SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > Silent Hunter 5
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-04-14, 10:55 AM   #121
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi KentHutch

Apologies for not being able to reply to you but I have not had a computer over the past week and have only just got it back.

Good to see you sorted it out.

Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-14, 05:08 PM   #122
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default Captain's Log 0000-00-00 Corruption And How To Correct It

Last Updated 8th October 2017

Captain's Log 0000-00-00 Corruption And How To Correct It
The Captain’s Log records all the data for targets destroyed during a mission.
Unfortunately this data is sometimes appears corrupted.
Picture 1 > shows the date having been corrupted 0000-00-00.


To overcome this problem if you wish to do so, but it is not compulsory, and you want to show the correct date for the destroyed target the following needs to happen.
Go to > Documents Folder
Go to > SH5 Folder
Go to > data Folder
Go to > cfg Folder
Go to > SaveGames Folder

It is important now to find the last saved game.
As there can be more than 1 save during game play you need to look at both the date and the time of the last save.
An example is shown in Picture 2.
Picture 2


Select > CaptainLog
An example is shown in Picture 3.
Picture 3


With the Captain’ Log Notepad opened what you see is only what has been recorded in this last game save number.
Somewhere in it you are going to see this > Date=0
An example is highlighted in Picture 4 where the block of data has been highlighted to show the corrupted date.
Picture 4


Remove the 0 and replace it with the correct date.
Use the block of data above to show how the date has to be entered.
This will be the torpedo impact date so will always be the correct date.
An example is highlighted in Picture 5
Picture 5


With the correct date entered.
Go to > File or Exit
Go to > Save
Exit the Captain’s Log.

When you start your next game and go to the Captain’s Log you should now see the correct date has replaced the 0000-00-00 date.
Example shown in Picture 6
Picture 6



Last edited by THEBERBSTER; 05-09-24 at 07:31 AM. Reason: Replaced missing pictures
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-14, 11:32 AM   #123
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default JSGME Saving A Mod Profile Tutorial 1 of 4

Last updated 24th April 2018
In this tutorial I will show you How To Save a Mod Profile for The First Time in JSGME by using a Mep File.

Sometime now or later you will want to, or need to, make alterations to your existing Mod List.
Making a Mep File can also be very useful when needing to get to that awkwardly placed Overwritten Mod.
JSGME has a Profile Management Tool that will save you a lot of time and also you will be able to keep records of previous Enabled Mod Lists that you may wish to keep.
You can use any previous Mep File Save providing the Mod is still in JSGME whether it is Enabled or Disabled.

What is a Mep File?
This is the List of your Enabled Mods that is Saved to a Mep File.
What is a Mod Profile?
This is the Enabled Mods.

1. How to Save A Mod Profile.

2. The first time you do this you need to make a New Folder where Mep Files can be kept.

3. For the purpose of this Tutorial this New Folder will be called Mep Files.

4. Place the Mep Files Folder somewhere that you can get easy access to.

5. Making a Desktop Shortcut is another useful way to find the Mep Files Folder easily.

6. Open JSGME.


7. In the Picture we can see that there are 56 Activated Mods and 1 Disabled Mod. (Picture 1)
Picture 1


8. Select Tasks and Save Mod Profile. (Picture 2)

Picture 2


9. Find the Mep File Folder. (Picture 3)


10. In the Picture this is showing the Path > Computer > SH (D) > All SH5 > SH5 JSGME MEP FILES > Mep Files

11. Mep Files in the path is the Mep Files Folder.

Picture 3


12. A name is needed in the File name space for any Saved Mep Profiles.
(Picture 4)



13. For the Tutorial this will be Mep File 1 05.04.2015 (Picture 4)

14. When you do your First Save the Save as type may not show (*.mep)

15. If it does not show this then add to the File Name For Mep File 1 05.04.2015.mep

16. You will not need to do that .mep again as next time it will recognise the File Type.

17. Click on Save. (Picture 5)
Picture 5


18. When you go to the Mep File Folder you will see. (Picture 6)
Picture 6


19. The Mep File 1 05.04.2015 has been saved in to the Mep File Folder.

This completes the first Tutorial.


Last edited by THEBERBSTER; 04-24-18 at 02:57 PM. Reason: replaced missing pictures
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-14, 07:00 PM   #124
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default JSGME Adding A New Mod To A New Position Tutorial 2 Of 4

Last updated 24th April 2018
JSGME Adding A New Mod To A New Position Tutorial 2 Of 4
This tutorial will show you how to add a mod and move it to a new position.

1. For this Tutorial I am going to Add the Mod > sobers hudsounds V1 SH5 underneath the Mod seen in Picture 1 > MadMaxs_Sh5_Subdiesel (mono) v2.
2. Open JSGME.
3. You can see sobers hudsounds V1 SH5 Disabled on the Left Side of JSGME.
Picture 1


4. Click on the Mod and it will Highlight.
Picture 2


5. Click on the Right Arrow in the Centre Section.
Picture 3


6. You now see the Mod has been Added to the End of the Enabled Mods.
Picture 4


7. I will use a New Mep File although a Previously Saved Mep File could also be used.
8. Click on Tasks and Select > Save Mod Profile
Picture 5


9. Enter the File Name. (Picture 6)
10. For this Tutorial it will be called Mep File 2 05.04.2015
11.Find the Mep Files Folder if it is not automatically showing as the Folder to Save to.
12. Click on Save.
Picture 6


13. Go to the Mep Files Folder.
14. Open the Mep File 2 05.04.2015 (Picture 7)
Picture 7


15. The Notepad has opened to show all the Mods Enabled in Mep File 2 04.05.2015
Picture 8


16. To reposition the New Mod place the Mouse so the Curser is at the end of the Mod > MadMaxs_Sh5_Subdiesel (mono) v2.
Picture 9


17. Press the Enter Key. (Picture 10)
18. You can now see an Empty Line Space is showing.
Picture 10


19. Go to the Last Mod sobers hudsounds V1 SH5. (Picture 11)
20. Highlight it with your Mouse. (Picture 11)
21. Right Click with your Mouse and Select Cut.
Picture 11


22. Place your Mouse Curser at the Beginning of the Empty Line
Picture 12


23. Right Click with your Mouse and Select Paste
Picture 13


24. The Mod is now showing in the chosen position. (Picture 14)
25. We can also see the Empty Line Space now where the Mod was previously. (Picture 14)
26. This Empty Line Space needs to be removed.
Picture 14


27. Place your Mouse Curser at the Very End of the Last Mod.
P
icture 15


28. Press the Delete Key to Remove the Empty Line Space. (Picture 16)
29. With the Mouse Curser still placed at the Very End of the Last Mod (Picture 16)
30. This is a Very Important Action and has to be done correctly or you will get an Error.
Picture 16


31. Click on the File Tab
32. Click on Save
Picture 17


33. Close the Notepad
Picture 18


34. Go to JSGME
35. Select Tasks and Load Mod Profile
Picture 19


36. The Mep File Folder should be showing.
37. Double Click on the Mep File 2 05.04.2015 or Press Open
Picture 20


38. JSGME will now start to Disable and Re-Enable the Mods depending on how far back it has to go to insert the Added Mod to its new position.
39. You can now see that JSGME has finished and placed the mod where it was cut and pasted to in the Mep File.
Picture 21.


40. Close JSGME.
41. If you do get an Error Message then Close JSGME and then Open It Again and you will see that the Mods have still Enabled correctly.
42. It is also possible to Type the Mod Name in the Mep File using the Keyboard.
43. It is essential that it is entered exactly as you it see it in JSGME.
44. If this not done correctly then an Error will occur when the Mep File is Loaded.
45. I would advise Adding the Mod and then moving it to the desired position rather than the possibility of making a typing mistake.

TIP
If you shade this Tutorial and then copy and paste it to your PC Notepad you can then edit it.

Last edited by THEBERBSTER; 04-24-18 at 04:12 PM. Reason: Replaced missing pictures
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-14, 05:40 AM   #125
diego84
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Downloads: 36
Uploads: 0
Default

I'm new to the game and this tutorials are great!!

Thanks!!

I've just read "How To Intercept A Convoy From A Received BDU Radio Message", excellent tutorial!

The only problem is that my navigator doesn't calculate bearing and range to convoy? How can I fix that?

Thanks again.
diego84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-14, 10:42 AM   #126
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi diego

The range and bearing is given by the 'Watch Officer on the bridge and not the Navigator.

From one of his icons he is able to give you the range and bearing.

He is in TDW's New UI 7-4-2 and 7-5-0 mod.

The tutorial is based on using 'Real Navigation.'

If you have map contacts showing in your 'Game Play Options' then you should be seeing your U-boat and the convoy if you are close enough.

if you are not using TDW's mod then you can use your ruler and protractor to get the range and bearing.

Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-14, 11:28 AM   #127
diego84
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Downloads: 36
Uploads: 0
Default

So that calculation is a feature of tdw new ui's? Do you have that option if you are not using real nav?

I installed new ui's but then added other mods and started to get random ctds.

Did a fresh re install, activate the necesary exe patches following your guides, still random ctds...

Deactivate exe patches, back to normal no ctds.

Then, activating patches by group to find the one causing the problem, found that "RPM Inertia, Shafts and props...." was causing a ctd when the game was loading. So I'll leave that out.

I'm testing with the final gruop of patches.

All your tutorials have proven to be real helpfull!!
diego84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-14, 11:48 AM   #128
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi again diego

No, Real Navigation is not necessary.

With Real Navigation you do not see any ships on the map.

That is why every 4 hours the navigator plots your position.

One of the bugs in SH5 is that some times you get as Stoianm says the 'Ghost Ship.'

In his case it was the actual convoy he was seeing but should not have been able to.

I would suggest you post your mod list and I will check it out for you.

In “JSGME”

Go to “Tasks”

Go to “Export activated mod lists to”

Click on “Clipboard”

Paste to the Post on Subsim.

Is your download 'Steam?'

Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-14, 12:33 PM   #129
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: On a tilted, overheated, overpopulated spinning mudball on Collision course with Andromeda Galaxy
Posts: 28,020
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome Aboard

Diego84!
__________________

"Only two things are infinite; The Universe and human squirrelyness; and I'm not too sure about the Universe"
Aktungbby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-14, 12:57 PM   #130
diego84
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Downloads: 36
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEBERBSTER View Post
Hi again diego

No, Real Navigation is not necessary.

With Real Navigation you do not see any ships on the map.

That is why every 4 hours the navigator plots your position.

One of the bugs in SH5 is that some times you get as Stoianm says the 'Ghost Ship.'

In his case it was the actual convoy he was seeing but should not have been able to.

I would suggest you post your mod list and I will check it out for you.

In “JSGME”

Go to “Tasks”

Go to “Export activated mod lists to”

Click on “Clipboard”

Paste to the Post on Subsim.

Is your download 'Steam?'

Peter

Thanks Peter!

I had an older version of tdw ui's and also installed the other mods in the wrong order. Now i'm going to do it in the right order following the lists in this post. First want to check that none of the exe patches is causing ctds.

No steam luckily!

Bye, Diego.

Last edited by diego84; 08-09-14 at 01:14 PM.
diego84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-14, 06:01 PM   #131
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default

Hi diego

Glad to hear things are moving forward.

You know where I am if you need any help.

Peter
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-14, 07:11 AM   #132
Jimbuna
Chief of the Boat
 
Jimbuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: 250 metres below the surface
Posts: 181,754
Downloads: 63
Uploads: 13


Default

Welcome to SubSim diego
__________________
Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.
Oh my God, not again!!


GWX3.0 Download Page - Donation/instant access to GWX (Help SubSim)
Jimbuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-14, 05:49 PM   #133
diego84
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Downloads: 36
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks!!

All mods enable! No problem at all!
diego84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-14, 07:09 PM   #134
THEBERBSTER
Growing Old Disgracefully
 
THEBERBSTER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Dibden Purlieu - Southampton
Posts: 9,606
Downloads: 1123
Uploads: 0


Default

That's always good to hear.
THEBERBSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-14, 11:35 AM   #135
diego84
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 8
Downloads: 36
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi!

Maybe I should ask in another post, buy anyway...

The game is running smoothly, no ctd, everything is fine.

I've installed OH II 2.5.

Started the campaing following sober' guide on how to start campaing, mission, etc...

Completed the first mission, now i'm in the bunker but i can't start the next mission, cause there's no mission icon apart from the completed one.

I tried to find something about this issue but found nothing.

This is my mod list:

Generic Mod Enabler - v2.6.0.157
[C:\SilentHunterV\MODS]

01-No Damn Bubbles, No Damn Halo Mod
02-SH5_7A_Conning_Fix
03-Equipment_Upgrades_Fix_v1_4_byTheBeast
04-Equipment_Upgrades_Fix_v1_4_Patch_1
05-#Equipment_Upgrades_Fix_v1_4_Patch_1_HotFix
06-Equipment_Upgrades_Fix_v1_4_Patch_1 (available by date) V9 by sober
07-Speech fixes and additions (english version)
08-FX_Update_0_0_22_ByTheDarkWraith
09-FX_Update_0_0_22_Torpedoes (modified for torpedoes failure patches)
10-FXU_0_0_22_Ship zon Files
11-NewUIs_TDC_7_4_2_ByTheDarkWraith
12-Large Optics for TDW UI
13-Large Optics for TDW UI 16 by 9
14-IRAI_0_0_41_ByTheDarkWraith
15-Sjizzle's - Charts for NewUIs part1_07.06.2013
16-Sjizzle's - Charts for NewUIs part 2_07.06.2013
17-R.E.M_by_Xrundel_TheBeast_1.2
18-R.E.M_by_Xrundel_TheBeast_1.2 - no hyd on surface - NewUIs-IRAI compatible
19-Church's Compass Dials Mod v2.2 - Option Two
20-OPEN HORIZONS II v2.5
21-OH II v2.5 Grid Request fix Patch SH5
22-MQK Gradient_IO
23-MQK LocationMaps_IO
24-MQK ShapeTextures_NO
25-Trevally Automated Scripts v0.6
26-EQuaTool 01.01 by AvM - Large Style
27-Shallow Waters Voice Be Gone
28-gap - HD 1 deg Scope Bearing v 1.0
29-one ship, one torpedo v1.00



Pd. Is it normal to see the grid on the map?


Thanks!!!
diego84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.