SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Attention Jeff Bezos: open your wallet.

Books, games, video, cameras, thongs; just remember to start your Amazon shopping
with this banner. It costs you nothing but SUBSIM gets $$$ from Amazon!



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2018, 12:30 PM   #2341
finchOU
Captain
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 545
Downloads: 74
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent Steel View Post
Servus finchOu
This sounds like a lack of RAM.
Check if you have some background programs running.

Viel Glück am Jagd
/Silent Steel
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyborg322 View Post
Hmm... 16GB should be plenty enough Xbox Live Geforce Experience can cause stuttering. A background process as you say is most suspect some Antivirus can really hog resources


Simon
Yeah definitely not a Ram Issue. What do you guys do to shutdown back ground processes? I also have stuttering when looking through the binoculars at a large convoy....like a rapidly vibrating screen...then back to normal. I've never figured that one out.
__________________
Intel i7-2700K-3.50GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 xGTX 560,2GB,SLI,2 TB HD
The Wolves of Steel 1.06
The Wolves of Steel 1.06 Update 05c
finchOU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 03:20 PM   #2342
Ashikaga
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 221
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Quick question.

My navigator for a while now refuses to do celestial fixes.
I click on it and three hours later, realtime, still no fix.

Anyone know what could be wrong ?
Ashikaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 03:53 PM   #2343
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 7,449
Downloads: 918
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi A
Does he have any Morale?
Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 04:28 PM   #2344
Ashikaga
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 221
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Hey Peter, oh yes he does ! Full morale.

I ordered him to do a celestial and this time he did it in about half an hour.

Might have had something to do with the automated scripts.


On another note, not really a glitch but an issue that bothers me, whenever I use the binoculars on deck (not the UZO, my own) I get a darker image, daytime as well as nighttime.

This causes a problem because I all of a sudden cannot see stars anymore at night (or not as many as I should be seeing), and during daytime the darkened lens severely hampers viewing. Is there any way, other than to start editing the .dds file to change this ?

I want clear binoculars (Kriegsmarine U-boat personnel also kept their binoculars quite clear)
Ashikaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2018, 06:16 PM   #2345
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 7,449
Downloads: 918
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi A
Check this out.
Binoculars With Bearings By Torpedo V1 > Enable JSGME
Binoculars Without Bearings V3 by Torpedo > Enable JSGME

TWOS compatible.
Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 07:05 AM   #2346
Ashikaga
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 221
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you Peter, will check those out, though I do not need bearing in my personal binoculars, I need a clear view and not a sudden darkening of the screen as if someone smeared engine grease all over my lens


Now I came across a very annoying problem just now.

It is 23-1-1940 and I received a BdU message dated 05-10-1939 at

When trying to decode it, following all steps, but the number coming up is 312 with Triton. However, the envelope (1940) stays in Hydra and refuses to change code names when I click on it. It also will not change years (if at all possible). Therefore this message cannot be decoded.

It was a message for U,** so probably not even worth decoding.



So is my Enigma defective ? Or just the program/present mission I am doing (Western Approaches).

Would love some explanation/help here.
Ashikaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 07:30 AM   #2347
vdr1981
Graue Stahlwölfe
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 4,463
Downloads: 502
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashikaga View Post
Thank you Peter, will check those out, though I do not need bearing in my personal binoculars, I need a clear view and not a sudden darkening of the screen as if someone smeared engine grease all over my lens


Now I came across a very annoying problem just now.

It is 23-1-1940 and I received a BdU message dated 05-10-1939 at

When trying to decode it, following all steps, but the number coming up is 312 with Triton. However, the envelope (1940) stays in Hydra and refuses to change code names when I click on it. It also will not change years (if at all possible). Therefore this message cannot be decoded.

It was a message for U,** so probably not even worth decoding.



So is my Enigma defective ? Or just the program/present mission I am doing (Western Approaches).
The message is for you... "**" is just a starting designation ( I had to use something, but I can't know what Uboat number will game assign to you).
Use OFEV to enter any number you like ...

Quote:
Would love some explanation/help here.
How about to check some TWoS documentation for a start ? Sometimes I really wonder how many times I have said this...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 07:52 AM   #2348
Ashikaga
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 221
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

I have read all there is about this problem.

It does not fix it. I also have watched and followed all tutorials about the enigma to the letter. I keep getting jibberish.

If a message is dated the fifth of Oktober 1939 and arriving the twentythird of januari 1940, I should be okay with the word Strom and not Mundung, does not matter that the message was sent in Oktober 1939. Tried that and failed.

When I then follow (to the letter) all instructions in video as well as documentation, and when I open the assigned envelope, it will NOT give any other codeword than Hydra, nor any other year than 1940.

I tried several things. Change the month to oktober (1940) not working
Januari 1940 with the fifth day (bdu message day 1939) not working
Januari 1940 with the day message received (23-1) not working.

So you can tell me to read documentation all you like. It does not work, period.

Step A: open kennwort envelope : Januari 1940 = STROM
Step B: Code given is :
RN
CT
EC
SW

Step C: Look up CES (Gives 312)
Step D: Look up 312 (gives TRITON)
Step E: Envelope Schlussel M [Refuses to change to Triton, keeps at Hydra. Month can change]
Step F: Day key (jan. 23 1940 = Beta A, VIII H, III M, VI S.
Step G: plugs : 22/8, 18/21, 24/3, 5/20, 4/10, 17/6, 16/11, 2/9, 1/15, UIDZ
Step H: Type in NTCW, get GSNH
Step I: Put GSNH on rotors.

Start decoding the message and...

GET GIBBERISH AND NONSENSE YET AGAIN.





I am deleting the message and BdU can go stick it where the sun dont shine.



.


Last edited by Ashikaga; 02-15-2018 at 08:25 AM.
Ashikaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 09:05 AM   #2349
vdr1981
Graue Stahlwölfe
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 4,463
Downloads: 502
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashikaga View Post
So you can tell me to read documentation all you like. It does not work, period.
Did you try this?

vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 09:46 AM   #2350
Ashikaga
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 221
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default

DANG !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I did not find that out until now ? GEEZ !!!!!

That worked. However when exporting the message to the ship's log it refused to send the message. It showed just the txt Enigma MSG and no message.

But I wrote it down so still have it.

(Might have to do with me deleting it from the radio message stack)

Thank you anyway ! (Silly that it was just a tiny thing namely changing the year that I did not know how to).

Ashikaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 09:59 AM   #2351
vdr1981
Graue Stahlwölfe
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 4,463
Downloads: 502
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ashikaga View Post
DANG !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I did not find that out until now ? GEEZ !!!!!

That worked. However when exporting the message to the ship's log it refused to send the message. It showed just the txt Enigma MSG and no message.

But I wrote it down so still have it.

(Might have to do with me deleting it from the radio message stack)

Thank you anyway ! (Silly that it was just a tiny thing namely changing the year that I did not know how to).

type the message manually in the right empty box and then send it to the ships log...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2018, 01:21 PM   #2352
Ashikaga
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 221
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default



THANK YOU !!!





Quick question:

Any way to get the storm sounds to go away when submerged in bad weather? I keep hearing them at 20 meters depth....

Last edited by Ashikaga; 02-15-2018 at 05:02 PM.
Ashikaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2018, 03:50 PM   #2353
Ashikaga
Ensign
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 221
Downloads: 13
Uploads: 0
Default Weather report question.

I have seen that the "send weather report" in the radio operator's bar is not working/defunct. Is it possible to make it operational since during WWII many U boats reported the local weather to BdU so since I play full realism, I would like to do that too at regular intervals.
__________________
Ashikaga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 05:50 PM   #2354
CrabKey
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 5
Downloads: 577
Uploads: 0
Default Campaign Advance Problem Detected

I have just updated Wolves of Steel to v2.2.1 and when starting a new career received these warnings when first entering the bunker...

Campaign Advance problem detected Return to main menu, etc.

This problem was addressed in this thread once before but I do not understand the cause or the solution which was determined.

The game is installed from DVD
Updated to 1.2
I've tried Uplay on, Uplay off
Administrator rights is correct

If anyone remembers this glitch that would be great, otherwise I shall reinstall.

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Screenshot (2).jpg (27.5 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by CrabKey; 02-18-2018 at 06:38 PM. Reason: add picture
CrabKey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2018, 06:13 PM   #2355
vdr1981
Graue Stahlwölfe
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 4,463
Downloads: 502
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrabKey View Post
I have just updated Wolves of Steel to v2.2.1 and when starting a new career received these warnings when first entering the bunker...

Campaign Advance problem detected Return to main menu, etc.

This problem was addressed in this thread once before but I do not understand the cause or the solution which was determined.

The game is installed from DVD
Updated to 1.2
I've tried Uplay on, Uplay off
Administrator rights is correct

If anyone remembers this glitch that would be great, otherwise I shall reinstall.

Thanks!
It's not your fault... Read about campaign transfers in TWoS documentation and you'll get the idea what is going on. Note that "problem detected" message can be false positive as well...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim