SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-10, 09:44 PM   #1
Abd_von_Mumit
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warszawa, Polska
Posts: 1,453
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 4
Default

Reediting this message after I realised I was editing wrong menu.cfg file.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
You can exceed 32 inside the sub but you have to edit your \Documents\SH5\data\cfg\main.cfg file:
[...]
I believe 3DRender is the value that will need to be changed to be able to exceed 32 inside the sub.
Edited and works, thanks a lot. Still trying to work out what some of the other lines mean. Main concern right now - how to make the _sound_ make behave in TC > 32 as it was TC =< 32. Now all the sounds are "fast forwarded" in an irritating, non-immersive and unacceptable manner whenever TC > 32 in 3Dmode. Can't find an option to change that though.
__________________
Long, hard, wet and full of seamen. My precious.
SH3+GWX+OLC — sunk x4, retired x2; SH5+TDW — still exploring
My SH5 mods: EQuaTool - Elite Quality Map Tools, Patrol Routine Scripts, No Logo Intro Menu_Animation, Less Annoying Stopwatch
Links: SH5 mods I use, FileFront, Manual plotting how-to
Abd_von_Mumit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-10, 03:56 PM   #2
Abd_von_Mumit
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warszawa, Polska
Posts: 1,453
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 4
Default

Shameless bump with something useful in it:

When you use my "sonar check" series scripts with default game/TDW's mod settings, your TC does NOT drop to x1 when a contact is established (for me it silently drops to TC x32, which is much too much). Here is what I did to change this default behaviour:

Find your TheDarkWraithUserOptions.py file (located in \MODS\NewUIs_TDC_4_3_0_ByTheDarkWraith\data\Script s\Menu - a MUST READ), which you can edit with Notepad, find the line that says:

Code:
TCxOnMessageBoxText =
and make sure the value is True, i.e. the line looks like that after you edit it:

Code:
TCxOnMessageBoxText = True
This will let some messages displayed in your message box drop the TC.

Then find the line that says:

Code:
TCxOnMessageBoxTextDesiredTCLevel =
and input any TC you want the game to drop to when message is received. You can set it to 0 if you want the game paused, other values must be generally powers of 2, i.e.: 1, 2, 4, 8, 16, 32, 64, 128, 256 and higher. Mine is 1:

Code:
TCxOnMessageBoxTextDesiredTCLevel = 1
The last step is telling your game on what messages it should drop the TC. Find the line that says:

Code:
TCxOnMessageBoxTextNumbers = [ 9200,9201,9202,9203,9204,9205,817,4800,4801,9206,9207,9208,9209,9210,9211,9212,7666,7667 ]
The numbers are associated with records from menu.txt file. The default set that TDW put here is somewhat narrow - no idea why. I added MUCH more values to this line, and now my game does drop to 1 whenever something of significance happens. You can find out your own best set up by going through menu.txt, or you can just copy my one:

Code:
TCxOnMessageBoxTextNumbers = [ 810,811,812,813,814,815,816,817,819,4202,4203,4352,4353,4354,4355,4517,4518,4723,4800,4801,4806,4912,5879,7636,7637,7638,7639,7642,7644,7645,7666,7667,8000,8001,8002,8004,8005,8006,8007,8008,8009,8010,8011,8012,8013,8014,8015,8016,8017,8018,8019,8020,8021,8022,8023,8024,8025,8026,8027,8028,8029,8030,8031,8032,8033,8034,8035,8036,8037,8038,8039,8040,8041,8042,8043,8044,8045,8046,8047,8048,8049,8050,8051,8052,8053,8054,8057,8058,8062,8063,8064,8065,8066,8067,8068,8069,9200,9201,9202,9203,9204,9205,9206,9207,9208,9209,9210,9211,9212 ]
All lthe values I added are explained below:
Quote:
#810=Ship sighted! Bearing %03d! %s
#811=Aircraft spotted! Bearing %03d! %s
#812=Submarine sighted! Bearing %03d! %s
#813=Coastal defenses sighted! Bearing %03d! %s
#814=Single contact! Bearing %03d! %s
#815=New contact, %s %s %s Bearing %03d! %s; xls: 834, 838-841, 850-851, 852, 853, 855, 862-864
#816=Radio Report Received! %s %s, %s, Course %s, Speed %d KTS!
#817=Detecting radar signals!
#819=Sir, we've sighted a liferaft. Bearing %03d! %s
#4202=Convoy sighted.|Estimated speed %d knots.|Estimated course %d degrees.
#4203=Task Force sighted.|Estimated speed %d knots.|Estimated course %d degrees.
#4352=Oh, my God!!!
#4353=God help us!!!
#4354=We're going to die!!!
#4355=Alaaaaaarm!
#4517=Pressure hull breached!!!
#4518=We cannot stop the flooding!!!
#4723=Last waypoint reached!
#4806=Enemy radio message intercepted!
#4912=Nearest sound contact: %s %s! %s Bearing %03.0f! %s;type,speed,aspect,bearing,range
#5879=CO2 level is critical, sir!
#7636=Convoy sighted! Bearing %03d! %s
#7637=Escort sighted! Bearing %03d! %s
#7638=Capital ship sighted! Bearing %03d! %s
#7639=Unidentified ship sighted! Bearing %03d! %s
#7642=U-Boat sighted! Bearing %03d! %s
#7644=Periscope sighted! Bearing %03d! %s
#7645=Smoke on the horizon! Bearing %03d!
#7666=Task Force sighted!
#7667=We have a task force in sight!
#; Chief engineer.
#8000=Periscope repaired!
#8001=Periscope damaged!
#8002=Periscope destroyed!
#8003=Batteries now operational!
#8004=Batteries damaged!
#8005=Fore Battery disabled!
#8006=Aft Battery disabled!
#8007=Compressor repaired!
#8008=Compressor damaged!
#8009=Compressor destroyed!
#8010=Diesel engines repaired!
#8011=Port Diesel engine damaged!
#8012=Starboard Diesel engine damaged!
#8013=Diesel propulsion not functional!
#8014=Dive planes repaired!
#8015=Dive planes damaged!
#8016=Dive planes inoperational!
#8017=Propeller repaired!
#8018=Propeller damaged!
#8019=Propeller destroyed!
#8020=Rudder repaired!
#8021=Rudder damaged!
#8022=Rudder jammed!
#8023=Rudder is not responding!
#8024=Electric engines repaired!
#8025=Port Electric engine damaged!
#8026=Starboard Electric engine damaged!
#8027=Underwater propulsion not functional!
#8028=We have flooding!
#8029=We have heavy flooding
#8030=Flooding is out of control!
#8031=Flooding is under control!
#8032=Main Pump repaired!
#8033=Main Pump damaged!
#8034=Main Pump disabled!
#8035=Hydrophone out of action!
#8036=Hydrophone back on line!
#8037=Pressure hull repaired!
#8038=Pressure hull taking damage!
#8039=Pressure hull breached!
#8040=Pressure hull heavily damaged!
#; RadioMan.
#8041=Radar damaged, sir!
#8042=Radar destroyed, sir!
#8043=Radar repaired, sir!
#8044=Radio damaged, sir!
#8045=Radio destroyed, sir!
#8046=Radio repaired, sir!
#8047=We are diving too deep!
#8048=We are below critical depth!
#; Sound guy
#8049=New contact,
#8050=unknown type
#8051=warship
#8052=merchant
#8053=escort
#8054=destroyer
#8057=but I can't make out what it is
#8058=New contact, %s bearing %03d!; xls: 834, 860
#8062=I'm picking up something, but I can't make it out.
#8063=Deck gun is out of order.
#8064=Deck gun operational.
#8065=Flak gun operational.
#8066=Flak gun damaged.
#8067=Hydrophone damaged!
#8068=Torpedo tube %d is damaged! ; xls: 1093
#8069=Torpedo tube %d repaired! ; xls: 1097
Most probably some of this values are never used by game and do nothing, but this is not a problem for me.
__________________
Long, hard, wet and full of seamen. My precious.
SH3+GWX+OLC — sunk x4, retired x2; SH5+TDW — still exploring
My SH5 mods: EQuaTool - Elite Quality Map Tools, Patrol Routine Scripts, No Logo Intro Menu_Animation, Less Annoying Stopwatch
Links: SH5 mods I use, FileFront, Manual plotting how-to
Abd_von_Mumit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-11, 02:39 AM   #3
Farinhir
Loader
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 89
Downloads: 154
Uploads: 0
Default

So I have been trying to get this to work with TDWs UI which is of version 6.3 and I still have not seen any of the scripts show up. I can get krauter's and travelly's scripts going so I do not understand it at all. Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
Farinhir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-11, 08:50 AM   #4
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farinhir View Post
So I have been trying to get this to work with TDWs UI which is of version 6.3 and I still have not seen any of the scripts show up. I can get krauter's and travelly's scripts going so I do not understand it at all. Any help would be appreciated.
he never updated them to the new version the mod expects. I had to make a fundamental change to the way the scripts were coded some versions back.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-11, 12:47 PM   #5
Farinhir
Loader
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 89
Downloads: 154
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
he never updated them to the new version the mod expects. I had to make a fundamental change to the way the scripts were coded some versions back.
Thats ok. I was able to stumble upon travelly's scripts 0.3 which do some of what I was looking for. The reminders from this would be nice. I just do not know what is needed to update them else I would myself.

Only glitch I see with travelly's scripts (not really a glitch and not really his fault) is that I am now playing with real navigation and can not set waypoints, so I can not run his patrol script, which does a dive to check SONAR every hour, a turn to check baffles, then surfaces while performing an RtC command. The issue is it calls return to course and my navigator calls all stop since we do not have a plotted course. I am wondering if there is a way to add in a generic course plot. Basically, you would just set a true course as your plot and the return to course command would basically recall what course you were on. I do not know. I am just trying to figure out a workaround for this issue.
__________________
Farinhir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-11, 12:50 PM   #6
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Farinhir View Post
Thats ok. I was able to stumble upon travelly's scripts 0.3 which do some of what I was looking for. The reminders from this would be nice. I just do not know what is needed to update them else I would myself.

Only glitch I see with travelly's scripts (not really a glitch and not really his fault) is that I am now playing with real navigation and can not set waypoints, so I can not run his patrol script, which does a dive to check SONAR every hour, a turn to check baffles, then surfaces while performing an RtC command. The issue is it calls return to course and my navigator calls all stop since we do not have a plotted course. I am wondering if there is a way to add in a generic course plot. Basically, you would just set a true course as your plot and the return to course command would basically recall what course you were on. I do not know. I am just trying to figure out a workaround for this issue.
that's not going to be solved until I make the next MAJOR fundamental change to Automation - ability to define variables and call functions like I did with the tutorial feature. As it's going to be a daunting task of making this change it's going to take some time to do.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-11, 02:05 PM   #7
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,451
Downloads: 166
Uploads: 28


Default

good spot Farinhir

When script runs a dive hydro check (o bearing) followed by a 90 deg starboard - hydro check then return to course.

This could be fixed by changing the "return to course" with a 90deg left turn and a set speed.

just delete lines:-

Return_to_course,0,0,0,0,0,0,5
Surface,0,0,0,0,0,0,5

and insert this:-

Set_new_course,-90,0,0,0,0,0,5
Surface,0,0,0,0,0,0,60

I will add a real nav search on patrol to v0.4

__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-11, 03:31 PM   #8
Farinhir
Loader
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 89
Downloads: 154
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
that's not going to be solved until I make the next MAJOR fundamental change to Automation - ability to define variables and call functions like I did with the tutorial feature. As it's going to be a daunting task of making this change it's going to take some time to do.
@TDW.
Take your time. I am thankful for the awesome work you have already done.

@Travally.
Good call. This should fix my headache for now. At least the one from in-game stuff, not the one from sinus pressure.
__________________
Farinhir is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.