SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > General > Sub & Naval Discussions: World Naval News, Books, & Films
Forget password? Reset here

Old 12-13-13, 03:13 AM   #1
masonman
Nub

Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default Information on Specifics of Modern Submarines

Hi, this is my first post on the forums. I'm a gamer and I love submarines (I may or may not have watched The Hunt for Red October more than 15 times), though I have never actually played a subsim. But regardless, I was hoping for some assistance as I know many - if not most - of you guys are also big fans of subs!

So for years as a 3D modeling hobbyist I've been occasionally working on a streamlined way to model complete interiors and exteriors of modern nuclear submarines. I'm kind of obsessed with actually making a complete one. My first attempt years ago was an Akula class (I intended to import it into a FPS I was playing at the time). It was a very low poly model but I got decently far and learned a bit (though I did pretty much bare mininum research). I gave up on that one though, after having made too many big mistakes that made backtracking essentially take more time that starting from scratch.

I toyed around a bit with making a Los Angeles class, but as I experimented with the control room I realized I had ZERO understanding of what most of the stuff in there did. So I spent some time and came to understand more than the basic stuff I already knew (crew life, most of the unclassified crew tasks, how nuclear reactors work and look, how water is pumped in and out of ballast tanks, basics of ship engines, basics of passive sonar, spectrograms, submarine propellers, navigation, etc.).