SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2013, 11:05 AM   #16
ninja turtle
Frogman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ellesmere Port, UK
Posts: 291
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0
Charts add on

Hi matey. I'd love to use this mod but after downloading, installing via JSGME whilst in port I don't appear to have any charts as exampled in these images (which look awesome). I am using GWX Gold mod with SH3 as well. Any ideas? Really hate clicking through the ship recon. manual.
ninja turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 01:35 AM   #17
sublynx
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,660
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja turtle View Post
Hi matey. I'd love to use this mod but after downloading, installing via JSGME whilst in port I don't appear to have any charts as exampled in these images (which look awesome). I am using GWX Gold mod with SH3 as well. Any ideas? Really hate clicking through the ship recon. manual.
Are you using MaGui F mod as well as GWX? If not, JSGME will probably not work for you.

Do you use any other mods that alter menu_1024_768.ini?

I'm sorry to say that installing the mod is not very easy. Most people probably need to do it by hand - first copying the tga files to the right folder and then editing and renumbering menu_1024_768.ini.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 03:40 AM   #18
brett25
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland CA, USA
Posts: 733
Downloads: 561
Uploads: 0
Default

I frickin love these kinda of mods....simple and so relevant.... really great stuff, mate, well done
brett25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 06:45 AM   #19
ninja turtle
Frogman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ellesmere Port, UK
Posts: 291
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sublynx View Post
Are you using MaGui F mod as well as GWX? If not, JSGME will probably not work for you.

Do you use any other mods that alter menu_1024_768.ini?

I'm sorry to say that installing the mod is not very easy. Most people probably need to do it by hand - first copying the tga files to the right folder and then editing and renumbering menu_1024_768.ini.
Thanks for the reply. I've now installed MaGui F along with GWX, but it hasn't worked. However I'm very impressed with the MaGui mod. Certainly makes the game more immersive. I'm always worried about changing files within the game as I'm not that clued up with computers. Thanks again for the help fellow mariner.
ninja turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 09:11 AM   #20
sublynx
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,660
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ninja turtle View Post
Thanks for the reply. I've now installed MaGui F along with GWX, but it hasn't worked.
The order of the mods is relevant as well. First you install GWX, then MaGui F, and after those two, Charts addon.

Be sure to make a backup copy if you decide to try editing the menu file - without a working menu_1072_768.ini file SH3 will most likely crash.

@brett25: thanks a lot, much appreciated!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2013, 11:40 AM   #21
ninja turtle
Frogman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ellesmere Port, UK
Posts: 291
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0
I tried installing in the order you said but no joy. Oh well! I'll just carry on and try and sink ships. Thanks for the help
ninja turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:42 AM   #22
sublynx
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,660
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

Damn. I have no idea of anything else you could try to get it working.

Maybe you can print some of the charts on paper - that is how I played before I managed to make this mod. Here's a link where you'll find the ship recognition pictures in pdf format:

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/down...o=file&id=1487

Good luck on sinking those ships
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:40 AM   #23
brett25
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland CA, USA
Posts: 733
Downloads: 561
Uploads: 0
Default

this may be a long shot ninja turtle, but make sure when you click on the charts addon folder, your next folder inside that is the data folder, etc. Sometimes the way zip files work is you may see another charts addon folder inside the first one, if this is the case the mod will not be installing in JGSME. Usually a sign that the mod is installing will be a JGSME warning that you are about to overwrite this or that file, which is what you want to do....good luck
brett25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:14 AM   #24
sublynx
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,660
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

What this mod does in a nutshell is it

1. adds pictures (copy paste tga files)
2. tells SH3 where to find those pictures (edit menu_1024_768.ini)
3. tells SH3 where to show those pictures (edit menu_1024_768.ini)

If menu_1024_768.ini is messed up SH3 will most likely crash when loading. So my hunch is the same as brett25's: probably SH3 can't find the pictures and it might be useful to doublecheck that the pictures really are in the folder where they should be (SH3/data/menu/gui/layout).
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 12:39 PM   #25
Anvar1061
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: on land,on air and on sea
Posts: 796
Downloads: 494
Uploads: 0
Default

In archive not correct way. There is no Menu folder.
Anvar1061 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:12 PM   #26
ninja turtle
Frogman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ellesmere Port, UK
Posts: 291
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0
First of all thank you so much for the help I'm getting in this post. @brett25 I'll recheck what I tried to put in JSGME tomorrow after work. I'm sure I checked whether the folder was correct with the data folder inside but with my track record of installing mods...who knows? @sublynx I've downloaded your link with pdf files and will definitely be using them as a guide/tutorial...a bit of bedtime reading when I'm away with work and away from my games pc and as assistance when playing I'll keep you updated on this thread if I have any joy with the mod...or not. Thanks again guys
ninja turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:31 AM   #27
ninja turtle
Frogman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ellesmere Port, UK
Posts: 291
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0
Well I've checked the folder for the mod and I have: 'data', 'make your own charts', 'menu_1024_768.ini', and 'readme and installation.doc' sub folders within. I put the whole folder with the other contents (as it contains 'data') into JSGME but it doesn't seem to work.
ninja turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:31 AM   #28
sublynx
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,660
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

I think Anvar1061 has solved this problem, thank a million I seem to have made some kind of mistake in packing my mod and the folder path is wrong

I'll make a new archive package of my mod with a correct folder structure and hopefully JSGME works as it should after that. I believe I'll have time to upload the corrected mod package tonight.

If not or you don't want to waste time waiting or downloading, just unpack the mod and change the folder path yourselves:

The tga files are now in a folder Charts addon/data/gui/layout
The tga files should be in a folder Charts addon/data/menu/gui/layout

1. Unpack the archive
2. Open folder Charts addon/data
3. Add a new folder and name it menu
4. Cut folder gui
5. Go to folder menu
6. Paste folder gui

After that it should work through JSGME.

I'll post again after having uploaded a corrected version of my mod.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:06 AM   #29
sublynx
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: In the conning tower of my VIIC scanning the sea through the periscope
Posts: 1,660
Downloads: 172
Uploads: 7
Default

Ok. Now the file in downloads section should be a new corrected one.

Please let me know if it works or if there still is a problem of some sorts.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
NYGM+H.sie v16+Stiebler 4C+MaGui WS
sublynx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 11:11 AM   #30
ninja turtle
Frogman
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Ellesmere Port, UK
Posts: 291
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sublynx View Post
I think Anvar1061 has solved this problem, thank a million I seem to have made some kind of mistake in packing my mod and the folder path is wrong

I'll make a new archive package of my mod with a correct folder structure and hopefully JSGME works as it should after that. I believe I'll have time to upload the corrected mod package tonight.

If not or you don't want to waste time waiting or downloading, just unpack the mod and change the folder path yourselves:

The tga files are now in a folder Charts addon/data/gui/layout
The tga files should be in a folder Charts addon/data/menu/gui/layout

1. Unpack the archive
2. Open folder Charts addon/data
3. Add a new folder and name it menu
4. Cut folder gui
5. Go to folder menu
6. Paste folder gui

After that it should work through JSGME.

I'll post again after having uploaded a corrected version of my mod.
Fantastic news!! I'll wait till you've updated it and download the amended version. I take it I should delete the previous charts add on? Thanks @Anvar1061. I saw your reply but had no idea what it meant Looking forward to using your mod finally
ninja turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim