SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-01-09, 02:36 PM   #16
LGN1
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,138
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 12
Default

Hi all,

I discovered two small issues:

1.) Since it seems that you cannot set the true torpedo depth to a value below 25m, you can figure out the difference between the dial and the real value by increasing the depth sufficiently. To avoid this trick, I have reduced the max. depth in the dial to 20m (see post 1 and 2). Now the trick does not work anymore.

2.) The lines above only disable the switches, dials,... on the F6 Attack Map. However, there are many mods that add these dials also to other screens, e.g., the periscope view. In this case you have to add the corresponding dials to the lines above, e.g.,

;----------Lock switch to magnetic pistol begin
[2:data\Menu\cfg\Dials.cfg]
;Lock the pistol switch in magnetic position for all the time
ApplyToPeriod=19390101|19450508
;No randomization
ChooseFrom=1
RndMidPat=1

0_Dial2|DialVal=45,45 ; only magnetic
0_Dialxx|DialVal=45,45 ; only magnetic
;----------Lock switch to magnetic pistol end

if Dialxx is the number of the other switch (e.g. in the periscope) for the pistol in dials.cfg.

If you want to cheat, you can use the 3d TDC to set all values correctly. Preventing that requires other files that would greatly increase the incompatibility, so I leave this cheat/way open.

Best, LGN1.
LGN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-11, 02:56 PM   #17
andqui
Soundman
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 149
Downloads: 195
Uploads: 0
Default

Just to make sure I have this right:

From the beginning of the war until early June 1940, I want 15% to go the correct depth, 65% around 2.7 meters deeper, and 20% around 2 meters deeper

Code:
[1:data\Menu\cfg\Dials.cfg]
;Randomize the running depth of the torpedo below the shown dial value
;
;For instance, general entry for a min. running depth of n=2m and error of k=2.5m
;0_Dial0|RealVal=4.5,22.5 ; n+k,20+k if n meters min. depth and k meters deeper
;
;Only in historical period
;Chance for k meters deeper:
; k>=1m: 9%
; m>k>0m: 16%
;Allow randomization during patrol
ApplyToPeriod=19390101|19400531
ChooseFrom=20
RndMidPat=1

;Until early June 1940: 15% correct depth, 65% 2.7 m deeper, 20% 2 m deeper//3,8,4
0_Dial0|RealVal=2.7,22.7

1_Dial0|RealVal=2.3,22.3

2_Dial0|RealVal=0.25,20.25

3_Dial0|RealVal=2.6,22.6

4_Dial0|RealVal=2.7,22.7

5_Dial0|RealVal=2.1,22.1

6_Dial0|RealVal=2.0,22.0

7_Dial0|RealVal=2.7,22.7

8_Dial0|RealVal=0.25,20.25

9_Dial0|RealVal=2.7,22.7

10_Dial0|RealVal=2.7,22.7

11_Dial0|RealVal=0.5,20.5

12_Dial0|RealVal=2.1,22.1

14_Dial0|RealVal=2.7,22.7

15_Dial0|RealVal=2.7,22.7

16_Dial0|RealVal=2.0,22.0

17_Dial0|RealVal=2.0,22.0
Then, from early June until May 31, 1942, I want 25% to go the correct depth, 25% to go around .5 meters deeper, and 50% around 1 meter deeper.

Code:
[1:data\Menu\cfg\Dials.cfg]
;Randomize the running depth of the torpedo below the shown dial value
;
;For instance, general entry for a min. running depth of n=2m and error of k=2.5m
;0_Dial0|RealVal=4.5,22.5 ; n+k,20+k if n meters min. depth and k meters deeper
;
;Only in historical period
;Chance for k meters deeper:
; k>=1m: 9%
; m>k>0m: 16%
;Allow randomization during patrol
ApplyToPeriod=19400530|19420531
ChooseFrom=20
RndMidPat=1

;After that: 25% correct depth, 25% .6 meters deeper, 50% 1 meter deeper until May 31, 1942

0_Dial0|RealVal=0.6,20.6

1_Dial0|RealVal=0.3,20.3

2_Dial0|RealVal=0.5,20.5

3_Dial0|RealVal=0.25,20.25

4_Dial0|RealVal=1.0,21.0

5_Dial0|RealVal=1.1,21.1

6_Dial0|RealVal=0.8,20.8

7_Dial0|RealVal=1.3,21.3

8_Dial0|RealVal=0.8,20.8

9_Dial0|RealVal=1.0,21.0

10_Dial0|RealVal=1.0,21.0

11_Dial0|RealVal=1.0,21.0

12_Dial0|RealVal=0.8,20.8

14_Dial0|RealVal=1.1,21.1
Will the above accomplish this? I'm using GWX3. If I understood correctly, the minimum depth setting was optional, correct, because I haven't implemented it, and n=0 in the above.

Besides running deep, is there any way to make the chance of prematures/contact duds higher? I can't find any value that alters that.

thanks
andqui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-11, 02:43 PM   #18
LGN1
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,138
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 12
Default

Hi andqui,

the chance for an offset is given by

number of entries with the offset / choosefrom value

The value of choosefrom is 20 in your case, therefore each entry corresponds to 5%. If you had only the line 0_Dial0|RealVal=2.7,22.7 the torpedo would run at the correct depth with a chance of 95% and with 5% 2.7m below.

I think in SH3 (in contrast to SH4) the chance of prematures/contact duds is hard-coded

Cheers, LGN1
LGN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-11, 06:04 PM   #19
andqui
Soundman
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 149
Downloads: 195
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks, I figured as much.

It is a shame you can't mess with the premature/dud rate. I've fired 20 magnetic torpedoes in my 1939 career and only 2 prematured, which is much much better than the real ones. Maybe something for the hardcode .exe fixes?
andqui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-11, 09:45 PM   #20
rudewarrior
Sonar Guy
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Middlebury, VT, USA
Posts: 378
Downloads: 165
Uploads: 2
Default

Hi LGN1,

Andqui (the immediately previous poster) and I have been putting together a mod that might mesh nicely with yours. I was wondering if you might be interested in collaborating to produce a larger mod that combines our ideas. It seems that both of us were somewhat inspired by your mod.

Essentially, we have been going through the u-boat KTB's to see what the orders were for the tactics of the time. Our mod actually covers the whole war, but the tactical orders issued during certain parts of the war covering torpedo depth settings are part of what our mods share. Some of the orders are fascinatingly bad! There will be times when you will be under orders to stay on the surface and fight it out with aircraft!

I am new to actually constructing mods, and both andqui and I could use someone with experience to help us with the rougher parts. I really enjoy mods that provide immersion, and I think combining our mods might be an interesting project.

Thanx for your consideration.
rudewarrior is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-11, 11:33 PM   #21
brett25
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland CA, USA
Posts: 737
Downloads: 570
Uploads: 0
Default

fantastic LGN, thank you. your data mods are always awesome
brett25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-11, 04:41 AM   #22
LGN1
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,138
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rudewarrior View Post
Hi LGN1,

Andqui (the immediately previous poster) and I have been putting together a mod that might mesh nicely with yours. I was wondering if you might be interested in collaborating to produce a larger mod that combines our ideas. It seems that both of us were somewhat inspired by your mod.

Essentially, we have been going through the u-boat KTB's to see what the orders were for the tactics of the time. Our mod actually covers the whole war, but the tactical orders issued during certain parts of the war covering torpedo depth settings are part of what our mods share. Some of the orders are fascinatingly bad! There will be times when you will be under orders to stay on the surface and fight it out with aircraft!

I am new to actually constructing mods, and both andqui and I could use someone with experience to help us with the rougher parts. I really enjoy mods that provide immersion, and I think combining our mods might be an interesting project.

Thanx for your consideration.
Hi rudewarrior,

thanks for your offer. I don't have much time at the moment because I use all the modding time I have to support h.sie's work as much as I can. However, whenever you have some question just ask me. I'm more than willing to help if I can.

Some months ago I created a mod for myself (using SH3 Commander) that gives you standing orders. These orders are listed in your 'order page' (what you see when you press F8) and change with time. It also contains the order to stay surfaced and fight aircrafts. If you are interested, I can post the entries/standing orders I used (not as detailed as your list).

Cheers, LGN1
LGN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.