SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Old 02-11-10, 11:56 PM   #1
nodlew
Engineer

Downloads: 572
Uploads: 0
Default Help editing cameras.dat

Hey folks. I'm just beginning to mod the game. So far my efforts have been restricted to taking bits and pieces that I like from mods that I am not using and making little tweak mods to add those elements to the mods that I am using that have other elements I don't like as much. I like the 360 deg plotter and compass from TMO, for example, and made a mod to add those to Operation Monsun, which I am currently playing.
That was very simple to do. The thing I am working on right now is proving to be trickier.
I have tried out the Real Deck Gun mod, and like it very much. It seems much more realistic. I like the gun rolling with the deck, even in a gentle swell, requiring some timing to put shots on target, and I like the fact that the red cross hair is no longer really an aiming device--doesn't elevate the gun, forcing me to use the telescopic sights at any range but point-blank.
The problem is that when this mod is enabled, my free-camera is reverted to stock--which I hate. You cannot move around the boat except in the Command room. At the PPI radar station, I can't even look up high enough to read the target bearing dial.
So what I would like to do is edit one of the Free Camera mods--like the cameras.dat from TMO to also have the same Deck Gun behavior as the Real Deck Gun mod.
Toward this end I have downloaded a bunch of Utilities: SH3 Mini Tweaker, SH3 Editor, a Hex Editor program (which provokes nothing but a befuddled Huh?), and finally a series of Pack3D executable jar files--which I can use to view the dat files, but can't seem to edit them.