SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Old 09-11-05, 06:25 PM   #1
stljeffbb1
Medic

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Cloning Objects in "Plainer English" by stljeffbb1

Hello everyone!

I first start out by thanking THE_ORZEL, lurbz, Sansal, Commander1980, Shadow9216, iambecomelife, Canaris, and everyone else who has contributed to the original cloning thread....armed with this info, I was able to figure out how to clone objects! It was a somewhat difficult process, and it has taken me the better part of three weekends to finally get a handle on the whole thing....I'm still a beginner at all of this, but I am happy that I was able to clone a ship (Fishing Boat), and I presume that the other files are similarly constructed, but I'm getting ahead of myself! Lets start out from the very beginning...

Yes, this is what I felt like when I first started....all of these new things to learn about....hex strings, hexadecimal numbers, 3D rendering programs, Alpha Channels, etc. etc. etc.....however, I can attest that this stuff is not that difficult to learn, and I will now help to show you with a step by step process on what you need......

First, you will need to get some programs, many of which are free!

For the nitty gritty hex editing, go to www.download.com and type in Hex Workshop in the search area (and also keep "software" as the default choice for which type of programs you want to look for). Download Hex Workshop 4.23.....

Next, for the 3D rendering part of things (because you may want to see you models before you try them in the game), follow this link: http://www.blender.org/cms/Download.13.0.html and get Blender 2.37, which is a completely free rendering program!