SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-13, 01:50 AM   #2206
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sober View Post
The carrier spawned a biplane and then spawned 2 fighters . The fighters were flying very low then i noticed as they were approaching they would dive into the water and then back out again .
I just had this happen to me not too long ago. It isn't a problem of the patch - the planes are completely autonomous once spawned. It's a problem of the AI and it appears IRAI is playing a part in this

Coding in the reading of the new carrier entries in the \data\Cfg\AirStrike.cfg file currently. There will be two new entries:
- Carrier Default Air Strike Probability
- Carrier Night Modifier

If these entries aren't found in the file then my default settings coded in will be used. If these entries are found then they override my default settings.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-13, 02:15 AM   #2207
THE_MASK
Ace of the deep .
 
THE_MASK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,226
Downloads: 901
Uploads: 73


Default

The carriers are now dangerous
THE_MASK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-13, 10:56 AM   #2208
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sober View Post
The carriers are now dangerous
Yes they are. They should've been this way from the start. Sometimes I wonder about the people who develop these games. Do they live in another reality where these things don't happen or what? I consider this a basic thing that should've been on the list of things the game has to do (along with ships able to fire torpedoes that actually did in real life).

But I digress...if they had already included this then they would've taken the fun away from me trying to figure out how to make it happen with their existing code
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-13, 12:59 PM   #2209
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

v1.0.122.0 released. See post #1

Starting with v1.0.122.0 Added two new entries to \data\Cfg\AirStrike.cfg: Carrier Night Modifier and Carrier Default Air Strike Probability. If these entries are found in the file they will override the Carrier spawning aircraft patch's default settings for these.

These would be the entries you'd add to your \data\Cfg\AirStrike.cfg file if you wanted to use the Carriers spawning aircraft default values:
Carrier Night Modifier=0.75 ;[>0] Modifier on strike probability at night for carriers
Carrier Default Air Strike Probability=85.0 ;[>0] Default probability to send an airstrike from a carrier

Yes this means I'm becoming proficient at using the game's FileManager class Now to code in gap's idea (different engine ratios for electric engines)

Last edited by TheDarkWraith; 07-04-13 at 01:10 PM.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-13, 01:05 PM   #2210
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
Now to code in gap's idea (different engine ratios for electric engines)
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-13, 01:33 PM   #2211
tonschk
Admiral
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,200
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you very much Thedarkwraith
tonschk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-13, 06:32 PM   #2212
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

The hardest part of gap's idea is complete - changing memory size of allocated memory for sub data and adding new section to the sub's cfg file [ElectricEngineProperties] and reading all the values in

Now just have to tell the game to use the [ElectricEngineProperties] values when it's using electric engines for propulsion
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-13, 10:47 PM   #2213
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

With gap's idea everything is working except for:
- if you submerge/surface the engine ratios of the previous state are still used until you order a new throttle setting (ahead slow, ahead standard, back slow, etc.)
- if you have a snorkel installed and you raise it while submerged the electric engine ratios will be used until you order a new throttle setting (ahead slow, ahead standard, back slow, etc.)
- if you have a snorkel installed and you lower it while submerged (previously was extended before submerging) the diesel engine ratios will be used until you order a new throttle setting (ahead slow, ahead standard, back slow, etc.)

It will be this way until I figure out how to get the position of the engine order telegraph.


Forgot to mention that if the [ElectricEngineProperties] section doesn't exist in the sub's cfg file it's no problem. The game copies the diesel engine values to the electric engine ones on initialization. If the [ElectricEngineProperties] is found then these values overwrite the diesel ones copied.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-13, 12:06 PM   #2214
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

I might have a solution for gap's idea. It hit me while I was out riding one of my motorcycles (funny how things happen like this!).

What I can do is hook into when you ask for new ordered bell and new ordered speed. If you ask for new ordered bell then I set a bit denoting this. If you ask for new ordered speed I clear the bit. This bit will then be used when transitioning from surfaced/submerged states. If the bit is set then I know to update each engine's ordered speed with the appropriate engine ratio (if surfacing then use the diesel ratios, if submerging then use the electric ratios). If this bit is clear then I do not update each engine's ordered speed because the game will update them with the ordered speed the player selected. Seems to be a viable option. Now to code it in and see...
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-13, 01:24 PM   #2215
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
What I can do is hook into when you ask for new ordered bell and new ordered speed...
I think I grasped your idea. Brilliant method, let'see if it works now
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-13, 03:11 PM   #2216
THE_MASK
Ace of the deep .
 
THE_MASK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,226
Downloads: 901
Uploads: 73


Default

Planes leaving from an airfield when spotted in an enemy port next
Does a docked carrier have planes taking off ?
THE_MASK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-13, 03:18 PM   #2217
Sartoris
Captain
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 489
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 0
Default

Yes, there definitely need to be more repercussions for entering an enemy port and blowing stuff up. Could you code it so that planes come and patrol above the port you were detected in? Or even make it so that there's a chance of some sort of enemy patrol vessel arriving (maybe a torpedo boat)?
Sartoris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-13, 03:24 PM   #2218
volodya61
Ocean Warrior
 
volodya61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rostov-on-Don, local time GMT+4
Posts: 3,300
Downloads: 374
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sober View Post
Planes leaving from an airfield when spotted in an enemy port next
Does a docked carrier have planes taking off ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sartoris View Post
Yes, there definitely need to be more repercussions for entering an enemy port and blowing stuff up. Could you code it so that planes come and patrol above the port you were detected in? Or even make it so that there's a chance of some sort of enemy patrol vessel arriving (maybe a torpedo boat)?
Trevally explained it somewhere, I can't find it right now, plane(s) + port = CTD..
__________________
.
Where does human stupidity end?

.


El sueño de la razón produce monstruos © - and for some people awakening will be cruel
volodya61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-13, 03:43 PM   #2219
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by volodya61 View Post
Trevally explained it somewhere, I can't find it right now, plane(s) + port = CTD..
Hi Volodya,

I think Trevally was referring to enemy planes in friendly ports, or friendly planes in in enemy ports. As far as planes and ports are on the same side (an there are not too many alien units around), there shouldn't be problems of any sort
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-13, 03:43 PM   #2220
Alky
Lieutenant
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Abbotsford BC Canada
Posts: 258
Downloads: 141
Uploads: 0
Default

Where can I find the patch to update SH5 to 1.20 ?? The GU updater doesn't work. Thanx.
__________________

Alky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.