SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2021, 12:59 PM   #1
gimp
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 11
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default SH5 Wolves of Stell configuration

Hello guys! New user here!
Sorry if there was a same question here, tried to use the search option for my problem, but it ended in so many different results so I've got confused anyway.


My problem is the well known non filling tonnage bar in SH5..
The solution I found was to install the Wolves of Steel pack, what I did, but it ended with a load of extra and unnecessary (for me) mods.. Most of them are just beyond my comprehension!


I was fiddling the options of the WoS, but still cannot manage to made the game like I want it to be.



Is there a quick way (maybe some config file for the WoS) to just fix the tonnage bar and leave the rest as in the vanilla version (targeting lines, no compass rose while setting the nav points and so on) ??


Cheers!
Gimp
gimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2021, 02:04 PM   #2
TheNolan
Watch
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Canada
Posts: 19
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

You can turn a lot of the options off for TWoS mod and it is much more stable than the base game. Maybe we can help, what parts are giving you trouble?
TheNolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2021, 01:26 PM   #3
gimp
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 11
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for answering!


Well, first of all, I am noob when it comes to manual targeting! I would like to enable the targeting lines (with numbers 1,2,3).
I was looking at the WoS options, and enabled the torpedo aiming lines (is it called solution lines?), but they don't show on the minimap when tartgeting through the periscope



I want to disable all the knobs and switches while looking through periscope.


I can live with german voices, it gives more immersion to the game (hmm.. immersion in a submarine game is a really important thing).


And lastly, the compass rose (the dark grey circle around the mouse coursor) while setting new nav points on the map.
OK, by trial and error I've disabled this one



More may come later



PS. Can someone modify the thread title? There's a typo in there!


EDIT:


So, I was running the first mission at the Danzig Bay area, sunk two merchant ships, got the radio message from the BDU to re-base at Kiel. Done that and when talking to the gentleman in the dock (the old man who gives missions) I cannot choose the next mission (the British coastal waters or something) like it was in vanilla version. When trying to start a new patrol, he asks me do I want to start a new partol without choosing a mission.. So ? Should I start it and swim to British coast as the mission was already chosen, or am I missing something ?

Last edited by gimp; 11-25-2021 at 01:41 PM.
gimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 03:57 PM   #4
O.Kusch
Seaman
 
O.Kusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 41
Downloads: 131
Uploads: 0


Default

Hello Gimp,

after the mission in the Bay of Danzig you should allow yourself 4 days to return to Kiel. Otherwise the next mission will not be unlocked. Just take the last save point and sail around a bit more in the area, so that you arrive in Kiel by 5.sept. 1939.
I wish you a lot of fun with TWOS.
Greetings
__________________
" Ave Imperator morituri te salutant"
U-boat commander to flotilla-commander, when his boat leaved the sub-pen in Narvik 1944
O.Kusch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 01:19 PM   #5
gimp
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Posts: 11
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default

Hello O.Kusch,


The possibility to dock at Kiel means that the mission was completed, and one can choose another one.


I will try do do like you told me.
gimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2021, 11:10 PM   #6
les green01
Seasoned Skipper
 
les green01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Freeman Missouri
Posts: 1,107
Downloads: 1234
Uploads: 0


Default

wait 4 days then dock also if you install OptionsFileEditorViewer you can control a lot from it including having mix of auto and manual torpedoes shooting there a mod here that will turn voice into English https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...postcount=7766
les green01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.