SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Old 04-29-07, 09:29 PM   #1
Iceberg
Bosun

Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default [REL] Reduced Map Contacts Information

*Edit: It turns out a mod was already in the works for this but I hadn't found it.

Thanks Observer.

Here's the link: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=108998

Edit*

I was using RUB when I was playing SH3 and the thing that I missed the most from it when I started playing SH4 was the mod that made all contacts on the map the same color. It really adds to immersion to have to actually see the flag on a ship before knowing if you can attack it.

So I ported it from RUB to SH4 and thought you guys might enjoy it.

Credits go to GouldJG, Observer and Beery for the original mod. (let me know if I forgot somebody)

Description:

- This mod has all contacts displayed on the map the same color regardless if they're Allied or Axis. You now have to visually identify the ships yourself.

- Contacts no longer have a "tail" revealing their true heading.

- Contacts on the map do not appear at high zoom factor.

- The sonar contacts have reduced precision for distance to the contacts.

I recommend installing it with JSGME.

Enjoy.

Last edited by Iceberg; 04-30-07 at 05:40 AM.
Iceberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-07, 11:48 PM   #2
jhelix70
Sparky

Thanks, sounds like a great mod!!

Maybe you know how to do this. I want to turn off the contacts on the map but retain the sonar lines (with the decreased distance precision)? Any idea what files I need to change?
jhelix70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-07, 12:14 AM   #3
Observer
Commander

Downloads: 6

FYI

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...isted+plotting

New version in the works to fix a few small errors if anyone is still interested.