![]() |
SUBSIM: The Web's #1 resource for all submarine & naval simulations since 1997 |
![]() |
#2296 |
Navy Seal
![]() Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2297 |
Black Magic
![]() |
![]()
I'm going to remove the ability of the player's sub's radio operator from being able to radio for assistance without command from the patch.
Now I really like the idea of tying the ability to radio for assistance to the command deck and radio zones. Before I start coding that we need to check if every unit (ship,sub,air, and possibly land) has the command deck and radio zones and if not they need to be added. We also need to ensure they are in the correct places on the unit. Who wants to take this on ![]() Once I know someone is spearheading this I'll start coding it ![]() This will be perfect for next patch that I already started working on also!!! |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2298 | |
Navy Seal
![]() Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
|
![]() Quote:
If you want, I can take a deeper look into other units tomorrow. Adding the missing command deck / radio zones shouldn't be a big deal ![]() PS: should we set new zones for our purposes, or can we use yet existing zone definitions? If yes, which one(s)? |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2299 | |
Black Magic
![]() |
![]() Quote:
take current logic steps counter value and multiply by random number (0.0-1.0 range). Compare that result to a minimum and maximum value. Adjust accordingly. What should I set the minimum and maximum values to ![]() |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2300 | |
Black Magic
![]() |
![]() Quote:
![]() We also need to define the damage level (in 0.0-1.0 %) for each when they are not allowed to radio for assistance. I need these values to start coding this ![]() FX_Update: 216=DistressFlareWarship 217=DistressFlareMerchant Ok, I was incorrect. I called them something different. Stock zones: 11=Command deck 14=Antennae 15=Mast 19=NavDeck 32=CommandRoom 42=CommunicationsRoom 50=LRRadio 207=UbtComRoom 208=UbtRadioRoom 212=CmdRoomNP all these zones above look like great candidates! |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2301 | ||
Navy Seal
![]() Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
|
![]() Quote:
![]() Quote:
![]() |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2302 | |
Black Magic
![]() |
![]() Quote:
![]() A caveat to the aircraft is say an aircraft is spawned. A few seconds later a unit in the game detects a contact. Because this unit detected a contact the ignore logic steps bit is set and thus when the current 91.0 second interval is up game will check for airstrikes again. There was no real easy way to code this ![]() |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2303 | ||
Navy Seal
![]() Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
|
![]() Quote:
By the way, should we make disabling them by a lucky flakgun shot possible? ![]() Quote:
![]() |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2304 | |
Black Magic
![]() |
![]() Quote:
![]() IIRC I can read the damage level of the zone (in 0.0-1.0 range) thus it doesn't matter how many HPs you give them. All I care about is what damage level do we say can't be used for each zone? Pick the zones you want to use and give me the damage level unit cannot radio for assistance for each and I'll work my magic |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2305 | |
Navy Seal
![]() Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
|
![]()
Yes, and in theory we could gut the ocean with a tea spoon
![]() Quote:
![]() What about 14=Antennae and 42=CommunicationsRoom (we should make sure that they are not used on U-boats though)? Whichever of them reaches the desired damage, let's say 50%, prevents the ship from radioing other units. If an unit got two antennas or two communication rooms, they both need to be damaged/destroyed. Do you like it? |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2306 | |
Black Magic
![]() |
![]() Quote:
I'll make the damage a variable in the patch file so it's easy to change. Actually what I'll do is let us define a damage level for each zone type ![]() I'll do even better! I'll let us define the zones and the damage to each zone in the patch file. That way nothing is hard-coded. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2307 | |
Navy Seal
![]() Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
|
![]() Quote:
![]() |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2308 |
Ace of the deep .
|
![]()
How hard would it be to make something work like an indicator for enemy harbors . All the info for what ports they were in is here . I just need something able to be put in the campaign with the mission editor 2 . Any ideas . Some kind of sensor that can alert nearby vessels and aircraft to my subs presence . A floating mine would do .
http://indicatorloops.com/loops.htm Last edited by THE_MASK; 07-08-13 at 11:03 PM. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2309 | |
Navy Seal
![]() Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: CJ8937
Posts: 8,215
Downloads: 793
Uploads: 10
|
![]() Quote:
![]() I am still of the idea that one or more lines of stripped down subs (or, even better, semi-submerged ships) equipped with an omnidirectional sonar, is just what we need in order to implement your idea. I can be wrong, but I am confident that a tiny, submerged, motionless, silent object in the ocean will easily pass unobserved to our sensors, while still being able to detect us or other foe units. The only precondition that we need to check, is AI sonars to still work without the sonar sound controller that usually is coupled with them, since, for obvious reasons, we don't want to hear our dummy indicator loops while they are pinging us. ![]() |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2310 | ||
Lieutenant
![]() Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St. Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 264
Downloads: 72
Uploads: 0
|
![]() Quote:
Quote:
|
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|