SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 4: Wolves of the Pacific
Forget password? Reset here

Get ready for a whole new level of realism!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-22, 08:14 PM   #1
Ketoujin
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Downloads: 42
Uploads: 0
Default SHIV FOTRS Graphics Issue

Hi Everyone,


After a couple of sessions playing FOTRS ver. 1.4, the game kept crashing to desktop just before the point at which I would start a patrol. I saw then the thread on installing FOTRS correctly and then re-installed the stock game (with U-Boat Missions add-on of course) to my documents file as per the instructions NOT to save the game to any Program Files destination folder. So, I successfully re-installed the vanilla game with U-Boat Missions add-on to My Documents, re-installed the JGSME Mod Enabler to the same file, and the game now runs with FOTRS without crashing to desk-top.



However.......the graphics are washed out and overly dark as if someone turned the saturation way down on my monitor. The lettering on the main menu presents as a dark orange. I have checked my graphics and video cards by opening other games and they all present fine visually.



Any suggestions on how to correct this? I have a feeling a duplicate/missing file/files is causing the problem but don't know.



I am running an Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-9700K CPU @ 3.60GHz 3.60 GHz processor on Windows 10 64-bit just for reference.



Thank you,


Ketoujin
Ketoujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-22, 09:46 PM   #2
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: One hour from Music City USA!
Posts: 9,237
Downloads: 424
Uploads: 1


Default

What mod are you running? There was FOTRSU v1.2 and v1.3, and then v2.0, which is an SH4 v1.4 only mod. I am not familiar with v1.4 of the mod. Had you emptied the Save folder ("C:\Users \UserName \Documents \SH" by default)? It almost sounds like you're saying you installed in the MyDocuments folder? That is generally not a good place to install a program either. It is Usually best to install to a folder you create yourself off the "root" of the drive, such as "C:\Games \SH4" or whatever. Have you done the changes needed to the SH4.exe Properties for the video to display properly in the 'modern' Windows OS? As an example:



You would probably have to experiment some with your settings for your computer.
__________________

"...and bollocks to the naysayer/s" - Jimbuna
propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-23, 10:39 AM   #3
1Patriotofmany
Watch Officer
 
1Patriotofmany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 337
Downloads: 74
Uploads: 0
Default

Think I would start by unactivating v1.4 and downloading and activating V 1.8 which I believe is the latest.
1Patriotofmany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-23, 10:55 AM   #4
Kal_Maximus_U669
The Old Man
 
Kal_Maximus_U669's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: France Nord East
Posts: 1,317
Downloads: 767
Uploads: 0
Icon14

"OUILLE" ...1Patriotofmany.. Beanie..
I would complete with the tools of the graphics card which is not specified in its config ... I would consult the threads of the forum concerning this aspect ..
for NVIDIA the work of Fifi seems to me to indicate see here

https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...&postcount=107
that will be all for now...
Kal_Maximus_U669 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.