SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
The newest naval sim by Totel Games!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations!

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2009, 03:03 PM   #1
VikingGrandad
Commerce Raider
 
VikingGrandad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: AM93
Posts: 90
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default [REL] GWX3 Cfg files for SH3 Commander - easy installer [v 1.2]

WHAT IS IT?
An easy-to-use installer for the Cfg files needed to run JScones' new SH3 Commander (version 3.2) with GWX3.


WHY?

Shortly after the release of GWX3, the GWX team made a handy Cfg files installer for what was then the final version of SH3 Commander...

...Then came the surprise announcement of the all-new SH3 Commander 3.2!

Because one of the files in the previous Cfg installer does not work with SH3 Commander 3.2, a more complicated installation process was needed. (this process still applies if you run GWX 2.1, as detailed in JScones' installation instructions).

So I've made an easy-to-use installer that puts the required GWX3 Cfg files for SH3 Commander 3.2 in the right place, saving the hassle or confusion of having to install to a temporary folder, remove one of the files, then manually install the remaining files into SH3 Commander's Cfg folder.


IMPORTANT NOTES:
  • You only need to use this installer if you want to run SH3 Commander 3.2 with GWX3.
  • This installer does not install SH3 Commander, just the special files (configuration files, or "Cfg files") that SH3 Commander 3.2 needs to work with GWX 3.0. You must install SH3 Commander 3.2 first!
  • If you've already followed JScones' original instructions for the previous Cfg files installer, you don't need to run this installer! (but if you ever need to re-install SH3 Commander 3.2 to run with GWX3, then this installer will save you time).
  • DO NOT use this installer if you're using any other version of SH3 Commander, any other version of GWX or any other supermod such as NYGM.
  • If you have more than one installation of SH3 Commander, make sure that the path presented in the 'Select Destination Location' screen is the installation you want to add the GWX3 Cfg files to.

INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS
:
  1. Download 'GWX3_SH3Cdr3.2Files_v1.2.exe' from my Filefront page and save it to your desktop (or wherever you want)
  2. Double-click on "GWX3_SH3Cdr3.2Files_v1.2.exe"
  3. Follow the simple step-by-step instructions to install the files
  4. You're done!

TECHIE INFO:

The installer does the following:

1. Puts the following files into the Cfg directory
in your SH3 Commander directory
  • Menu variable_de.txt
  • Menu variable_en.txt
  • Menu variable_fr.txt
  • Randomised events.cfg
  • Ship displacements.cfg
  • U-boat availability.cfg

2.
Puts 'GWX3 files readme.txt' into your SH3 Commander directory

That's all!


Big thanks to: Privateer, Jimbuna, bigboywooly, irish1958, Alex and JScones


Any questions, let me know.
__________________


Last edited by VikingGrandad; 11-11-2009 at 03:39 PM. Reason: Download link changed to Subsim downloads page
VikingGrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 03:30 PM   #2
Contact
Keelhauled
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Banned for trolling
Posts: 1,331
Downloads: 24
Uploads: 0
Default

Got it, thanks
Contact is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 03:50 PM   #3
Madox58
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 9,578
Downloads: 72
Uploads: 12
Default

Glad you took care of it Mate.
My system has been screwed for over a week now.
And could not take care of it.
Madox58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 03:56 PM   #4
harzfeld
Electrician's Mate
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 135
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Curious, can commander 3.2 overwrite commander 3.0? I am currently running 3.0 I think, but wondering if I can easily install 3.2 like that without reinstall GWX3.0 & SH3? Can it overwrite any previous versions of commander?
harzfeld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 04:22 PM   #5
bigboywooly
Rear Admiral
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10,082
Downloads: 20
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harzfeld
Curious, can commander 3.2 overwrite commander 3.0? I am currently running 3.0 I think, but wondering if I can easily install 3.2 like that without reinstall GWX3.0 & SH3? Can it overwrite any previous versions of commander?
Yes AFAIK you can use the update button
Failing that running the new 3.2 will overwrite the old 3 install
Just remember to readd any necessary cfgs after - such as GWX , posted above lol or for NYGM
bigboywooly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 11:23 PM   #6
JScones
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,512
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harzfeld
Curious, can commander 3.2 overwrite commander 3.0? I am currently running 3.0 I think, but wondering if I can easily install 3.2 like that without reinstall GWX3.0 & SH3? Can it overwrite any previous versions of commander?
Your questions are answered in the installer, assuming you read the "!!PLEASE READ BEFORE CONTINUING!!" screen.

I have posted the full contents of this screen in my release thread (post #3).

@VG: I'll update my first post shortly.

BTW, just a suggestion, you guys making these GWX for SH3Cmdr file installers would make it MUCH easier for users if you didn't assume where they installed SH3Cmdr. It'd be much better to grab the *actual* path from the Registry and default to it.
__________________
Download the JSGME Generic Mod Enabler
JScones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:07 AM   #7
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
Subsim.com
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 117,624
Downloads: 48
Uploads: 11


Default

Nice piece of kit VG

Just one small point/observation......it weren't me that built the CFG files installer
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:42 AM   #8
VikingGrandad
Commerce Raider
 
VikingGrandad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: AM93
Posts: 90
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by privateer
Glad you took care of it Mate.
My system has been screwed for over a week now.
And could not take care of it.
My pleasure, Privateer.

I hope you get your rig fixed soon!
__________________

VikingGrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 05:51 AM   #9
VikingGrandad
Commerce Raider
 
VikingGrandad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: AM93
Posts: 90
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JScones
@VG: I'll update my first post shortly.
Thanks for doing that

(just a very small point though, the link you added jumps to an anchor point further down this thread, rather than the first post...)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JScones
BTW, just a suggestion, you guys making these GWX for SH3Cmdr file installers would make it MUCH easier for users if you didn't assume where they installed SH3Cmdr. It'd be much better to grab the *actual* path from the Registry and default to it.
Good idea. I'll see if I can figure out how to do that.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbuna
Nice piece of kit VG

Just one small point/observation......it weren't me that built the CFG files installer
@Jimbuna - noted!

Sorry, I assumed you'd made the installer as you posted the release thread...

I've updated my first post accordingly - and to reflect JScones' revised SH3 Commander installation instructions.

I've also clarified that my installer does not install SH3 Commander, following a misunderstanding by someone in the Ubi forum.


Thanks guys!
__________________

VikingGrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 11:14 AM   #10
Vader 1
Engineer
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 202
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks again for making assess to this must have utlity possible

Vader
__________________
Never Forget!
Vader 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 10:09 PM   #11
JScones
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,512
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGrandad
(just a very small point though, the link you added jumps to an anchor point further down this thread, rather than the first post...)
I have no idea what you are talking about.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGrandad
Quote:
Originally Posted by JScones
BTW, just a suggestion, you guys making these GWX for SH3Cmdr file installers would make it MUCH easier for users if you didn't assume where they installed SH3Cmdr. It'd be much better to grab the *actual* path from the Registry and default to it.
Good idea. I'll see if I can figure out how to do that.
Replace:
Code:
DefaultDirName={pf}\SH3 Commander
with
Code:
DefaultDirName={reg:HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\SH3 Commander_is1,InstallLocation|{pf}\SH3 Commander}
This is the quick and simple solution. It looks for SH3 Commander's install path and defaults to "Program Files\SH3 Commander" only if an install path is not found.

Of course, the basic logic here is that if no install path is found, then it is safe to assume that SH3 Commander has not been installed. So, while the above will work, *I* would go one step further and check when the installer initialises whether SH3 Commander exists. If not, then a graceful error and exit. If so, continue on, defaulting to the found path, but still allowing the user to override it if they wish (ie in case they've installed multiple copies of SH3 Commander).

The original GWX installer does this wrt to the SH3 path (the latest ones don't) and likewise all my installers. It's a very basic and simple thing to do but makes a big difference to userability.
__________________
Download the JSGME Generic Mod Enabler
JScones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 06:44 AM   #12
VikingGrandad
Commerce Raider
 
VikingGrandad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: AM93
Posts: 90
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks JScones. I had an attempt at getting the install path from the registry to work yesterday, and uploaded a test version to my FF page that used:

Code:
DefaultDirName={reg:HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\SH3 Commander_is1,InstallLocation}
That works, but of course the code you've posted is more flexible as it includes the extra bit for defaulting to the install path as a fallback, so I'll make a new .exe using that code.

Good to learn about these things. May come in handy for future projects!
__________________

VikingGrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 07:32 AM   #13
VikingGrandad
Commerce Raider
 
VikingGrandad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: AM93
Posts: 90
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default

Thread updated - new version of the installer uploaded (NOTE - the Cfg files it installs have NOT changed)
__________________

VikingGrandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 11:16 AM   #14
Kpt. Lehmann
GWX Project Manager
 
Kpt. Lehmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Republic of Texas
Posts: 6,640
Downloads: 58
Uploads: 0


Default

Nice work VG!
__________________


TheGreyWolves.com
It is better to live a short and meaningful life... than a long and miserable one.
Kpt. Lehmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 01:03 AM   #15
JScones
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 5,512
Downloads: 19
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VikingGrandad
Good to learn about these things. May come in handy for future projects!
Microsoft has published (via the msdn) a set of installer/uninstaller standards. If you haven't seen them before, I'd recommend having a look.
__________________
Download the JSGME Generic Mod Enabler
JScones is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim