SUBSIM Radio Room Forums
Glue, paint, razors...what could go wrong?


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters > DW Mod Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-18-2014, 11:08 PM   #1
ColdFront
Seaman
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 36
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default RA DWX Install Issue and Question

Well, I tried to install RA DWX, but in the process of doing so, I got 2 error messages, the 2nd one stopped the install because it would not resolve. I've installed DW in a folder other than Program Files, so that isn't the issue. I've tried installing it in the mods folder created by JSGME, and tried installing it in a separated folder within the DW root folder. No luck. I'm running Windows XP SP3.

The first error is:
Quote:
Debug Assertion Failed!

Program C:\Strategy First\Dangerous Waters\MODS\Interfaces\cmpUtil.exe
File: dbgheap.c
Line: 609

Expression: _CrtIsValidHeapPointer(pUserData)
The second error is:
Quote:
Debug Assertion Failed!

Program C:\Strategy First\Dangerous Waters\MODS\cmpUtil.exe
File: dbgheap.c
Line: 609

Expression: _CrtIsValidHeapPointer(pUserData)
My question is: How do you install RA DWX the right way with JSGME? It's not my first time with JSGME.
__________________
"How did we, Kronk?"
"Well, you got me. By all accounts, it doesn't make sense."
ColdFront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 07:05 AM   #2
Krabb
Navy Dude
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 172
Downloads: 32
Uploads: 0
Default

RA isn't compatible with JSGME.
Krabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 11:20 AM   #3
ColdFront
Seaman
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 36
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krabb View Post
RA isn't compatible with JSGME.
I had a suspicion that was the case, but wanted to be certain. I'll try again today and see if the install works.
__________________
"How did we, Kronk?"
"Well, you got me. By all accounts, it doesn't make sense."
ColdFront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2014, 07:13 PM   #4
ColdFront
Seaman
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 36
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Install went fine, and I'm loving it!
__________________
"How did we, Kronk?"
"Well, you got me. By all accounts, it doesn't make sense."
ColdFront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2015, 10:10 AM   #5
mel24
Stowaway
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
SHO radwx

cannoy unzip this file keep getting messge saying the file path i have specified cannot be created although it already exixts.using windows 7
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2015, 03:58 PM   #6
ColdFront
Seaman
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 36
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

I see what the problem is, the file is compressed in .7z. Download and install 7-zip, it's free and will unzip the file.
__________________
"How did we, Kronk?"
"Well, you got me. By all accounts, it doesn't make sense."
ColdFront is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 08:58 AM   #7
mel24
Stowaway
 
Posts: n/a
Downloads:
Uploads:
SHO radwx

thanks downloaded 7 zip but I have no idea how you use it has anyone got any advice?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2017, 01:12 PM   #8
zakarpatska
Loader
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 88
Downloads: 126
Uploads: 0
Default

Hi Coldfront,

I'm trying to install RA 1.41 under windows 7 and I'm seeing the same assertions that you describe. I'm not using JSGME.

How did you get around the assertions?

Thanks.
zakarpatska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2021, 12:04 AM   #9
RudisDolphins
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 8
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default How to Install Reinforce Alert & A Steam Caution

Ahoy Coldfront!

Make sure you are trying to install RA from a vanilla Dangerous Waters (no mods) and that you have applied the DW 1.04 patch to it.

CAUTION: Believe it or not, Steam made me install DW twice (on separate days into two different locations). Both worked as they each had individual shortcut icons and already had the 1.04 patch applied. However, when I wanted to install RA, I had to delete both DW installations and reinstall the game in one location which Steam chose. No further problems.

First, I always unzip the compressed folder to some kind of temp folder (to avoid potential problems - but that's just me from experience). Then, I copy the contents and begin the install using a batch file or just copying the contents by opening a created folder (as in RA V1.50 Patch 3).

Presuming you have unzipped RA V1.50 Combined Patch 1&2 somewhere, you should now have a batch file to do the install and a folder containing what is to be installed. Simply copy the file and UNOPENED folder into the root directory of DW. Click the batch file and follow the directions (if any - for me, there were none except to take a coffee break which wasn't necessary).

Once Patch 1&2 are installed, you will need to install Patch 3. As previously stated, I unzip the compressed folder into another temp folder (again, what I have learned the hard way to do) and in this case OPEN the primary single folder (not the secondary sub-folders that you will then see) to be installed - there is NO installation file for it. Group copy all of the resultant content. Now paste it into the Dangerous Waters root directory.

Note: RA does NOT give you a clue that Patch 3 took effect when installed from the opening screens. When I installed Combined Patch 1&2, I knew that it had installed correctly due to opening changes from the original vanilla version. Patch 3 I took on as a leap of faith as some would say.

Hope this helps.

RudisDolphins
RudisDolphins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2021, 01:18 AM   #10
p7p8
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 742
Downloads: 135
Uploads: 6


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RudisDolphins View Post
Note: RA does NOT give you a clue that Patch 3 took effect when installed from the opening screens.
Are you sure?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen.jpg (92.9 KB, 11 views)
__________________
p7p8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.