SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-12, 04:12 PM   #706
Sartoris
Captain
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 489
Downloads: 106
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
oh there's so much more to come
Very exciting! Do keep us updated!
Sartoris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-12, 04:43 PM   #707
volodya61
Ocean Warrior
 
volodya61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rostov-on-Don, local time GMT+4
Posts: 3,300
Downloads: 374
Uploads: 0


Default

Hello, TDW, sir!
What about new Sub on bottom fix issue?

EDIT: I ask because you didn't answer my previous question..
__________________
.
Where does human stupidity end?

.


El sueño de la razón produce monstruos © - and for some people awakening will be cruel

Last edited by volodya61; 08-01-12 at 05:15 PM.
volodya61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-12, 07:40 PM   #708
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by volodya61 View Post
Hello, TDW, sir!
What about new Sub on bottom fix issue?

EDIT: I ask because you didn't answer my previous question..
I'm looking into it I see what I have to do now it's just finding the right pointers



Collision routine (and supporting functions) in a nutshell for torpedo:

Iterare over every unit:
-clear flag
-check bouding box of item with bounding box of potential collidee
-if intersection found then:
--iterate over every 3D node in collidee:
---test for intersection of item's bounding box to 3D node bounding box
---if intersection flag it and EXIT
---if no intersection found keep checking 3D nodes
--if flag not set then check next unit
-if flag not set check next unit
-if flag set EXIT

if flag not set: EXIT - no collision

if flag set:
Iterate over every unit:
-Check for collision with magnetic detonator:
--Check magnetic detonator installed and active
--Check magnetic detonator range
--Get pointer to collidee (item torpedo collided into)
--Iterate over each zone (box) of collidee:
---get the closest x,y,z points of the box to the impact point
---calculate distance from impact point to points found above (D sub i)
---get magnetic detonator range and square it MDR2
---compare D sub i to MDR2
---if less than keep checking
--if no collision found exit
-convert magnetic detonator range into real units
-breakdown unit's lattitude and longitude into it's component parts
-get collidee's max depth for it's location
-compare component parts to magnetic detonator range (in real units)
-if magnetic detonator range (in real units) > all component parts range then no collision - EXIT

if not flagged: no collision found - EXIT

if flagged:
- iterate over every zone (box) of the collidee
--get axis values of the zone(box)
--calculate distance from impact point to zone (box)
--square zone (box) axis value
--compare calculated distance to square of zone (box) axis value
--if before or equal then check next zone (box)
--if after:
---take lazy square root of calculated distance
---subtract lazy square root of calculated distance from square of magnetic detonator range and store this value on stack
---flag this zone (box)
---check next zone (box)
when done checking all zones (boxes):
-compare magnetic detonator range to value saved on stack
-see if value saved to stack was flagged or not
--if flagged:
---normalize all the zone (box) coordinates
---save pointer to item collided with to stack
---EXIT
--if not flagged: EXIT

if pointer to item collided with not null:
-get distance from collider to item
-get zone (box) coordinates and subtract collider's bounding box coordinates from it
-normalize the result

To be continued....
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-12, 11:25 PM   #709
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Finally found the routine that updates all the zones (boxes) damage level, flooding level, and checks to see if damage level >= critical floatation value (when flooding starts)

For a little test I set the damage greater than value for critical floatation level in some zones. I fully expected flooding to start increasing in these zones.....but no, the flooding level was constantly being reset to 0.... Houston, we have a problem!
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-12, 01:41 AM   #710
Magic1111
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany - Sailing on U-552 in North Atlantic
Posts: 4,429
Downloads: 783
Uploads: 0


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
As far as the periscope depth
...
Hi TDW!

In regarding to the Periscope Depth problem a little bit feedback...

Yesterday I did a test with disable the function "Sub on bottom fix" and then I load my savegame.

I set ingame "Periscope depth" and all works fine (Type VIIA)! The Periscope depth is 12m as in .cfg File! And with this depth I can now use my Obs-Periscope too!

But when I enable the function "Sub on bottom fix" and go into game and set "Periscope depth", the periscope depth is now 13m and with this depth I can´t use my Obs-Pericope, because it is for this depth too short; or vice-versa 13m is too deep for use the Obs-Periscope!

I hope you can fix this!

Best regards,
Magic
__________________
Magic1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-12, 02:07 AM   #711
THE_MASK
Ace of the deep .
 
THE_MASK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,226
Downloads: 901
Uploads: 73


Default

Order 12 mts depth
THE_MASK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-12, 02:18 AM   #712
Magic1111
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany - Sailing on U-552 in North Atlantic
Posts: 4,429
Downloads: 783
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sober View Post
Order 12 mts depth
It´s not a really good solution...!

The sub must dive to 12 m as in .cfg File, when I press the key for "Periscope Depth"! All other solutions are not practicable!
__________________
Magic1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-12, 12:14 PM   #713
Dogfish40
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LA Area, Central coast, California
Posts: 1,023
Downloads: 827
Uploads: 0
Default

Just my report in about the 1.0.49 patch set. Everything seems very good. Nothing broken, no problems with mid-patrol patch enabling.
I only have one comment about the ship explosions. On my first ship torpedoed I had to dumb down one of the mods I use as the ship took off into the air about 20ft, so I knew something has definitely changed. After adjusting the mod by using the secondary folder, the next ship torpedoed sank slowly, naturally, and ship fires appeared forward, then seemed to stay forward for some time. I was wondering if I was going to see it go out when another secondary explosion hit midships. Once this happened it wasn't long before I got the "fireworks explosion" that blows all the masts down.
Note; I haven't had those big ship-wide explosions for awhile now, and was kinda' glad they were gone. I'm going to sack the torpedo mod completely as I don't think it's needed any longer but, I was wondering if anyone else was having these huge ship-wide explosions. It may be ok once in a while, I just can't see it happening every time.
Other than that, Man, what a patch. Crew is outstanding especially sensors, with or without realistic sensors, both settings are working great.
I'm still checking this out but for now, this is just great!
TDW!! Again!
D40
__________________
Dogfish40
Dogfish40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-12, 01:46 PM   #714
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

v1.0.51.0 released. See post #1

starting with v1.0.51.0 add a new patch for SH5.exe: ability to run decks awash (~7.5m) with crew on deck and using diesel engines
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-12, 01:52 PM   #715
Magic1111
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany - Sailing on U-552 in North Atlantic
Posts: 4,429
Downloads: 783
Uploads: 0


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
v1.0.51.0 released. See post #1
Hi TDW!

Is this what I´ve reported in post #696 & 700 now fixed with this new version?
__________________
Magic1111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-12, 01:59 PM   #716
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic1111 View Post
Hi TDW!

Is this what I´ve reported in post #696 & 700 now fixed with this new version?
Not yet...still looking for correct pointers
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-12, 02:01 PM   #717
volodya61
Ocean Warrior
 
volodya61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Rostov-on-Don, local time GMT+4
Posts: 3,300
Downloads: 374
Uploads: 0


Default

Thanks!
__________________
.
Where does human stupidity end?

.


El sueño de la razón produce monstruos © - and for some people awakening will be cruel
volodya61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-12, 02:15 PM   #718
Sepp von Ch.
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: In my U-552 and Tiger
Posts: 1,732
Downloads: 788
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith View Post
v1.0.51.0 released. See post #1

starting with v1.0.51.0 add a new patch for SH5.exe: ability to run decks awash (~7.5m) with crew on deck and using diesel engines
Merci beaucoup monsieur!
__________________
U-552
Tiger
IDF
Sepp von Ch. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-12, 04:00 PM   #719
THE_MASK
Ace of the deep .
 
THE_MASK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,226
Downloads: 901
Uploads: 73


Default

Fantastic , will we get a decks awash icon on the depth control hud for new UI mod .
THE_MASK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-12, 04:17 PM   #720
TheDarkWraith
Black Magic
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11,962
Downloads: 147
Uploads: 5


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sober View Post
Fantastic , will we get a decks awash icon on the depth control hud for new UI mod .
Great idea! I'll have to add it
TheDarkWraith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.