SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Dangerous Waters plus New Developments
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2017, 02:50 AM   #61
Pirate
Officer
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oeiras, PORTUGAL
Posts: 247
Downloads: 131
Uploads: 0
Default

Just forget about running DW in windowed mode on windows 8 or 10.
It just ain't gonna happen.

To run DW on windowed mode you need to bring the OS's color depth down to 16bit and microsoft removed that ability on windows 8 and 10.

From windows 8 forward, desktop composition only supports 32bit color.
__________________
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 09:42 AM   #62
Pisces
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AN9771
Posts: 4,469
Downloads: 237
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate View Post
Just forget about running DW in windowed mode on windows 8 or 10.
It just ain't gonna happen.

To run DW on windowed mode you need to bring the OS's color depth down to 16bit and microsoft removed that ability on windows 8 and 10.

From windows 8 forward, desktop composition only supports 32bit color.
That is not entirely accurate for Windows 10. I know this wasn't possible in the beginning. Now I do have the option to choose a reduced color mode in the compatibility tab of the executable properties. See image attachment. I haven't tested what the actual result would be with DW or other applications. And I don't know if Windows 8 is any different thesedays.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 8-16bit colormode Windows10Pro.jpg (13.0 KB, 25 views)
Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 11:25 AM   #63
Pirate
Officer
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oeiras, PORTUGAL
Posts: 247
Downloads: 131
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pisces View Post
That is not entirely accurate for Windows 10. I know this wasn't possible in the beginning. Now I do have the option to choose a reduced color mode in the compatibility tab of the executable properties. See image attachment. I haven't tested what the actual result would be with DW or other applications. And I don't know if Windows 8 is any different thesedays.
It doesn't matter. That option has no effect whatsoever!
Win 8 also has that option and I'm telling you, if that worked, the dll wrapper would never have existed because there wouldn't be a reason to.

Furthermore, that option has no effect on desktop composition either, and to run DW in windowed mode desktop composition must be in 16bit color mode, hence why for instance in windows 7 you had to lower desktop color to 16bit before you were able to run DW in a window.
__________________

Last edited by Pirate; 06-30-2017 at 11:33 AM.
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2017, 11:34 AM   #64
FPSchazly
The One and Only
 
FPSchazly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 620
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0


Default

I have found the procedure for running DW in a window on Windows 7 - 10 without using 16-bit color depth. I'm going to test it out when I get home and try and make a video or do a write-up at least.
__________________
Your friendly neighborhood modern submarine YouTuber!

My videos:
**NEW** Shadow Zone Explained

Dangerous Waters Sicilian Wedding
Cold Waters South China Sea
688(I) Hunter/Killer

Remember, it's just a game
FPSchazly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 05:17 PM   #65
rolandslaw
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 66
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default Dangerous Waters in Windows 10 installation

Hello Gents:

I have not been around for over 6 months. Picked up a copy of Dangerous Waters and attempted to install on my Windows 10 sys... no joy in mudville.

Any idea how to even get it to install?

I keep threatening to restart SH5 but I have been fighting my health issues for 6 months... surgery behind left ear into the bone to remove 2 infections.... done. Now fighting infection in my right leg..... hopefully success by Monday.

Remember ... one step forward... two steps back.

Roland
rolandslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 05:23 AM   #66
Pisces
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AN9771
Posts: 4,469
Downloads: 237
Uploads: 0


Default

Does installing not work? Or does it not play? If the latter then the d3d8.dll fix should solve that. And don't install it in Program Files. That avoids UAC bothering about saving files into the Scenario folder.
Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 07:05 AM   #67
rolandslaw
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 66
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default installation problem

it will not install on the Windows 10 sys.

Thank you for your reply.

Roland
rolandslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 08:14 AM   #68
fitzcarraldo
Argentinischer Kaleun
 
fitzcarraldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina. Arrived in U-977 after 60 days below
Posts: 3,668
Downloads: 1878
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pisces View Post
Does installing not work? Or does it not play? If the latter then the d3d8.dll fix should solve that. And don't install it in Program Files. That avoids UAC bothering about saving files into the Scenario folder.
DW RA works well in my W10 Home Basic with the special dll. I apply Kegety's antilag, too.

Never I can play with some AA with my NVidia Card. AA out. Living with it.

Regards

Fitzcarraldo
fitzcarraldo is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 10:07 AM   #69
red2112
Watch
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default DW 10

DW (Steam version) and latest RA mod work just fine in Windows 10, at least for me.

No need to add anything (.dll), latest Steam version comes with it. Iam on W10 x64 and GTX 660 nVidia, i5 chip 8GB ram.

Last edited by red2112; 07-11-2017 at 01:15 AM.
red2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 02:52 PM   #70
fitzcarraldo
Argentinischer Kaleun
 
fitzcarraldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina. Arrived in U-977 after 60 days below
Posts: 3,668
Downloads: 1878
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by red2112 View Post
DW (Steam version)

No need to add anything (.dll), latest Steam version comes with it. Iam on W10 x64 and GTX 660 nVidia, i5 chip 8GB ram.
And you can set some antialiasing with the Steam Version? I have the two disc original version and I can"t set any AA with Nvidia Inspector or the Nvidia control panel without have a mess in the menus.

Many thanks!

Fitzcarraldo
fitzcarraldo is online   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 03:43 PM   #71
rolandslaw
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 66
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default non-steam copy of Dangerous Water

Gents:

I was able to install the game onto my hd. It will not start upon "play" selection but receive window notification ... looking for solution.

I am going to review the early posts regarding the d3d8.dll fix ... just need to know where to install and how.

Roland
rolandslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 04:11 PM   #72
red2112
Watch
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default DW AA

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzcarraldo View Post
And you can set some antialiasing with the Steam Version? I have the two disc original version and I can"t set any AA with Nvidia Inspector or the Nvidia control panel without have a mess in the menus.

Many thanks!

Fitzcarraldo
What I meant was that you don´t need to look for the "d3d8.dll", it comes in a folder called "Win_8_10_Support" with the Steam version.

To be honest, the game looks just fine as it is to me. The highest res it can go (on my end) is 1280x1024, which is ok. Iam not looking for a AAA game, I played alot of 688i H/K before and still did not to long ago, no fancy graphics there. The same goes for "Fleet Command", all though my screen is 1920x1080.

IMHO It´s one of those games were nice graphics are not needed, just like "Harpoon 3" or "Fleet Command". Sure it would be nice if it got updated to today´s standards, but I can live with that. Nice graphics then SH-5

So, I havent bothered to mess with AA or the nVidia inspector/control panel. If it works, don´t touch it



Sorry I could not help you much there...

Happy hunting!

--
red2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 04:19 PM   #73
red2112
Watch
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rolandslaw View Post
Gents:

I was able to install the game onto my hd. It will not start upon "play" selection but receive window notification ... looking for solution.

I am going to review the early posts regarding the d3d8.dll fix ... just need to know where to install and how.

Roland
Just put the d3d8.dll file in your Dangerous Waters root folder...

Care,

Red
red2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 05:11 PM   #74
rolandslaw
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 66
Downloads: 66
Uploads: 0
Default DW video problem

Gents:

I re installed DW from CD. I dl'ed the 1.04 patch and installed in my E drive. I copies the entire d3d file into "dangerous waters" file. I tried mode 1, 2, 3 and no luck.. will not load. keep getting video loadoing problem.

any idea? Roland

I have win 10, two GTX 970 video cards....
rolandslaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 05:58 PM   #75
red2112
Watch
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Downloads: 25
Uploads: 0
Default DW

Quote:
Originally Posted by rolandslaw View Post
Gents:

I re installed DW from CD. I dl'ed the 1.04 patch and installed in my E drive. I copies the entire d3d file into "dangerous waters" file. I tried mode 1, 2, 3 and no luck.. will not load. keep getting video loadoing problem.

any idea? Roland

I have win 10, two GTX 970 video cards....
Try reading this...

http://steamcommunity.com/app/1600/d...4115199194820/
red2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim