SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH4 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-07, 06:59 AM   #1
Jace11
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 683
Downloads: 104
Uploads: 1
Default

Oh... can you post a screenie of what you have done to the radar display already when you get home later please. It was something I was going to have a look at soon, but now I don't have to..
Jace11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 07:07 AM   #2
CaptainCox
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: A Swede in Frankfurt am Main
Posts: 1,897
Downloads: 4
Uploads: 0
Default

Have not even thought about this, but you guys have!. Nice one guys! the sooner the better
__________________
CaptainCox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 07:09 AM   #3
Hitman
Pacific Aces Dev Team
 
Hitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,110
Downloads: 109
Uploads: 2


Default

This was already discussed in depth by Redwine and me in an old topic, do a search. Briefly: 1.0 had them, but 1.1 and 1.2 broke them, unknown reasons. The graphic is still there, in "Misc" folder (PPIcircles.dds) and the menu_1024 has not suffered any changes from 1.0 in the entries about the radar, or at least I could not track them down. Hope someone can solve it, because it helps a lot radar plotting liek I do:hmm:
__________________
One day I will return to sea ...
Hitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 02:57 PM   #4
Mraah
Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Conning Tower - repairing the radar.
Posts: 200
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitman
This was already discussed in depth by Redwine and me in an old topic, do a search. Briefly: 1.0 had them, but 1.1 and 1.2 broke them, unknown reasons. The graphic is still there, in "Misc" folder (PPIcircles.dds) and the menu_1024 has not suffered any changes from 1.0 in the entries about the radar, or at least I could not track them down. Hope someone can solve it, because it helps a lot radar plotting liek I do:hmm:

Solved it ..... well, yes and no.

The file causing all the problems is called PPIRadarPS.fx located in the DATA\SHADERS\RADAR folder. This was the only file in this folder changed.

Open the file using notepad .... this is what it looks like, v1.2 additions are colored orange for your reference ...

.................................................. ..............

float Fade:register(c0);
float Intensity:register(c1);

sampler map: register(s0);
sampler grid: register(s1);
sampler noise: register(s2);
sampler fadetex: register(s3);

struct PS_IN
{
float2 Tex0 : TEXCOORD0;
float2 Tex1 : TEXCOORD1;
float2 Tex2 : TEXCOORD2;
float2 Tex3 : TEXCOORD3;
};

float4 main( PS_IN In ) : COLOR
{
//return float4(1,0,0,1);
float4 color=tex2D(map,float4(In.Tex0,4,4));
float4 noise=tex2D(noise,In.Tex2*4)*Intensity;
float4 f=tex2D(fadetex,In.Tex0);
return f;

color=color+(noise.r-0.5f)*0.5f;
float4 grid=tex2D(grid,In.Tex1);
color=lerp(color,grid,grid.a);

return color;
}


The original v1.0 filed looked like this below (same above without orange, except last part that reads 0.5f, originally reads 0.2f

..................................................
float Fade:register(c0);

sampler map: register(s0);
sampler grid: register(s1);
sampler noise: register(s2);
sampler fadetex: register(s3);
struct PS_IN
{
float2 Tex0 : TEXCOORD0;
float2 Tex1 : TEXCOORD1;
float2 Tex2 : TEXCOORD2;
float2 Tex3 : TEXCOORD3;
};

float4 main( PS_IN In ) : COLOR
{
//return float4(1,0,0,1);
float4 color=tex2D(map,float4(In.Tex0,4,4));
float4 noise=tex2D(noise,In.Tex2*4);

color=color+(noise.r-0.5f)*0.2f;
float4 grid=tex2D(grid,In.Tex1);
color=lerp(color,grid,grid.a);

return color;
}
.................................................. .....................

If you change it back to the original settings, BINGO .... range marks back. However, the sweep and radar targets are wicked fuzzy . I have no clue how to fix it. I've spent several hours since I got home this morning looking at it (well, hit and miss guessing), but I'm not a code writer. Hopefully a code specialist can fix it. The major problem is this line ...

float4 f=tex2D(fadetex,In.Tex0);
return f;

By the way, I discovered if you change these below you'll get big radar targets on initial sweep, then it gets small really quick.
1) remove the first line "float Intensity:register(c1);"
2) and replace this line "*4)*Intensity" with just a bracket ")" Here's what I used to get that if you can't follow my mumbling explaination ....

EDIT NOTE --- BELOW PASTE IS NOW CORRECT --- earlier version I goofed and pasted wrong one.
................................................
float Fade:register(c0);

sampler map: register(s0);
sampler grid: register(s1);
sampler noise: register(s2);
sampler fadetex: register(s3);

struct PS_IN
{
float2 Tex0 : TEXCOORD0;
float2 Tex1 : TEXCOORD1;
float2 Tex2 : TEXCOORD2;
float2 Tex3 : TEXCOORD3;
};

float4 main( PS_IN In ) : COLOR
{
//return float4(1,0,0,1);
float4 color=tex2D(map,float4(In.Tex0,4,4));
float4 noise=tex2D(noise,In.Tex2);
float4 f=tex2D(fadetex,In.Tex0);
return f;

color=color+(noise.r-0.5f)*0.5f;
float4 grid=tex2D(grid,In.Tex1);
color=lerp(color,grid,grid.a);

return color;
}

.................................................. .........




Also, one more note .... I suggest you use the mod that changes the NOISE.dds file (remember the cleaner picture with post processer filters on?) It just makes a cleaner range mark display.

The only other way to fix it is to add range marks manually, which I've been working on, and colorizing it a bit to a brownish red which is roughly the color of the tube when the sweep isn't burning the green into it.

Hope this helps!!!!

Last edited by Mraah; 05-20-07 at 04:34 PM.
Mraah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 03:09 PM   #5
Mraah
Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Conning Tower - repairing the radar.
Posts: 200
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Ok, here's a screenie of what I was talking about .... range marks ... fuzzy sweep ..... and fuzzy range readout and fuzzy radar targets.

EDIT : What it looks like when using the original v1.0 PPIRadarPS.fx .


Last edited by Mraah; 05-20-07 at 03:36 PM.
Mraah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 03:24 PM   #6
Redwine
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Martin de los Andes, Neuquen, , Argentina.
Posts: 1,962
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mraah
Ok, here's a screenie of what I was talking about .... range marks ... fuzzy sweep ..... and fuzzy range readout and fuzzy radar targets.

What if you made the PPIcircles more translucid, it is too dark black background, my be in translucid green ?
Redwine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 03:35 PM   #7
Mraah
Engineer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Conning Tower - repairing the radar.
Posts: 200
Downloads: 8
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redwine
What if you made the PPIcircles more translucid, it is too dark black background, my be in translucid green ?

Hmmm, I don't know how to adjust translucid. I'm not a wizard at paint shop.

The screen shot is what happens when you revert back to v1.0 data. Perhaps all we need to do is make the sweep, radar targets and range readout clearer, which, I don't know how to do . I can put my glasses on but it's still fuzzy .

Who's the resident artist magician?

Next post I'll show you a screenie of what I mean by BIG target, LITTLE target.
Mraah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-07, 03:53 PM   #8
Redwine
Sea Lord
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Martin de los Andes, Neuquen, , Argentina.
Posts: 1,962
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mraah
Next post I'll show you a screenie of what I mean by BIG target, LITTLE target.
When i made the mod Smaller Radar contacts, i note there are 3 files for radar contacts finished in 0, 1 and 2.

I was thinking into make test asigning 3 diferent sizes to them, may be the v1.0 or v1.1 assign diferent eco size for small, medium and large ships... :hmm:
Redwine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.