SUBSIM Radio Room Forums



SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SH5 Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-01-12, 06:00 AM   #1
Rongel
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 859
Downloads: 174
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Husksubsky View Post
Thx .
hrmm whats ANSI coding?
I don't know really! It's just a option when saving with notepad, when you save with "save as" command, in the bottom of the page reads "coding" (or something like it) and you can select ANSI or unicode, and so on. I had the ANSI option as a default, maybe other options cause problems...

Quote:
I am not very skilled at scripting, so I apologize if I'm asking a stupid question, but wouldn't this command:

action
{
Plane:FireCannons();

mean that only planes will fire their cannons?
Don't we also need something like

action
{
Ship:FireCannons();


if we want ships to shoot at scope?
Airplanes have their own .aix file which tells how they behave, and when shoot cannons. Ship-weapons.aix tells how ship use their weapons. The default Ship:FireCannons(); command is not workin properly. It only makes ships fire cannons at you if you are surfaced. You can have the conning tower already surfaced, but ships wont fire it if you are still technically underwater.

Planes can attack you when you are underwater so switching the Ship:FireCannons(); to plane:FireCannons(); is just a workaround to use planes hardcoded actions. It's not a perfect solution but it makes armed ships much more dangerous (like they should be).

Quote:
Sorry Rongel, what mod is Tastatur_1.2_Fi ?, never heard of it.
It's just the keyboard bindings I use, I got it from ustahl

There is a now screenshot in the first page so you can double check that you have the right script-format in your file. And if you have still problems, please tell and I'll try to help!
Rongel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-12, 10:56 AM   #2
pedrobas
Seasoned Skipper
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Huelva, Spain
Posts: 664
Downloads: 301
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rongel View Post
It's just the keyboard bindings I use, I got it from ustahl

There is a now screenshot in the first page so you can double check that you have the right script-format in your file. And if you have still problems, please tell and I'll try to help!
Thanks for answer.
I´m using your code since the first day you posted here, not via jgsme, just directly (edited with notepad) and didn´t notice any CTD related with this. I´m happy with it.
pedrobas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-12, 01:42 PM   #3
Husksubsky
XO
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: oslo,Norway
Posts: 424
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 0
Default

Much better instructions now, thx Rongel. I misunderstood first time and thought we were gonna mess with the exe file
Husksubsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-12, 02:24 PM   #4
dcb
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 845
Downloads: 544
Uploads: 0
Default

Thanks for the answer, Rongel
dcb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-12, 07:50 PM   #5
Husksubsky
XO
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: oslo,Norway
Posts: 424
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 0
Default

your picture say GetContactDepth() >= -13 and you describe GetContactDepth() >= -15..just a little adjust for liking?
Edit:
quote:So the only bad thing about this is that when the escorts lose you, they will bombard the last location 4-8 minutes causing possibly havoc. When they know you are deeper, they'll stop the firing.

(Had great fun with this.One DD bombarded the other )


Anyways I found that with GetContactDepth() >= -13 They never saw my scope until I was 13 m depth or less. short test with eange aob practice and fx update test They stopped when I took down scope but when I wenr deeper they just shot the "old "spot until my depth was above 13 m again regardless of my unmodded attackscope towering couple of meters above the surface. I put that to -17 the merchants never shot now but the dds started whit me just below 15 m. They never hit though . Not sure what to make of this.

SO now Im curious what this value does: ContactPresenceIs(PRESENCE_SENSORS, 15)

Edit: with -17 they didn t shoot at all. I really just try fail here

Last edited by Husksubsky; 02-01-12 at 10:53 PM.
Husksubsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-12, 11:20 PM   #6
Husksubsky
XO
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: oslo,Norway
Posts: 424
Downloads: 254
Uploads: 0
Default

Now I tested with your test mission and it seem to work as purpoused. I put value to -15 again (GetContactDepth() >= -13) Felt weird that they could spot me with peri barly touching surface like they did when I put it to -17.
But what do they see actually? just periscope, or do they spot me like if I was surfaced when above this value? Can I cruise around at 15.5 meters and all is safe since I m to deep for shooting and too shallow for depthcharge? Anyways its a big step in the right directon thx
Husksubsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-12, 03:33 AM   #7
Rongel
Grey Wolf
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Finland
Posts: 859
Downloads: 174
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Husksubsky View Post
Now I tested with your test mission and it seem to work as purpoused. I put value to -15 again (GetContactDepth() >= -13) Felt weird that they could spot me with peri barly touching surface like they did when I put it to -17.
But what do they see actually? just periscope, or do they spot me like if I was surfaced when above this value? Can I cruise around at 15.5 meters and all is safe since I m to deep for shooting and too shallow for depthcharge? Anyways its a big step in the right directon thx
Thanks for the good report! Glad that you got it working!

Quote:
your picture say GetContactDepth() >= -13 and you describe GetContactDepth() >= -15..just a little adjust for liking?
Exactly. It's a small mistake, I've been testing what is the best depth value, right now using 15 meters.

Quote:
SO now Im curious what this value does: ContactPresenceIs(PRESENCE_SENSORS, 15)
This is how I think it goes: If a enemy ship has located you with sensors (it can be any sensor: visual, hydro, sonar, radar) it can open fire if the other condition (GetContactDepth() >= -13) is true also. So it doesn't even need to see you, if dd's sensors show that you are nearby in periscope depth, it will try to shoot you down. There is also a script called ContactPresenceIs(PRESENCE_LOOKOUT, 0) which makes the ships attack you only when the see you visually, but I thought the current is more interesting and challenging. Not 100 % sure which is more historically accurate.

What makes things complicated is that the escorts react always in a different way. Some tests go just beutifully, like you would except, but sometimes escorts do something stupid, like shoot at themselves. Can't figure out why the escorts sometimes continue attacking you even if the script conditions are false. I guess they just want to sink you that badly!

Quote:
Can I cruise around at 15.5 meters and all is safe since I m to deep for shooting and too shallow for depthcharge?
I think IRAI makes the escorts depthcharge you even if in periscope depth. I'm pretty sure I have witnessed this in my tests.

By the way, I did a long campaign play yesterday with this and had fun with Norwegian destroyer that I mistakenly thought as a neutral unit. I just cruised in periscope depth but then cannon shells started to hit the water breaking the radio and radar. I dove immediately and it stopped the shooting and started to drop depthcharges. It was like an angry bee!
Rongel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
attack, cannons, periscope

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.