Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > General Topics
Forget password? Reset here

Old 06-16-07, 04:39 AM   #1
Ansirial
Swabbie

Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0
Default WWII Subs Hulls - grey or red?

I'm a modeler and viewing many sources for the two models I'm building (a Type VII U-boot and a gato, both in 1/72 scale) I find something strange:

the istructions says that the hull should be grey for the VII and Black for the gato but in certain cases I find models with a red painted hull.

I build 3-4 small submarines models in the 90's and according to the sources I find I painted hulls in red (a common minium to prevent rust should be red)

Do you know how is the story? in the 2k WWII submarines changed hull colour? Or maybe something was discovered?
Ansirial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 04:54 AM   #2
fatty
The Old Man

Downloads: 10

I am unsure of exact years or dates but I know that before the war, u-boat hulls were painted red. Sometime around the start of the war they started painting them grey. I can't comment on the U.S. subs.
fatty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-07, 05:42 AM   #3
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team

Downloads: 109
Uploads: 2

US submarines pre-war were painted in MS9 (Measure 9 or camouflage scheme 9 http://www.shipcamouflage.com/measure_9.htm) which meant all-matt black for any visible part, believing that helped most the invisibility by night. Later in the war they found out that a light grey on the sides combined with matt grey on the upperparts (Deck and upper part of basllast tanks) was better.

Germans already knew that light or dark grey was better overall, so they started the war like that. They later also tried schemes that included traces and figures to modify the visual perspective from far away. Those latter ones do not make the ship invisible but deceive about the true course and dimension of her.