SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Subsims & Naval Games > Classic Subsims
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2018, 10:15 PM   #1
Mork_417
Lurking Ninja
 
Mork_417's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: DB-15
Posts: 772
Downloads: 107
Uploads: 0
Default Shells of Fury

I just installed this game tonight, and have been messing around with it. I like it, and the WWI sub models. My only complaint is that it doesn't offer a window mode for the resolution i want.

I tried DX-Wind, but haven't been able to get it to work.

Anyone know of a way to customize the game to offer different resolutions in windowed mode? Or maybe, the proper settings in DX-Wind to make it work?

Windows 10
Nvidia 1080ti
Predator 34" monitor


Thanks.
__________________
Returning to the deep!
Mork_417 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 05:52 PM   #2
raymond6751
Admirable Mike
 
raymond6751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,272
Downloads: 342
Uploads: 0


Default SweetFX

Try SweetFX

Works for me.
__________________
Sub Nut
Master of the unspoken comment.
raymond6751 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2019, 07:11 PM   #3
XenonSurf
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,367
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
Default

I wonder if this game is supporting 16:9 resolutions. If I play on 1920x1080 every circle in the game appears stretched. I then switch my Nvidia Control Panel to 'scaling with GPU' and chose 1280x960, a 4:3 resolution, only then I get the correct images in the game, but obviously with black borders left and right.
Currently I play with 1920x1080 but I press a key on my monitor to turn the display to 4:3 which is fine.


Does Window Mode with D3DWindower or your proposed SweetFX change anything to also support 16:9 resolutions without stretching?

Thanks very much to feedback, I'm very interested in this jewel of a game.

Last edited by XenonSurf; 03-21-2019 at 08:47 PM.
XenonSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 10:39 AM   #4
XenonSurf
The Old Man
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Germany, Italy
Posts: 1,367
Downloads: 65
Uploads: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by raymond6751 View Post
Try SweetFX

Works for me.
After reading this thread, I have tested SweetFX with several games - older ones, also SoF. It's true that this tool can improve the displayed image quality, depending on the settings you do, but there is *nowhere* something that influences game resolution, this tool is not made for resolution changes.
You can add 'Borders' with this tool, but this will simply cut away part of the image without changing resolution (resulting in the loss of parts of the image.)


So I wonder what 'works' for you...Thanks to specifiy, I may easily have missed something.

Last edited by XenonSurf; 03-22-2019 at 10:48 AM.
XenonSurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim