, 04:55 PM   #315
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 8,960
Downloads: 421
Uploads: 1


Default

First of all, here is the basics of my computer while running KSD Aces:
Intel Core2 Quad Q8300 @2.5GHz
Intel DP434BF LGA775 Mobo
8gig of dual channel DDR3 1333 RAM
2x 2TB WD Black HD
nVidia GeForce GTX 560Ti 1024MB GDDR5
Nothing fancy, and did not stretch the pocketbook even when built years ago. Plenty strong enough to run SH4. I encountered a similar sized convoy in the Western Approaches just a bit ago. I was doing 512x TC when a hydrophone contact was reported, dropping me to 1x TC. Followed it for a few minutes to determine approximate direction and went for an intercept. We initially had contact with a DE on the southern flank, which was difficult to track at first, but we did manage to finally get around the group before daylight and submerged in front of them.

We went to went to 100m and 256x TC for the group's approach. As they came closer, we did see a "stutter" in the TC, which dropped us to 1x several times, and as we tried to get back up to 256x, got quite a bit of lag, but nothing any worse than what we see when coming back into home port, and have to run at 64x TC. As we eventually made sound contact with most of the group, the lag would get worse as each ship would spawn.

We were slightly off-center from the convoy's track, but made visual contact with the southernmost leading DD, and then the middle leading DD. We were deep by this time, Ahead 1/3 speed and silent, managing to get inside the screen to attack, coming up to PD. While doing so, the rest of the group were in contact, so we had sound lines 360 around us. Naturally, it was a bit too dark to get good targeting, so we shot the rear tube at a closing DD / DE (never identified) and a spread for the 4 bow tubes toward the dark shapes in front. We called for 110m and Ahead Flank, and as we were passing about 50m, we heard the first of several explosions. Once getting deeper, we went back to silent and turned to parallel the group and eventually reload the tubes. Saved the game and am now doing this.

We'll see if we get a good game re-load a bit later, and try to determine the damage we caused... The game definitely "telegraphs" a group is getting close with the stutter at even a medium TC level, and the larger the group, the more noticeable the stutter, sometimes getting to be a very definite lag. But I have not had a CTD yet, though I have not been in contact with a "large" group. The one I am under now is probably a couple of dozen of merchants (maybe less) with the escorts, so maybe 30-32 ships altogether, at the most.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ksd ii, u-boat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.