SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2017, 12:43 AM   #1
Greendevil303
Shark Bait
 
Greendevil303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 89
Downloads: 194
Uploads: 0
Default Game crash after intro

Hello, all.
Have a weird issue with SH5. I installed the game today and installed JSGME, TDW Generic patcher, and reconfigured the Steam exe and installed TWoS, all to the letter (I've done it before and had no issues).
Now when I boot up the game there is a window in the left 1/3rd of the screen that runs the intro with no sound. After the intro it goes to a black screen and hangs (have to task out). IIRC, when I had TWoS installed before there was no intro at all and it worked fine.
Anyone know what could be causing this? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
Greendevil303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 05:53 AM   #2
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 7,147
Downloads: 907
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi Gd
Make sure you have updated your game to v1.2
Post #5 Update SH5 From v1.0.5.0 To v1.2.0 Immediately After Installing

Graphic problems can be a number of things.
TWOS gives you the option to installl the correct version of Direct X.
DirectX 9.0C > Download

Check also that your gpu is setup correctly and if it is Nvidia it is not using a 382.?? driver especially 382.05 which is incompatible with any version of SH.
Post #239 Changing The Nvidia GPU Settings

If you have one of these type of drivers then you can try rolling back to a previous one.
Post #303) GPU Driver Roll Back To A Previous Version.

You can also try using your trouble shooter and see if it picks up any problems.
Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 11:31 AM   #3
Greendevil303
Shark Bait
 
Greendevil303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 89
Downloads: 194
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you, sir! Got it running. I disabled the DPI mode and enabled the exe with admin rights. Game is running now, however I am having some strange shadow conflicts on the exterior of the boat. Notably, the watch crew shadows showing through the conning tower. Also, electric engine labels are solid black (no lettering). Nothing totally game-breaking for me, just wondering if I need to alter any GPU settings or graphical settings in-game to fix these issues?
Also, I am experiencing a slight "micro-stutter" when looking/walking around the ship. Is there a fix for this as well? Just FYI, I am running TWoS only, with no other mods.
Running on Win10 with GTX760ti 3BG/i5 4440 (3.1GHz)
Again, thank you for the swift response.
Greendevil303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 12:27 PM   #4
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 7,147
Downloads: 907
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi Gd
Check your in game graphic settings as your gpu IIRC is 2gb.
You can lower the default setting without losing that much definition.

I would suggest it might be worthwhile trying this application as you can set the frame rate.
Antilag By Kegetys > Curing Lagging - Stutter - Seizures
Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 01:30 PM   #5
Cyborg322
Scurvy Dog of the Deep
 
Cyborg322's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester England
Posts: 280
Downloads: 297
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greendevil303 View Post
Thank you, sir! Got it running. I disabled the DPI mode and enabled the exe with admin rights. Game is running now, however I am having some strange shadow conflicts on the exterior of the boat. Notably, the watch crew shadows showing through the conning tower. Also, electric engine labels are solid black (no lettering). Nothing totally game-breaking for me, just wondering if I need to alter any GPU settings or graphical settings in-game to fix these issues?
Also, I am experiencing a slight "micro-stutter" when looking/walking around the ship. Is there a fix for this as well? Just FYI, I am running TWoS only, with no other mods.
Running on Win10 with GTX760ti 3BG/i5 4440 (3.1GHz)
Again, thank you for the swift response.
You should not be having any problems on Max settings with your specs. Are you getting background applications/processes interrupting gameplay ?
Antivirus is normal culprit
__________________
Cyborg322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 04:12 PM   #6
Greendevil303
Shark Bait
 
Greendevil303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 89
Downloads: 194
Uploads: 0
Default

My antivirus is off during gameplay, so I don't think that's the cause. Also nothing running in the background outside of the ordinary. I now have an issue after adjusting in-game AA wjn I restart the game, it boots up to black screen and eventually the menu music starts running. Can you not adjust the AA in game??
Greendevil303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 04:24 PM   #7
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 7,147
Downloads: 907
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi GD
Anti-virus will not be a problem as it will tell you if there is one.
Quote:
Can you not adjust the AA in game??
Yes from the Graphics screen options.
By default this will be set low.


Your most likely problem is Windows 10 Creator and your current driver not being compatible.
The solutions I have previously described at least one of these should work and get your game up and running.
Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 04:35 PM   #8
Greendevil303
Shark Bait
 
Greendevil303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 89
Downloads: 194
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks again. Driver updated a couple days ago (NVIDIA). Yeah, Creators was WAY out of date. Updating now and I'll let you know what happens.
__________________
"Hooper drives the boat, chief."
Greendevil303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 04:44 PM   #9
Greendevil303
Shark Bait
 
Greendevil303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Englewood, Colorado
Posts: 89
Downloads: 194
Uploads: 0
Default

So I had a pretty big Windows update. So far I do not have any more issues with running the game
Thanks for all the help, fellas!
__________________
"Hooper drives the boat, chief."
Greendevil303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim