SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters
Forget password? Reset here

Get ready for a whole new level of realism!
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-22, 05:03 PM   #1
Stewy1
Girt by Sea
 
Stewy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Red Route 1
Posts: 308
Downloads: 114
Uploads: 21
Default Help - Flickering lines across my monitor in DW!

G'day guys,

Hope you can help - I've just noticed that, when I'm playing DW, that the outside environment (sky and underwater) has faint flickering horizontal lines across the monitor - a bit like TVs did in the 80s!

The panel screens (sonar, periscope, etc.) seem to be fine. It's just the outside environment - and only in DW.

I tried to take a screenshot - but the screenshot comes out crystal clear.

It's weird, because the monitor is only a few years old...it's a cheapie (AOC 2470W1E at 1920x1080) but it does (did?) the job.

Thanks fellas - any advice appreciated!
Stew
__________________
"This officer has used my ship as his den of iniquity and my wardroom to carry him from bar to bar."

Last edited by Stewy1; 05-22-22 at 05:48 AM.
Stewy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-22, 03:00 AM   #2
Stewy1
Girt by Sea
 
Stewy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Red Route 1
Posts: 308
Downloads: 114
Uploads: 21
Default

Also my refresh rate can only be set to 60Hz and ModeID is 3...

Seems better now, after restarting the computer, not sure what the problem is/was...

Edit: it came back again after I'd minimized DW to watch some Twitch, and then maximized it again...
__________________
"This officer has used my ship as his den of iniquity and my wardroom to carry him from bar to bar."

Last edited by Stewy1; 05-22-22 at 05:47 AM.
Stewy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-22, 01:47 PM   #3
Alcon2009
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Colombia
Posts: 44
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 1
Default

Ok i have no idea what that is, did u test reinstalling the game, btw are u in stock game? or using a mod?

EDIT: well the monitor being not too old, it can still be damaged, so we dont know.
Alcon2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-22, 03:28 PM   #4
Stewy1
Girt by Sea
 
Stewy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Red Route 1
Posts: 308
Downloads: 114
Uploads: 21
Default

Thanks Alcon for your help, sir! I'll give those a try!
Stew
__________________
"This officer has used my ship as his den of iniquity and my wardroom to carry him from bar to bar."
Stewy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-22, 10:16 PM   #5
Alcon2009
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Colombia
Posts: 44
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 1
Default

Good , did u fix it?
Alcon2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-22, 03:34 PM   #6
Stewy1
Girt by Sea
 
Stewy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Red Route 1
Posts: 308
Downloads: 114
Uploads: 21
Default

Thanks Alcon,

It seems to be ok if I don't 'minimise' the game so much. It might be a thing because it's such an old game?

I was wondering whether it wouldn't happen on an LCD monitor - just deciding whether should I treat myself.

Thanks for your help - really appreciate it!
Stew
__________________
"This officer has used my ship as his den of iniquity and my wardroom to carry him from bar to bar."
Stewy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-22, 08:01 PM   #7
Alcon2009
Sailor man
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Colombia
Posts: 44
Downloads: 75
Uploads: 1
Default

No problem, hope you got rid of it.
Alcon2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.