SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Mods and files for every subsim!

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2017, 06:29 AM   #136
vdr1981
Graue Stahlwölfe
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 4,294
Downloads: 493
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkiii View Post
@ Vecko. still no stern tubes or deckgun, but I got 6 bow tubes now.

the problem is in the script side of things, everything else is ok, eqp files, sim file upcge file, all nodes are set up ok, stern tubes are in the sim +extra reserves they just don`t show up in game.

or on second thought, the scripts are obviously trying to do something, we have got six bow tubes, maybe the problem is how I have renamed the files.
Did you check these lines from upcge file?

Code:
[UserPlayerUnit 1.Compartment 7.Bunker 1] 						; Forward Torpedo Room
ID=BowTorpedoRoom
Capacity=6    ; internal reserves                        
IDLinkAmmunitionIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1943-10-31, T1Torpedo, 6
IDLinkAmmunitionIntervalDefault2= 1943-10-31, 1944-06-31, T1Torpedo, 2, T2Torpedo, 4 
IDLinkAmmunitionIntervalDefault3= 1944-07-01, 1945-01-31, T1Torpedo, 2, T2Torpedo, 1, T2Torpedo, 3 
IDLinkAmmunitionIntervalDefault4= 1945-02-01, NULL, T1Torpedo, 1, T2Torpedo, 2, T2Torpedo, 3 

[UserPlayerUnit 1.Compartment 7.Bunker 2] 						; Deck reserves
ID=BowTorpedoReserves
Capacity=1             ; external reserves               
IDLinkAmmunitionIntervalDefault1= NULL, NULL, T1Torpedo, 1
ExternalReserves=Yes
They should control number of available external and internal reserves IIRC...

Regarding deck gun, did you use U-flak upcge file as a base for type IX? maybe there is a problem since U-flan doesn't have one (I removed it's deckg gun upgrade pack in upcge file).

Last edited by vdr1981; 12-03-2017 at 06:45 AM.
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2017, 09:27 AM   #137
mkiii
Gunner
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Downloads: 111
Uploads: 0
Default

already done the bunker entries vecko, I think know what the problem is, another play in the menu editor will either fix it or break the menu again

the deck gun was my fault, the upgrade pack was there so I just skipped over it, after a proper look and replacing NULL with a date and a gun we have



off to break my game again now. its no problem though, a complete copy of everything restores a shiny new twos in about 3 mins
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 01:25 PM   #138
mkiii
Gunner
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Downloads: 111
Uploads: 0
Default

1...Reserve torpedos not showing= fixed
2...No stern tubes= Not fixed
all the sub controls, teleporting, gun stations, and all the other sub functions seem to be ok.

EXCEPT FOR THIS



So why do I get 3 crew and the captain and nothing else. it is turning into a proper headache.
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 05:12 PM   #139
vdr1981
Graue Stahlwölfe
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Србија
Posts: 4,294
Downloads: 493
Uploads: 13


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkiii View Post
So why do I get 3 crew and the captain and nothing else. it is turning into a proper headache.
Probably error in submarines upcge file, I guess...

All crew is "defined" in this file if I'm not mistaken, but there are also a ton unused lines of code which are just a leftover from SH3/SH4 era...
vdr1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2017, 06:51 PM   #140
mkiii
Gunner
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Downloads: 111
Uploads: 0
Default

I think its the pages themselves vecko, been having a look at the menu editor, and some things are just missing, ie the stern tubes, and the crew, I think renaming the files to type9 or ix changes things. everything in the hud is tied to type 7 nothing else. I am going to make a new page for the 9 and see if that works in game,

there are a few tuts on the forums, for the menu editor, all the images are long gone, but there is enough in the text to get a good idea how it works.

as for the upcge file for the sub, tried leaving all the crew entries as VIIC41 and the result is the same.

seems that renaming the file does a lot more than just rename the file.

same as renaming the ct model bone is ok. but renaming the hull model bone just causes an immediate ctd.

it was never going to be easy, otherwise we would have had new subs ages ago
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 02:39 PM   #141
mkiii
Gunner
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Downloads: 111
Uploads: 0
Default

Been poking around with the menu editor, and other ingame tools.

if I load the game with menu debug info turned on and go to the choose torpedo page I get this



which shows that the extra torps are all ok, and the stern tubes have been added, so I can assume that the upcge file is ok.

The problem is without menu debug turned on, the choose upgrades and choose torpedo lines are greyed out.

start mission and check torpedos on board and we get this



all the extras are here but the stern tubes have been moved to the Bow.
and the crew is still AWOL.
So making a new torps page and crew page will possibly sort the problem out.
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 04:31 PM   #142
excel4004
Hans-Jürgen Hellriegel
 
excel4004's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 249
Downloads: 142
Uploads: 0
SHO

Quote:
So making a new torps page and crew page will possibly sort the problem out.
A big thanks for all your energy here. Go for it, it would be fantastic when we ever would have the chance to play this type of UBoat in the sim.




__________________
U-96
March 1942 - March 1943 * Oblt.z.S. Hans-Jürgen Hellriegel

excel4004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 06:20 PM   #143
mkiii
Gunner
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Downloads: 111
Uploads: 0
Default

new menu made no difference at all, so i am at a loss what to do,
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 01:33 PM   #144
Santini
Sparky
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 154
Downloads: 361
Uploads: 1
Default

Wait a tic, the type IX had 4 fore tubes, yeah? Not 6?
Santini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:22 PM   #145
mkiii
Gunner
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Downloads: 111
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Santini View Post
Wait a tic, the type IX had 4 fore tubes, yeah? Not 6?
yeah, I kinda noticed that already,
but in the bunker gamestate it has 4, in the mission gamestate 6.

now if you could solve the problem, you would be at the top of my xmas card list.
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2017, 11:38 AM   #146
OldCoder
Machinist's Mate
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 123
Downloads: 24
Uploads: 0
Default

I don't know much about those pages or how they're constructed but it might be worth running with the script debugger enabled so you can see if any scripts are outputting warnings or experiencing fatal errors).
OldCoder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 02:15 PM   #147
mkiii
Gunner
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Downloads: 111
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OldCoder View Post
I don't know much about those pages or how they're constructed but it might be worth running with the script debugger enabled so you can see if any scripts are outputting warnings or experiencing fatal errors).
Tried that already. only script errors were related to the disabled flakgun node.
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 06:15 PM   #148
mkiii
Gunner
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Downloads: 111
Uploads: 0
Default

In mission shot of torps page VIIA, Altered sim file, and altered menu page to allow extra torps to show on screen.



these are the exact same adjustments I made for the IXB, the only difference is all the tubes are in the right places, and the crew is present and correct,

the periscope page is set up for the new stern tube automatically,



as soon as I rename files and bones, all this goes bye bye, I have tried every way I can think of to get around it but nothing works.
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2017, 11:09 PM   #149
Jeff-Groves
Village Idiot
 
Jeff-Groves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Nevada, Ohio
Posts: 1,696
Downloads: 23
Uploads: 0


Default

Could you send me your files?
That would help me to try to help you.
__________________
My doctor told me to start killing people.
Well not in those exact words.
He said I had to reduce the stress in my life.
Same thing.
Jeff-Groves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2017, 05:31 AM   #150
mkiii
Gunner
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 98
Downloads: 111
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves View Post
Could you send me your files?
That would help me to try to help you.
will get a fresh set together Jeff, got to sort all the junk out, my file organization has gone bye bye along with my sanity/patience.

but tbh I don`t think the files are the problem. I think its the sim itself, its what goes on behind the scenes during mission load, when the gamestate changes from bunker to mission. involving script manager native,dll/script manager wrappers.dll. (I think)

I had a look at the menu pages in sh4 (which is essentially the same so far as the file system is concerned)

all the different subs VII, IXD2, XVIII used variations of the same page.

but but if the menu page had to be specifically for 1 class. there could be 3 different material id entries 0, 1, 2 each with a .dds file for whatever sub class was being used. if a listbox or bitmap array was not needed it was simply made invisible.

sh5 only has 1 sub class, so this functionality is not being used, but I think it is still in the files ,

Last edited by mkiii; 12-10-2017 at 05:41 AM.
mkiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1997- 2017 Subsim