SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Fleet Boat Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2009, 12:22 PM   #1
AVGWarhawk
Lucky Jack
 
AVGWarhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In a 1954 Buick.
Posts: 26,213
Downloads: 87
Uploads: 0


SH4 and Vista/Windows 7 Installation

Note - Vista proceedures are different from other OS in that only with vista do you need to change the normal install location for the game, all other OS are installed normally.

For those members that are moving on to Vista as an OS, do not think Vista will not let you run the game. I run Vista 64 Home Premium and SH4 runs perfectly. There are however a few things recommended! From personal experience I did the following to allow Vista to run SH4:

1. (vista users only) Create a root folder for your game(s). I created a root folder off the hard drive and named it GAMES2. I named it GAMES2 because there is a GAMES folder supplied by the Vista OS. Less confusion. This folder contains the MS provided OS games, ie chess, etc. So, you can name it KILLER SUB GAMES if you want. Up to you!

2a. (vista users only) Once done, insert your SH4 disc for installation. When prompted showing the files will load to the X86 files, click Browse and navigate to your newly created root folder for your games. Click OK and let it load.

2b. for all other OS install the game normally by clicking OK and let it load.

3. Once complete, install your patches or 1.5 add on disc. No worries, the install will find your UBI folder and load correctly.

4. As a side note, sometime the very first time you start SH4 with Vista, the menu screen will be black yet the music is playing, etc. No problem, open up the task manager and shut down the game. Go to your video card tweak program and reset the card to the default values(usually just a box to check and click OK. Start the game and the menu should not be black anymore. The game should look as it usually does. Close it out. Go back to your video card tweak program and reset the card to your liking. That's it, you will never have to do that again(unless you do a complete reinstall down the road)

5. Install JSGME. Runs like it does in XP. No issues here.

As far as running the install as administrator, no harm in doing that. I did not have do this. Some folks UAC are different from Vista OS to Vista OS. That is about it really. If anyone has anything to add, please do
__________________
“You're painfully alive in a drugged and dying culture.”
― Richard Yates, Revolutionary Road

Last edited by Webster; 09-28-2013 at 12:37 PM.
AVGWarhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 12:49 PM   #2
silent killer
Soundman
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kingston Ontario
Posts: 141
Downloads: 49
Uploads: 0
Default sh4 and vista

hi AVGWARHAWK i have run the game on vista 32 bit system since vista came out with no problems,switched to vista 64 bit home prem. no problems,i use 2 hard drive, 1 for the op syst and the 2nd. hard drive for games,
__________________
silent killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 12:58 PM   #3
AVGWarhawk
Lucky Jack
 
AVGWarhawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: In a 1954 Buick.
Posts: 26,213
Downloads: 87
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks for the info. The more info provided with tips and tricks will help those having a problem getting the game going with Vista
__________________
“You're painfully alive in a drugged and dying culture.”
― Richard Yates, Revolutionary Road
AVGWarhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 04:35 PM   #4
jmardlin
Soundman
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Millington, MI USA
Posts: 145
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 8
Default

One thing with vista 64 and mods, when you use jsgme vista may create compatibility files in a separate folder. If you have problems switching mods you will need to delete these then the mods will function correctly again. You can click on the tab in sh4 folder or open it in your appdata/virtualstore/"your install location here"/Ubisoft/Silent Hunter Wolves of the Pacific folder.
jmardlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 05:00 PM   #5
rcdem
Nub
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
Downloads: 34
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm running Vista 64 as well, and have not encountered any problems with SH3, SH4, or JSGME.
rcdem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 05:07 PM   #6
Chef
Seaman
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 41
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcdem View Post
I'm running Vista 64 as well, and have not encountered any problems with SH3, SH4, or JSGME.
Same here for SH4 and JSGME.
Chef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2009, 06:01 PM   #7
jmardlin
Soundman
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Millington, MI USA
Posts: 145
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 8
Default

In some installs it may do this. I think the previous version of JSGME could cause this... The newest version may not. If you look closely a lot of games cause this and they run just fine. It is because they are made to run on multiple versions of windows. I have had problems with mods uninstalling because of this. Easy to fix though.
jmardlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 05:38 AM   #8
Maserati
Watch
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 26
Downloads: 28
Uploads: 0
Default

Wish I'd checked this thread before I decided to reinstall.
Maserati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 12:41 PM   #9
MonTana_Prussian
Ensign
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Helena,Montana
Posts: 234
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chef View Post
Same here for SH4 and JSGME.
And the same here as well.
MonTana_Prussian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 02:58 PM   #10
sladecutter3
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: 3514N8050W
Posts: 13
Downloads: 64
Uploads: 0
Default

no problems with vista 64 here, or with JSGME
sladecutter3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 05:38 PM   #11
Aniuk
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 124
Downloads: 384
Uploads: 0
Default no problems

Running SH4 with TMO 1.7 on Vista 32 bits. Never had a problem. Only had to put two files dsound.ini and dsound.dll (X-FI files from Creative Alchemy made for Creative sound card) in the program directory to get 5.1 sound AND install directx 9.0c from Microsoft. The game runs like . Aniuk
Aniuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 08:19 PM   #12
thumper
Gunner
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Reno, Nevada.
Posts: 98
Downloads: 394
Uploads: 0
Default cannot install mods

I HAVE A NEW GATEWAY DX4200-09 WITH WINDOWS VISTA..I CANNOT INSTALL MODS TO THE MOD FOLDER, A MESSAGE POPS UP SAYING CANNOT FIND FILE PATH..WHAT SHALL I DO??
thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 08:48 PM   #13
jmardlin
Soundman
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Millington, MI USA
Posts: 145
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 8
Default

you must run JSGME once for it to create the mods folder then unzip the mod to the desktop open that folder to find the folder that contains the mod it is the one with the data folder with it then copy it to the mods folder
jmardlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2009, 09:49 PM   #14
thumper
Gunner
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Reno, Nevada.
Posts: 98
Downloads: 394
Uploads: 0
Default I found the problem

Its ME, All i had to do was restart the computer..
thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2009, 06:33 AM   #15
Aniuk
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 124
Downloads: 384
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thumper View Post
I HAVE A NEW GATEWAY DX4200-09 WITH WINDOWS VISTA..I CANNOT INSTALL MODS TO THE MOD FOLDER, A MESSAGE POPS UP SAYING CANNOT FIND FILE PATH..WHAT SHALL I DO??
Run JGSM
OR create the directory by hand.

something like this (depends on your install path)

"C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter 4 Wolves of the Pacific\Mods"

It works.
Aniuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim