SUBSIM®  Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM® Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2017, 02:49 AM   #16
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you very much, dear friend ! I will try this right now.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Please upload somewhere the latest version of your mod (together with your testing mission), for me to dig into its files. Maybe, with a fresher eye, I will be able to spot the problem
I will try again this morning to solve the enigma.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 04:12 AM   #17
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,196
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Thank you very much, dear friend ! I will try this right now.
My pleasure


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
I will try again this morning to solve the enigma.
Okay, I am sure you will manage
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2017, 02:35 PM   #18
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Okay, I am sure you will manage
Indeed, I solved the problem during the morning.

Progress :



Next step is to build the harbor.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 09:30 AM   #19
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default



Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 04:52 AM   #20
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Testing a new black smoke effect ...

Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 07:17 AM   #21
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 10:24 AM   #22
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,196
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Looking very nice.

My remarks in detail:
  • Port and oil refinery structures look a bit uncolorful. Not really your fault, since stock textures used on them are quite boring

  • Would if be possible moving/rotating the Aruba location, so that its outline matches better the local coast outline?

     

  • Some of the oil storage tanks located farther from the shoreline look like they are standing directly from the grass; could you raise a bit the whole location so that the concrete pavement will stand higher than the underllying terrain in every portion of the refinery area?

  • The smoke effect looks amazing, but maybe such a big dark plume is a bit out of place. I don't know what 40's US regulations on industrial emissions were (probably there wasn't any regulation), nor I know the technical details of oil refining of the time, but I know that black smoke is the result of incomplete hydrocarbon combustion, and I would expect a refinery to emit large quantities of it, only if it was set on fire, or if, due to poor offciency, there was a big quantity of side-products that had to be burned. In modern oil refineries, smoke coils getting out from cooling towers and furnace stacks are mostly composed of carbon dioxide and water vapour, and they are mostly white or white-gray:

    https://www.flickr.com/photos/horiavarlan/4273041695
    http://www.gettyimages.it/detail/fot...stock/85903068

    I think the only time you will see huge quantities of black smoke getting out from a refinery, it is when the plant has to be shutdowns/restarted, smoke getting out from the top of gas flares (the thin stacks used for burning-off the excess of natural gases, often surmounted by a pilot flame, other link):

    http://www.gettyimages.it/detail/fot...stock/85903068 (top picture)
    https://www.google.it/search?biw=153....0.VHimtYXT6KA
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 11:09 AM   #23
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,768
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0


Default

... looks to me like it took a few hits from an 88mm deck gun there gap...

I am astounded by the amount of work you two do with this game. Excellent stuff. Don't forget that you can use the GWX Terrain Extractor to "level the playing field" (play on words) to help the "concrete" pad of the refinery fit the hill. In other words, you could do some digital "excavating" and / or "land-filling". You might even have to "dredge a channel" for the big tankers to come in and load...
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 11:44 AM   #24
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,196
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
... looks to me like it took a few hits from an 88mm deck gun there gap...
You are probably right

If that was the case, the current smoke effect would be totally accurate, and my suggestion would be to add white smokes or pilot flames to some of the chimneys

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
I am astounded by the amount of work you two do with this game. Excellent stuff.
I thank you for your praises, though I have no merit on this project

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
Don't forget that you can use the GWX Terrain Extractor to "level the playing field" (play on words) to help the "concrete" pad of the refinery fit the hill. In other words, you could do some digital "excavating" and / or "land-filling". You might even have to "dredge a channel" for the big tankers to come in and load...
Sure, that's a possibility, but due to extremely low resolution of SHIII terrain masks/elevation maps, editing those files is more useful for making some large scale terrain adjustements than for small fine-tunings
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 01:07 PM   #25
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Would if be possible moving/rotating the Aruba location, so that its outline matches better the local coast outline?

 
Yes, I'm working on this, with satellite views.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Some of the oil storage tanks located farther from the shoreline look like they are standing directly from the grass; could you raise a bit the whole location so that the concrete pavement will stand higher than the underllying terrain in every portion of the refinery area
I will see what can be done.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
The smoke effect looks amazing, but maybe such a big dark plume is a bit out of place. I don't know what 40's US regulations on industrial emissions were (probably there wasn't any regulation), nor I know the technical details of oil refining of the time, but I know that black smoke is the result of incomplete hydrocarbon combustion, and I would expect a refinery to emit large quantities of it, only if it was set on fire ...
... that's the case

Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
... looks to me like it took a few hits from an 88mm deck gun there gap...
... that's the goal. For now, that's only land units which are emitting this black smoke. I have to create destroyable oil storage tanks, with the proper burning effect. I was testing the smoke effect. I would it to be bigger, as on this pic :



I have also to create the flames effect :





But I think I will need to create a special animation effect (I know it's possible, as in SH4 effects mod for SH3).

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
If that was the case, the current smoke effect would be totally accurate, and my suggestion would be to add white smokes or pilot flames to some of the chimneys
Yes, that's my plan too, as on this picture of Aruba refinery :



Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
I thank you for your praises, though I have no merit on this project
You forgot the triangles ...
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 01:52 PM   #26
propbeanie
CTD - it's not just a job
 
propbeanie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: The Crossroads of Mid-America
Posts: 3,768
Downloads: 228
Uploads: 0


Default

See gap? He's pulling you in...

As "coarse" as the SH4 GWX changes can be, is it even coarser in SH3? I forget... 255 colors?
__________________

propbeanie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 02:22 PM   #27
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,196
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Yes, I'm working on this, with satellite views.

[...]

I will see what can be done.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
... that's the goal. For now, that's only land units which are emitting this black smoke. I have to create destroyable oil storage tanks, with the proper burning effect. I was testing the smoke effect. I would it to be bigger, as on this pic...
You might increase particle size, but the effect would look coarser probably, or you might increase particle spawn rate and radius, but the effect would use more computer resources

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
I have also to create the flames effect...

But I think I will need to create a special animation effect (I know it's possible, as in SH4 effects mod for SH3).
Sure it is, and it is used in SHIII too: there is at least an explosion particle that I am aware of, using an animated texture

You can look on the web for a ready-to-use animated flame texture, or you can look for two or more flame textures, crop/resize them so they have the same size, and interpolate the animation frames between them with a morphing program

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Yes, that's my plan too, as on this picture of Aruba refinery...
Amazing

Don't forget flames on top of flare stacks. Should SHIII miss a model of them, I think that extracting them from one of the 3Dwarehouse models and importing them in game shouldn't be too complicated

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
You forgot the triangles ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by propbeanie View Post
See gap? He's pulling you in...
Come on guys... a couple of triangles?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
As "coarse" as the SH4 GWX changes can be, is it even coarser in SH3? I forget... 255 colors?
Probably coarser
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 03:14 PM   #28
Kendras
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: below the surface
Posts: 1,541
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
... and interpolate the animation frames between them with a morphing program
Mmh, I have to figure out what it is and how it works.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gap View Post
Don't forget flames on top of flare stacks. Should SHIII miss a model of them, I think that extracting them from one of the 3Dwarehouse models and importing them in game shouldn't be too complicated
There is a high chimney model in harbours_kit.dat.
Kendras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2017, 04:47 PM   #29
gap
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 7,196
Downloads: 690
Uploads: 9


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
Mmh, I have to figure out what it is and how it works.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morphing
https://www.appginger.com/free-morphing-software/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendras View Post
There is a high chimney model in harbours_kit.dat.
I am not an expert on this topic, buy far as I can tell, there should be two main types of chimneys tha can be found in a oil plant:

- chimneys surmounting distillation columns (these should have white smoke)
 


- fase flares (much thinner and higher than the former, these should have a flame on top):
 
__________________
_____________________
|May the Force be with you!|
...\/
gap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 02:36 PM   #30
MLF
Weps
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: SW France
Posts: 361
Downloads: 134
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Kendras,

Have you made any progress on the refinery?

regards,

MLF
__________________
Je pense donc je fuis!
MLF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2018 Subsim