SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-12, 03:33 PM   #31
peabody
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York State, USA
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generalee View Post
I have another question, does the UpgradePacks.UPC have to be identical, or it can have differences between the two ships upgrade packs?

Example:

[UpgradePack 32] (file 1 )
ID= Upack16Inch50CalMk7
NameDisplayable= 16"/50 Mark 7
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponCannon
UpgradePackSlotType= USDeckGun
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
;UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= 1944-03-28, 1944-09-01, 800
;UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions2= 1944-09-02, NULL, 300
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 16Inch50CalMk7

[UpgradePack 32]
ID= Upack16Inch50CalMk7
NameDisplayable= 16"/50 Mark 7
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponCannon
UpgradePackSlotType= USDeckGun
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= NULL, NULL, 400 (different)
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 14in50calUS (different)

I would be happy if I could get these files working, it would be a great acheivement for me

ps: I am a beginner at modding, so that explains why I have more trouble understanding the logic of this. So please, go easy on me

Generalee
Those are the kind of issues you run into when you enable two different ships. People add the necessary guns for that ship.
So in your files above, they are installing different guns using the same file. One ship has a 16Inch50CalMk7 and the other ship has a 14in50calUS.

So the problems include:
1. You can not have two with the same number [UpgradePack 32], if they were different you only have to copy and add another entry [UpgradePack 33] But they are the same ID.

2. You can not have two entries with the same ID. ID=Upack16Inch50CalMk7
This is the ID used in the sub or ship upc file to put that gun on the sub or ship.
Example from Takao:

IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= BowDeckGun
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= 1941-01-01, 1945-12-31,
Upack8inDoubleDG

That will access the UpgradePacks.upc file:
[UpgradePack 47]
ID= Upack8inDoubleDG


So you would also have to change the ships.upc file and the ID in the UPgradePacks.upc, and that would mess up the ship as the modder built it. So if you post it anywhere, it would have different files than the original ship. So the modder would get all the complaints about why his ship does not work when he makes changes and releases a new version. So if you want to do it for yourself that is up to you but if anyone else gets it I am sure the person that built it would not be very happy about it.

3. UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= NULL, NULL, 400 means it will not be on the ship unless you buy it. The other file is 0.
NOTE:
;UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= 1944-03-28, 1944-09-01, 800
;UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions2= 1944-09-02, NULL, 300

Both of these entries have a ; in front of the line, so the game ignores anything after a ; so the only entry that matter is the first one with the NULL, NULL, 0. (which is startdate, end date and cost). so the gun is available all the time and costs nothing.
************************************************** *********
So here is the way the files work, I will use your entry above and make a 'dummy' ship.upc entry since I do not know where the file came from.

If it is entered as an Upgrade it will be in the Ships.upc

[UserPlayerUnit 1.UpgradePackSlot 3]
ID= UpgBowDeckGun
NameDisplayable= Deck Gun Mount
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=USDeckGun
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= BowDeckGun
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1945-12-31, Upack16Inch50CalMk7

Now that links to the file you posted first in the UPgradePacks.upc

[UpgradePack 32]
ID= Upack16Inch50CalMk7
NameDisplayable= 16"/50 Mark 7
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponCannon
UpgradePackSlotType= USDeckGun
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
;UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= 1944-03-28, 1944-09-01, 800
;UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions2= 1944-09-02, NULL, 300
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 16Inch50CalMk7

And that one links to an entry in Weapons.upc which I will 'fake' from another ship:

[Weapon 12]
ID= 16Inch50CalMk7
NameDisplayable= 16" Double Turret
FunctionalType= WpCannon
WeaponInterval= NULL, NULL
WeaponSlotType= NULL
AmmoTypesAccepted= 16inAPUS
AmmoTypeLoaded= NULL
AmmoMagazineRemaining= 0 ;Not used
AmmoMagazineSize= 2
LeadersSlots=1
WeaponCrewMembersSlots= 2
ExternalLinkName3D= 16in_Deck_Gun_US
Hitpoints= 100
DamageDescription1= NULL, 0, 0.2, 0, 1, 1, Jam, 0, 0, NULL, 1, 0.3, 0.2
DamageDescription2= NULL, 0, 1, 0, 0.5, 1, Chamber Explosion, 50, 5, NULL, 1, 2, 10 ;skill over 1 for unserviceable/destroyed gun

And that file links to the Library/USSubParts/shipname.dat

+ 9. Node- 16in Deck_Gun_US

************************************************** ********

That is why I said many files need to be "fixed" if you are going to try to put several ships into one MOD that were not meant to be used that way. And it is also the reason some of the Modders make "ShipPacks", all that work is already done.
So it is good to learn how it is done, but it is easier to just use JSGME and play the King George. When you are done, quit the game, disable the MOD and enable the next ship you want to play.

One additional comment: You are only looking at the gunfiles, but you may run into the same problems with radar, sonar, flakguns, radio antennas, ammo, interiors, ordersbars, crew ranks, and the list goes on and on. It all depends on how the ship was built.

Peabody



__________________

System Spec: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3, PentiumD Dual Core Presler 945 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte Geforce 7600GS, 2-1GB Corsair XMS2 800Mhz in Dual Channel, 2-WD 250 SATA 3Gb/s, Onboard Realtek HD 7.1 Audio, DVD ROM, DVD burner, Hiper 580 Watt Power supply, WinXP SP2.

peabody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-12, 03:43 PM   #32
DrBeast
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere Out In Space
Posts: 1,408
Downloads: 36
Uploads: 0
Default

If I could hazard a guess, UnitUpgradePackIntervalOption defines when you're eligible for a unit upgrade, with the type being defined in IDLinkUpgradePackElements. NULL means you're eligible for it regardless of date (if you notice the commented out strings, those are date-related, whereas in Example 2 there are no dates, just NULL). 800, 300 and 400 I've no idea what they mean. Maybe Renown cost to get it installed on your boat? In any case, the weapons being offered are different in your two examples, and this might be a problem if one type is not supported in the boat you're adding.
Another thing I noticed in your second example: ID= and NameDisplayable= both refer to the 16"/50 Mark 7 gun, but the IDLinkUpgradePackElements= offers the 14''/50 gun! That seems wrong, unless it's a trick by the creator of the mod to "force" the game to pick that specific weapon.

ETA: Ninja'd by peabody LOL!
__________________



Let the Beast inside you free!
DrBeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-12, 04:21 PM   #33
peabody
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York State, USA
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrBeast View Post
If I could hazard a guess, UnitUpgradePackIntervalOption defines when you're eligible for a unit upgrade, with the type being defined in IDLinkUpgradePackElements. NULL means you're eligible for it regardless of date (if you notice the commented out strings, those are date-related, whereas in Example 2 there are no dates, just NULL). 800, 300 and 400 I've no idea what they mean. Maybe Renown cost to get it installed on your boat? In any case, the weapons being offered are different in your two examples, and this might be a problem if one type is not supported in the boat you're adding.
Another thing I noticed in your second example: ID= and NameDisplayable= both refer to the 16"/50 Mark 7 gun, but the IDLinkUpgradePackElements= offers the 14''/50 gun! That seems wrong, unless it's a trick by the creator of the mod to "force" the game to pick that specific weapon.

ETA: Ninja'd by peabody LOL!
Right you are DrBeast. I think what may have happened is that someone built a ship using the same files and a previous ship or someone else's ship, but he needed to put a 14" gun on it, but didn't change the other info.

You are right the
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= NULL, NULL, 400
is the cost to put the gun on the ship. The reason there is a "Current" option as 0 is, I think, because if you play a single mission you can not 'buy' the gun. The other would be a cost to put it on the ship or possibly a ship that didn't have a gun at that location but did after a refit so you can buy it. So the gun is available all the time, but it may only be available on certain ships at certain times, thus the dates in the ships.upc upgrade section.
For example let's say you built two ships. One has an aft 14" turret but the other does not have an aft 14" turret until 1943. The 14" gun is available all the time so ship #1 would have it, but you can't add it to the second ship until 1943 because of dates in the ship.upc. Or maybe it had an 8" but was upgraded to a 14" in 1943.

Just some guesses as to why it is like that.

Peabody
__________________

System Spec: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3, PentiumD Dual Core Presler 945 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte Geforce 7600GS, 2-1GB Corsair XMS2 800Mhz in Dual Channel, 2-WD 250 SATA 3Gb/s, Onboard Realtek HD 7.1 Audio, DVD ROM, DVD burner, Hiper 580 Watt Power supply, WinXP SP2.

peabody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-12, 04:36 PM   #34
Generalee
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 25
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peabody View Post
Those are the kind of issues you run into when you enable two different ships. People add the necessary guns for that ship.
So in your files above, they are installing different guns using the same file. One ship has a 16Inch50CalMk7 and the other ship has a 14in50calUS.

So the problems include:
1. You can not have two with the same number [UpgradePack 32], if they were different you only have to copy and add another entry [UpgradePack 33] But they are the same ID.

2. You can not have two entries with the same ID. ID=Upack16Inch50CalMk7
This is the ID used in the sub or ship upc file to put that gun on the sub or ship.
Example from Takao:

IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= BowDeckGun
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= 1941-01-01, 1945-12-31,
Upack8inDoubleDG

That will access the UpgradePacks.upc file:
[UpgradePack 47]
ID= Upack8inDoubleDG


So you would also have to change the ships.upc file and the ID in the UPgradePacks.upc, and that would mess up the ship as the modder built it. So if you post it anywhere, it would have different files than the original ship. So the modder would get all the complaints about why his ship does not work when he makes changes and releases a new version. So if you want to do it for yourself that is up to you but if anyone else gets it I am sure the person that built it would not be very happy about it.

3. UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= NULL, NULL, 400 means it will not be on the ship unless you buy it. The other file is 0.
NOTE:
;UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= 1944-03-28, 1944-09-01, 800
;UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions2= 1944-09-02, NULL, 300

Both of these entries have a ; in front of the line, so the game ignores anything after a ; so the only entry that matter is the first one with the NULL, NULL, 0. (which is startdate, end date and cost). so the gun is available all the time and costs nothing.
************************************************** *********
So here is the way the files work, I will use your entry above and make a 'dummy' ship.upc entry since I do not know where the file came from.

If it is entered as an Upgrade it will be in the Ships.upc

[UserPlayerUnit 1.UpgradePackSlot 3]
ID= UpgBowDeckGun
NameDisplayable= Deck Gun Mount
Type=NULL
AcceptedTypes=USDeckGun
UserCustomizable=Yes
IDLinkUpgradePackSlots= BowDeckGun
IDLinkUpgradePackSlotsIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1945-12-31, Upack16Inch50CalMk7

Now that links to the file you posted first in the UPgradePacks.upc

[UpgradePack 32]
ID= Upack16Inch50CalMk7
NameDisplayable= 16"/50 Mark 7
FunctionalType= UpFTypeWeaponCannon
UpgradePackSlotType= USDeckGun
Type=NULL
UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptionCurrent= NULL, NULL, 0
;UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions1= 1944-03-28, 1944-09-01, 800
;UnitUpgradePackIntervalOptions2= 1944-09-02, NULL, 300
IDLinkUpgradePackElements= 16Inch50CalMk7

And that one links to an entry in Weapons.upc which I will 'fake' from another ship:

[Weapon 12]
ID= 16Inch50CalMk7
NameDisplayable= 16" Double Turret
FunctionalType= WpCannon
WeaponInterval= NULL, NULL
WeaponSlotType= NULL
AmmoTypesAccepted= 16inAPUS
AmmoTypeLoaded= NULL
AmmoMagazineRemaining= 0 ;Not used
AmmoMagazineSize= 2
LeadersSlots=1
WeaponCrewMembersSlots= 2
ExternalLinkName3D= 16in_Deck_Gun_US
Hitpoints= 100
DamageDescription1= NULL, 0, 0.2, 0, 1, 1, Jam, 0, 0, NULL, 1, 0.3, 0.2
DamageDescription2= NULL, 0, 1, 0, 0.5, 1, Chamber Explosion, 50, 5, NULL, 1, 2, 10 ;skill over 1 for unserviceable/destroyed gun

And that file links to the Library/USSubParts/shipname.dat

+ 9. Node- 16in Deck_Gun_US

************************************************** ********

That is why I said many files need to be "fixed" if you are going to try to put several ships into one MOD that were not meant to be used that way. And it is also the reason some of the Modders make "ShipPacks", all that work is already done.
So it is good to learn how it is done, but it is easier to just use JSGME and play the King George. When you are done, quit the game, disable the MOD and enable the next ship you want to play.

One additional comment: You are only looking at the gunfiles, but you may run into the same problems with radar, sonar, flakguns, radio antennas, ammo, interiors, ordersbars, crew ranks, and the list goes on and on. It all depends on how the ship was built.

Peabody



lol... this seems very complicated indeed... I think I will follow your advice and use them one at a time... but I sure hope building a ship mod is easier than doing this, because I want to build a sub, more specificly, a Japanese Kaidai 7 class submarine (aka I-76 class) it's info are as follows:

Class overview
Built: 1939-1943
In commission: 1942-1944
Planned: 10
Lost: 10

General characteristics
Displacement: 1,630 long tons (1,656 t) surfaced
2,602 long tons (2,644 t) submerged
Length: 105.50 m (346 ft 2 in)
Beam: 8.25 m (27 ft 1 in)
Draft: 4.60 m (15 ft 1 in)
Propulsion: 2 × Kampon Mk 1B Model 8 diesels, 2 shafts, 8,000 bhp
1,800 shp
Speed: 23.1 kn (42.8 km/h) surfaced
8.0 kn (14.8 km/h) submerged
Range:
8,000 nmi (15,000 km) at 16 kn (30 km/h) surfaced
50 nmi (93 km) at 5 kn (9.3 km/h) submerged
Test depth: 80 m (260 ft)
Complement: 86
Armament: ***8226; 6 × 533 mm (21 in) TTs
(6 × bow)
***8226; 12 × Type 95 torpedoes
***8226; 1 × 120 mm (4.7 in) L/40 11th Year Type Naval gun
***8226; 2 × Type 96 25mm AA guns
Notes: 354.7 tons fuel

Source:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kaidai_...haracteristics

Give your opinions if you want it or not

Generalee

Last edited by Generalee; 03-07-12 at 04:50 PM.
Generalee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-12, 04:51 PM   #35
TBear
Medic
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Denmark
Posts: 160
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Default

he he he you might want to look at this one

Japanese submarine modpack

TBear
__________________

IJN rules, but peabody makes it float!

"TAKAO" Status: work in progress
TBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-12, 04:56 PM   #36
Generalee
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 25
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TBear View Post
he he he you might want to look at this one

Japanese submarine modpack

TBear
I know, I have seen that, but it does not contain the one I want to make

Generalee
Generalee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-12, 05:53 PM   #37
peabody
Admiral
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New York State, USA
Posts: 2,390
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Generalee View Post
I know, I have seen that, but it does not contain the one I want to make

Generalee
That is also a very old mod. His newest MOD has 15 subs in it.

Peabody
__________________

System Spec: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3, PentiumD Dual Core Presler 945 3.4Ghz, Gigabyte Geforce 7600GS, 2-1GB Corsair XMS2 800Mhz in Dual Channel, 2-WD 250 SATA 3Gb/s, Onboard Realtek HD 7.1 Audio, DVD ROM, DVD burner, Hiper 580 Watt Power supply, WinXP SP2.

peabody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-12, 06:29 PM   #38
Generalee
Watch
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 25
Downloads: 27
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peabody View Post
That is also a very old mod. His newest MOD has 15 subs in it.

Peabody
Is it the version 3.9x? I have downloaded it, and it has 14 subs. Just want to know if I downloaded the right one or not. I downloaded the version 3.9x

Generalee
Generalee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.