SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

I need forum nicknames for: Pavel Sar____, Sascha Rie____, so I can upgrade your account. PM me. -- Neal Stevens

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-05-2010, 09:51 AM   #1
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,292
Downloads: 153
Uploads: 28


Default [REL] Trevally - Harbour Pilot Scripts

[WIP]Trevally Harbour & Kiel Canal Pilot Scripts v3.1
TDW UI v6.7 or higher is required.






Harbour Pilot Scripts

This will allow a Harbour Pilot to navigate your boat out of a Harbour or the Kiel Canal.
Automated waypionts are set (unseen) that your boat will follow.
With one click you can sit back and enjoy the views, while you transit Kiel Canal.

3.0 Fixed errors with v3.0

3.0 Added Memel - the new starting port for OHII campaign "Coastal Waters"

2.9 Added Skagerrak route for Kiel (in and out)

2.8 fixed some errors

v2.7 IMPORTANT UPDATE
This version has been updated to use the new navigation commands within TDWS UI 6.7
These new commands give us two great features.

Waypoint Resume
With this we no longer have to start the script from the bunker only. When a navigation script
starts it will now look for the closest waypoint and head towards it and will continue from there.
So now you can save and end the game without having to wait until the script is complete.
When you load back up, you can select and start the script again and it will continue where you left off.
This will be most beneficial with the longer scripts like Bergen and Kiel Canal.

However it is worth noting that the script will resume to the nearest waypoint even if it is behind you.
This may cause an issue if you are in a narrow canal and you do not want to do a U turn. When
this happens, you should stop the script and move forward a small distance and try again.

Bufferzones
This will help stop you running into traffic while you are away from your computer or running high TC.
These bufferzones are like lookouts on your boat. They will continuously watchout for shipping and when
a ship gets within a set distance, the lookouts will inform the XO and he will slow your boat. This gives more
time for the ship to move out of the way. Once it is at a safe distance the XO will return your speed to where
you had set it.

There is also a second inner bufferzone. This means the ship is even closer and is now a risk to your boat.
When this happens the watch crew will inform the XO and he will order a further speed reduction and drop TC
down to one. When this happens you should check out where the ship is. When it looks like you will pass safely
you can just increase TC again and trust the lookouts to keep you informed. Speed will return to preset values.

On rare occasions you may meet a ship that is stuck directly in your path and it will not move. When this happens
you should take over from the XO. To do this you do not need to stop the script. You can simpley note your heading
and then adjust it until you will miss the stuck ship. When you have passed, just reset you original heading and
the script will pick up and continue.



V2.6
Added Toulon Harbour as this will now be a base in the new campaign mod.
Fixed some paths to make use of the navigation buoys also in the new campaign


Harbours Tested.

Status of harbours with untrained crew are:-

Brest - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
St Nazaire - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
La Pallice - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
La Spezia - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
Lorient - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
Bergen - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
Kiel Inbound - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
Kiel Outbound - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
Piraeus - Tested - No. No reported errors.
Wilhelmshaven - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
Toulon - Tested - Yes. No errors



Status of harbours with fully trained crew are:-

Brest - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
St Nazaire - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
La Pallice - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
La Spezia - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
Lorient - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
Bergen - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
Kiel Inbound - Tested - No. No reported errors.
Kiel Outbound - Tested - No. No reported errors.
Piraeus - Tested - Yes. No reported errors.
Wilhelmshaven - Tested - No. No reported errors.
Toulon - Tested - Yes. No errors


For best results you should start the Pilot when you are still in the bunker.

To start a pilot you need to click the Automation icon and select "Harbour Pilot" then choose the pilot for the harbour you are in and click start.

After starting, you can adjust the TC (within X16 when close to wharf).

When you are clear of any wharfs, you can change speed. Please do not change speed when you are in a wharf with very tight corners.

When the Pilot has reached a clear path to open sea, TC will drop to x1 and a message will be diplayed allowing you to plot your next waypoint.


Kiel Harbour and Canal. (see pic set here) http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showpost.php?p=1700656&postcount=201

Outbound

Here you start in the bunker of Kiel Harbour and you use this one as you would any other pilot script. Pilot will navigate your boat out of the harbour and up to the canal. Once at the entrance he will continue all the way through until you reach Cuxhaven at the opening to the North Sea.

As with harbour pilot, you can adjust TC straight away. Short spell of x128 is ok if away from shipping. x32 to x64 is recommended. Messages warning you of upcoming traffic will be displayed.
Once you have reached the North Sea TC will drop to x1 and a message will be diplayed allowing you to plot your next waypoint.


Inbound

With inbound you must position your u-boat within the 15KM circle near the Harbour of Cuxhaven to start.




Pilot will navigate you back through the canal and close enought to Kiel harbour for you to dock.




Kiel Harbour Skagerrak Route

Outbound

Here you start in the bunker of Kiel Harbour and you use this one as you would any other pilot script. Pilot will navigate your boat out of the harbour and north though Skagerrak. Harbour Pilot will leave your boat as you reach the North Sea.

As with harbour pilot, you can adjust TC straight away. x256 is recommended. Messages warning you of upcoming traffic will be displayed.
Once you have reached the North Sea TC will drop to x1 and a message will be diplayed allowing you to plot your next waypoint.

Inbound

With inbound you must position your u-boat within the 100KM circle shown below.



Pilot will navigate you back Skagerrak and down to Kiel harbour for you to dock.


Download v3.1 Subsim http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=3096


Installation Unistall any previous versions first, then use JSGME to install anytime after TDW UI mod. It is ok to overwrite the UI nav and automation folder.


A huge thanks to TheDarkWraith for his automation scripts within the UI and for his help making this.





Trevally Tutorials SH5
(see my tutorials here)



Other automation scripts here:-
Krauter - http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=173805
Abd von Mupit- http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=174382
Trevally- http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=174400 TDW UI V4.9 or higher is required.
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5

Last edited by Trevally.; 05-07-2013 at 01:54 PM. Reason: v3.0
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 10:25 AM   #2
haegemon
Medic
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 163
Downloads: 2
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm not sure if they assisted uboots during war time. However those harbor pilots should have diferent "alert states" cos during an air raid vessels tried to leave port by their own. The same way the ships should stop at the outskirts of the port to let the pilot to leave to his aux boat.

Something cool to add:

Ships travelling in channels like the one in Kiel were towed by one or two tugboats while this operation was supervised by a pilot from the ship itself.
haegemon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 10:54 AM   #3
Abd_von_Mumit
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warszawa, Polska
Posts: 1,457
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 4
Default

Very impressive, though a risky solution. I planned to release such scripts for harbours, but only after adding "add_new_waypoint" command to scripts.

How did you work around the problem of not applying _new_course (and other) commands when in high TC? Did you test them for TC > 32? (curious, as I didn't find a solution for this yet).

Inspirational idea, thanks.
__________________
Long, hard, wet and full of seamen. My precious.
SH3+GWX+OLC — sunk x4, retired x2; SH5+TDW — still exploring
My SH5 mods: EQuaTool - Elite Quality Map Tools, Patrol Routine Scripts, No Logo Intro Menu_Animation, Less Annoying Stopwatch
Links: SH5 mods I use, FileFront, Manual plotting how-to
Abd_von_Mumit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 11:06 AM   #4
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,292
Downloads: 153
Uploads: 28


Default

Hi haegemon

Thanks for the info. These scripts wont be everyones cup o tea.

I for one would be wary of a pilot if I was a real uboat Captian.
Im sure I would be watching him very closely, just like I do when using these scripts
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 11:21 AM   #5
DavyJonesFootlocker
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Stink Drunk in Trinidad
Posts: 1,572
Downloads: 138
Uploads: 0
Default

Wish I could use this but I'll wait. I might just end up on dry land.
__________________
"Silence means death. Stand on your feet. Inner fear your worst enemy."- Sepultura.
My Silent Hunter 5 mantra is this......"Torpedo missed, sir!"
A P-400 is a P-40 with a Zero after it.
A proud member of the Wikipedia Haters Club
DavyJonesFootlocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 11:24 AM   #6
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,292
Downloads: 153
Uploads: 28


Default

Hi Abd von Mumit

Thanks, I used set heading commands to guide through each maze.
The real problem with this method is speed.
There are so many different things that affect speed. I use speeds that I found changed least with different variables. ie 9knots

For Brest I found 9knots hard to turn in time so used 6knots. As I said above, in some boats (VIIc41 good crew) this could result in a 2 knot higher speed. I found to get the 6knot I had to click 5knots

The longer the maze run the more chance for errors - thats why I found Brest the most difficult one to path allowing for slower reactions in crew and boat responses.

I tested all harbours at TC x1, x2 and x4 only. I am sure x32 would either blow up my computer or end my career quick smart.

Yes if we could get a command "set_waypoint, -150,2000,9,0,0,0"
with
-150 = relative heading
2000= distance
9=speed

Perhaps with this It would have been a whole lot easier
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 11:27 AM   #7
DavyJonesFootlocker
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Stink Drunk in Trinidad
Posts: 1,572
Downloads: 138
Uploads: 0
Default

erm. but isn't that what waypoints are for?
__________________
"Silence means death. Stand on your feet. Inner fear your worst enemy."- Sepultura.
My Silent Hunter 5 mantra is this......"Torpedo missed, sir!"
A P-400 is a P-40 with a Zero after it.
A proud member of the Wikipedia Haters Club
DavyJonesFootlocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 11:29 AM   #8
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,292
Downloads: 153
Uploads: 28


Default

Yes Davy but require lots of waypiont clicking.
I was looking for a one click option
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2010, 08:30 PM   #9
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,993
Downloads: 146
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevally. View Post
Yes Davy but require lots of waypiont clicking.
I was looking for a one click option
I'm working on Automation being able to read a file for the waypoint info and navigate those waypoints New command for it will be Navigate_from_file.
Format of the file's contents for the waypoint info I haven't decided on yet - leaning towards lat and long coordinates for each waypoint along with speed and depth for each waypoint.
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 05:41 AM   #10
The General
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mountain Ash, Wales, U.K.
Posts: 1,547
Downloads: 177
Uploads: 3
Default

I'd love an auto-plot for Keil Canal, a la GWX
__________________
***THE GENERAL***
The General is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 06:34 AM   #11
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,292
Downloads: 153
Uploads: 28


Default

Hi General

When the set waypoint command is introduced by TDW, then Keil Canal would be possible.

I would also tighten up the others to prevent speed being a factor.
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 06:59 AM   #12
Abd_von_Mumit
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warszawa, Polska
Posts: 1,457
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 4
Default

Make one for la Manche aka English Channel as well.
__________________
Long, hard, wet and full of seamen. My precious.
SH3+GWX+OLC — sunk x4, retired x2; SH5+TDW — still exploring
My SH5 mods: EQuaTool - Elite Quality Map Tools, Patrol Routine Scripts, No Logo Intro Menu_Animation, Less Annoying Stopwatch
Links: SH5 mods I use, FileFront, Manual plotting how-to
Abd_von_Mumit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 07:13 AM   #13
Trevally.
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AN1536 (Orkney)
Posts: 5,292
Downloads: 153
Uploads: 28


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abd_von_Mumit View Post
Make one for la Manche aka English Channel as well.
As lond as "Bernaaard!!!" keeps his hands of the telegraph
__________________
Trevally Mods for SH5
Trevally. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 09:53 PM   #14
raymond6751
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,252
Downloads: 273
Uploads: 0


Default But...

What is AI for? I know it would be hard with scripting, but some form of land/shallows avoidance would be great!

Then you could set your final waypoint, where you want to end up, and the sub would avoid hazards automagically. Kind of like the travel mode button.

I just wish I could get the captain off the bridge with a script command, so the crew won't refuse to dive! Anyway, the pilot would have to wear his water wings, cause I would dive with or without him aboard.
__________________
Sub Nut
raymond6751 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 10:30 PM   #15
Abd_von_Mumit
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warszawa, Polska
Posts: 1,457
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raymond6751 View Post
I just wish I could get the captain off the bridge with a script command, so the crew won't refuse to dive! Anyway, the pilot would have to wear his water wings, cause I would dive with or without him aboard.
You can do that with scripts. TDW's mod has own crash dive command that teleports you from the brudge if you wish, you can also set a delay for it in your User Config. There are also other script possibilities to be moved from the bridge. If you have an idea for a new useful script - share it, and you'll see me (and probably also Trevally) doing our best to script it for you.
__________________
Long, hard, wet and full of seamen. My precious.
SH3+GWX+OLC — sunk x4, retired x2; SH5+TDW — still exploring
My SH5 mods: EQuaTool - Elite Quality Map Tools, Patrol Routine Scripts, No Logo Intro Menu_Animation, Less Annoying Stopwatch
Links: SH5 mods I use, FileFront, Manual plotting how-to
Abd_von_Mumit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2014 Subsim