SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Subsims & Naval Games > Classic Subsims
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2011, 07:11 PM   #16
aanker
Pacific Thunder
 
aanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Yellow Sea
Posts: 1,898
Downloads: 236
Uploads: 14


Default

Sorry, can't send you the file because I don't have a working install ATM. However I took good notes and recommend the following for flawless performance and no JANUS errors. Also recommend installing and running in 1024 (see below) to run PA in all its glory including the outstanding Kollmorgan scope.

Quote:
The default scope in Pacific Aces uses a similar structure to the original SHII scope. However when you install Pacific aces you are given the option to overwrite this default scope with the Kollmorgan authentic US scope by Darkstream. Be warned that this scope uses large texture plates and will have trouble running on some systems.

To operate the Kollmorgan scope, raise it ( pageup key) and then click on the small red button (bottom right) in order to go to the zoomed view ( attack periscope). Here you can operate the scope with the arrow keys, and zoom from 1x to 4x and back with the “Z” key.

If you are in “Rig for Red” status it will be necessary to use the command “Secure from Red” before going to the zoomed view, or you will not be able to see anything clearly!
#3. below, Project Messerwetzer, eliminates the need for the 1024 patch but allows 1024 resolution.
Quote:
1. Clean Install of SH2
2. Install SH2 Patch 1.1
3. Install Project Messerwetzer
4. Install Vicker's mods
5. Install PA 1.0
6. Install PA 1.1
7. Install new PA Sound 1.1
8. Install glitches patch that includes dive bubble for PM
9. Lethal radius mod (used 5 DepthChargeJP*.ADF files)
10. Active sonar hack ... edited the 10 SonarActive, SonaractiveUS, SonaractiveJapan, etc... files.
I recommend installing the Kollmorgan scope when that option presents itself during the installation procedure.
__________________
" Bless those who serve beneath the deep,
Through lonely hours their vigil keep.
May peace their mission ever be,
Protect each one we ask of thee.
Bless those at home who wait and pray,
For their return by night and day."

aanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 11:13 AM   #17
killerzone22
Watch
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
Default

YAY!!!! It worked! The lower right red button zoomed in the periscope so i can actually see through it. Now i can see the ships that out on the surface and what not. Yay thanks so much aanker for the tip.

I wonder if there is a way to lower the mouse sensitivity by any chance?
killerzone22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 11:16 AM   #18
killerzone22
Watch
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aanker View Post
Sorry, can't send you the file because I don't have a working install ATM. However I took good notes and recommend the following for flawless performance and no JANUS errors. Also recommend installing and running in 1024 (see below) to run PA in all its glory including the outstanding Kollmorgan scope.


#3. below, Project Messerwetzer, eliminates the need for the 1024 patch but allows 1024 resolution.

I recommend installing the Kollmorgan scope when that option presents itself during the installation procedure.
Thanks, i might actually uninstall it and reinstall without installing the kollmorgan scope. I definitely like how it looks and all but i rather have the old periscope i am used too. Again, thanks for the help.
killerzone22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 11:57 AM   #19
aanker
Pacific Thunder
 
aanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Yellow Sea
Posts: 1,898
Downloads: 236
Uploads: 14


Default

Good news, glad to hear you got it running!

I want to install PA now - I miss it. Burned out on SH4 .... lol

Happy Hunting!

Art

Edit: regarding the mouse, maybe make a compromise adjustment on sensitivity through Control Panel
__________________
" Bless those who serve beneath the deep,
Through lonely hours their vigil keep.
May peace their mission ever be,
Protect each one we ask of thee.
Bless those at home who wait and pray,
For their return by night and day."

aanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 04:39 PM   #20
CTarana
Bosun
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 68
Downloads: 28
Uploads: 0
Default

What about the dreaded, "Reinstall everything from scratch" Option? While severe, if you can get SH2 running properly without PA installed it might point out where the problem came in!

ChristopherT
CTarana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 04:56 PM   #21
aanker
Pacific Thunder
 
aanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Yellow Sea
Posts: 1,898
Downloads: 236
Uploads: 14


Default

You're right IMO, the "Reinstall everything from scratch" option with PA is quick, easy, and cleans everything up... and, if you like SH2, the double install is nice although I prefer the Pacific.

I have done that so many times I have a PA 'big' folder with exe's in numbered sub folders - step1, step2, etc.... (pardon the pun) ... lol

Happy Hunting!
__________________
" Bless those who serve beneath the deep,
Through lonely hours their vigil keep.
May peace their mission ever be,
Protect each one we ask of thee.
Bless those at home who wait and pray,
For their return by night and day."

aanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 05:42 PM   #22
killerzone22
Watch
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Downloads: 22
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CTarana View Post
What about the dreaded, "Reinstall everything from scratch" Option? While severe, if you can get SH2 running properly without PA installed it might point out where the problem came in!

ChristopherT
heh, the ironic part was that there was never an issue. I just never knew that i had the kollmorgan scope mod installed and I was freaken out because my scope wasn't working and I had almost everything working. I never knew about the button on the lower-right corner would zoom it in. heh, the mod almost screw me over but luckily, aanker knew about this mod and helped me. I uninstalled it so now I have a working periscope that I am used to.

Cheers mates and thanks for the help again.

Happy Hunting all
killerzone22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 06:19 PM   #23
Sailor Steve
Really feelin' it.
 
Sailor Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: High in the mountains of Utah
Posts: 51,389
Downloads: 631
Uploads: 250


Default

I'm glad someone was able to help. I vaguely remembered the button but wasn't sure I was right, and I didn't see it in either screenshot so I didn't say anything. Good news.
__________________
"Human beings are perhaps never more frightening than when they are convinced beyond doubt that they are right."
—Laurens van der Post




Sailor Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 02:15 AM   #24
Giesemaschine
Mate
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: PNW
Posts: 53
Downloads: 55
Uploads: 0
Default

I hate to resurrect a dead thread, but: Did anyone ever find a solution to the SHII mouse sensitivity issue? No matter stock or modded PA, my mouse jumps at the slightest touch - it's way too fast!

Running Windows 8 here, everything in compatibility mode (Win XP SP3)
Giesemaschine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim